Notices
Acura Integra All Integra Except ITR

1990 integra rs engine swap. (Help)

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2018, 05:27 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1990 integra rs engine swap. (Help)

Hey guys. Im new to the forums. Im new to attempting this thorough mechanic work as well. This is my first engine swap. I bought a integra with a bad motor. The engine threw a rod and put a pretty goodsize hole in the bottom of the motor just above oil pan right behind the ac compressor. I have purchased a new b18b1 motor to put into the integra. I am currently in the middle of breaking down the old motor for 2 reasons. 1 i beleive the head is still good. So i can either keep it or sell it. 2 to learn. I want to learn as much as possible because just doing an engine swap is just the beginning. I plan to buy an h22 and build the motor up myself and eventually swap again. If anyone has some god information for me or would like to pm me i woupd really appreciate any tricks and tips you could help me with. Thankyou
(my phone will not let me post pictures)
Old 10-28-2018, 01:22 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 272 Likes on 260 Posts
Default Re: 1990 integra rs engine swap. (Help)

Transfer all the bolt ons from the old engine like injectors, alt, distributor, harness. And I would service the replacement engine with a new oil, water pump, timing belt set, new plugs and gaskets all around! its much easier when the engine is out!
Old 10-29-2018, 03:00 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Thanks. Im glad you mentioned that. Thats going to be a big help. How hard is it going to be to replace timing belt? Always heard about them but never attempted one. Also any information or pictures you could give me on a pgm-fi fuel injection system? And last but not least. Would it be beneficial to put an air to fuel gauge on the new engine if i plan on running it pretty hard?
Old 10-31-2018, 01:27 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 272 Likes on 260 Posts