Notices
Acura Integra All Integra Except ITR

How do you tell what % tread is left on tires?

Old 07-05-2007, 08:56 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do you tell what % tread is left on tires?

I'm an extreme newbie, so pardon the lack of knowledge.

I'm going to buy some rims & tires (probably today) and the seller said in his ad that the rims come with... "Falken tires 205/40/17 the tread is still good. don't know % left."

I can obviously eyeball the rims to see if theyre in good condition, but how do I tell how much % is left on the tires? This is my first time buying tires.
Old 07-05-2007, 09:48 AM
* B A N N E D *

Default Re: How do you tell what % tread is left on tires? (DJLikwid)

There are "wear bars" all along the tires, when they go to those bars its usualy 1/8th of an inch tread left which is the legal limit. Check to see how far away from the wear bars the tread is.
Old 07-05-2007, 09:58 AM
H-T Order of Merit

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Before I answer your question, I should mention that a lot of people OVERestimate the percentage left when selling tires. So when you're buying, ask them to tell you the tread depth, rather than the percentage remaining.

Measuring Tread Depth

The easiest way to specify is to have the seller measure the tread depth, using a ruler or any thin object (e.g. toothpick) on which you can draw markings and then hold it up to a ruler or tape measure to measure. Tread depth is usually measured in 32nds of an inch, but it's easy enough to convert between mm and inches. (1 inch = 25.4 mm, 1 mm = 1.26/32 inch)

At Discount Tire, they gave me a card (made of cardboard, the size of a credit card) that had printing on it to use as a gauge in measuring tread depth. It was FREE.

It's usually, but not always, the same depth across the tread (if it's not, then measure in multiple places and say where each number is).

Calculating Percentage Left