Notices
Acura Integra All Integra Except ITR

Strange problem on the Race track--Fuel related?

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2011, 05:03 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 Strange problem on the Race track--Fuel related?

Hi guys- I'm a newb on this forum, but I'm sure someone here can help me.

I have a 99 B18B Integra LS motor installed in my 1974 Austin Mini with a Blox intake and custom 4-2-1 Header. Stock everything else.

The issue I'm having is specific to the road course that I take the car to for track days. The car will do about 1.5 laps, then acts fuel starved- usually at the end of a straight where its been spun up to high RPM for a good time. If I upshift early to drop the RPMs, it comes back to full power. I learned to use a higher gear to prevent the problem, but this is not the fast way around the track.

I'm running a brand new Walbro 255 fuel pump, standard pressure reg, and standard filter. Both days when this happened, it was extremely hot 90-97 degrees, and the car was running around~ 220 degree water temp. I don't have a fuel pressure guage to see whats going on, but I have one thought:

I used the small standard Mini 1/4 fuel line for a return, but used 5/16" for the feed.-- could the return cause a bottleneck of some sort?

Any ideas what to look for? I'm a bit stumped.
Old 09-04-2011, 06:45 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Strange problem on the Race track--Fuel related?

standard pressure regulator for the car or for the engine?

are you running a stock ecu? at what rpm is it acting up at? type of tranny? gear set?
Old 09-05-2011, 04:09 AM
Honda-Tech Member