Notices
Acura Integra All Integra Except ITR

HOW TO IDENTIFY a GSR Engine from a Type R Engine?? READ!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2002, 01:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default HOW TO IDENTIFY a GSR Engine from a Type R Engine?? READ!!

I am not a newbie or someone stupid.
I know how to read engine codes, block codes, head codes, valve covers.

But is there a way to identify a GSR from a Type R Engine by looking at it inside or outside of it.

Please help out.
Old 12-23-2002, 01:10 PM

Default Re: HOW TO IDENTIFY a GSR Engine from a Type R Engine?? READ!! (Civicdrgrcr)

gsr- B18C
R- B18C5
Old 12-23-2002, 01:13 PM

Default Re: HOW TO IDENTIFY a GSR Engine from a Type R Engine?? READ!! (Brasspremier)

Im not that STUPID!
Old 12-23-2002, 01:18 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Re: HOW TO IDENTIFY a GSR Engine from a Type R Engine?? READ!! (Civicdrgrcr)

Red valve cover = Type R
Black = GSR

Otherwise they look exaclty the same, They have different pistons and **** but you can see that unless your taking the motor apart. And of course the stamp on the block. The ITR also has different intake runners.
Old 12-23-2002, 01:34 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Im not that STUPID!
then what do you need to know?

Physical differences of ITR

-Red valve cover
-Intake manifold completely different
-Head is a P73 vs. GSR P72
-Block is B18C5 vs. B18C1
-Tranny will read LSD

Old 12-23-2002, 01:40 PM

1) Head Stampings
2) Intake Manifolds are different
3) Pistons have stampings as well
4) Header is somewhat different as well.

Look for the obvious.
Old 12-23-2002, 01:45 PM

Location: kyoto sangyo daigaku, kyoto, japan, sometimes bay area CA

you know how to read block codes but you want to know how to tell the difference from the outside as well??
Old 12-23-2002, 01:45 PM

Default Re: HOW TO IDENTIFY a GSR Engine from a Type R Engine?? READ!! (b18bvtec4drteg)

the type r's combustion chamber is oval, the gsr's is square.