Notices
Acura Integra All Integra Except ITR

1999 GSR burning a lot of oil

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2017, 01:29 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 GSR burning a lot of oil

Hi guys, 1st post but I've made good use of this forum over the years. I'm a novice mechanic by anyone's definition but this site helped me feel like a half decent one. I've followed guides on here to change sensors, radiators, master cylinders and vtec solenoids, I've never done anything too serious mechanically. But I still wanted to let you guys know I appreciate the help for doing what I've been able to do myself!

Anyways the biggest problem with my car (1999 GSR) is that it burns a lot of oil. For every tank of gas I put in it, I probably burn about a quart to 1.5 quarts of oil. The car runs amazing though. It pulls hard, showing no sign of any issues when getting on it. and my dad did a compression test on the cylinders and said they were in acceptable parameters.

So why do you guys think I'm burning so much oil? One of my friends said it might be the valves? Is that possible?
Old 07-25-2017, 05:31 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: 1999 GSR burning a lot of oil

Common causes of burning oil include (but are not limited to) failing piston rings and failing valve seals. You mentioned the compression test was acceptable. If after the car sits overnight & you start it up in the morning, give it a few revs on the throttle, if you see blue smoke, probably oil related; I'm not sure what the best test is for checking valve seals, however it sounds like replacing them might be in your future.

Just my $0.02.
Old 07-25-2017, 06:10 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Are you sure that it is not leaking oil too/as well?
Old 07-25-2017, 10:59 PM
Honda-Tech Member