Go Back   Honda-Tech > Community Forums > General Discussion and Debate
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-02-2004, 09:57 AM   #1
hybridcrx
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Soon to be Phoenix, AZ, US
Posts: 1,063
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to hybridcrx
Default Using car audio in your home .... ac - dc power inverter

So....my buddy has a car amp and sub that we're thinking about turning into a home sub set up. All we need is a 120v AC to (12 - 14)v DC converter. I looked forever and the only one I could find is here:

http://www.voltageconverters.com/ac_dc.html

Its only 5 amps, and I don't know that it will sufficiently run his amplifier. Anyone else have some info on this topic, or advice as to where I could find a decent converter? Thanks.
__________________
2001 CBR F4i
1994 CBR600 - sold

96 gsr - Tein SS, Azenis
90 b16 crx - sold
hybridcrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 10:36 AM   #2
tonyxcom
Garage is empty, add now
 
tonyxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Vallejo, CA
Posts: 11,550
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Using car audio in your home .... ac - dc power inverter (hybridcrx)

you will probably need at least 20 amps if you want it loud. It will be much easier and probably cheaper to just buy a home sub.
__________________
[url="http://www.tleone.com"]http://www.tleone.com[/url]
[url="http://www.msgads.com"]http://www.msgads.com[/url] - Post FREE classified ads using SMS text messaging from your cell phone!
tonyxcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 10:54 AM   #3
hybridcrx
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Soon to be Phoenix, AZ, US
Posts: 1,063
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to hybridcrx
Default Re: Using car audio in your home .... ac - dc power inverter (tonyXcom)

Honestly....I don't see how it could be easier or cheaper. He has a decent sub and amp already. RCA's, power wire and speaker wire are already in possesion. So the only purchase needed would be the inverter. And easier? It would take about 10 minutes to set up, how is that difficult in any sense?

Also...if the amp has a 20 amp fuse on it....I couldn't even use a higher amperage than 15 or so anyway, it would just blow the fuse if it ever peaked above 20.
__________________
2001 CBR F4i
1994 CBR600 - sold

96 gsr - Tein SS, Azenis
90 b16 crx - sold
hybridcrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 12:31 PM   #4
tonyxcom
Garage is empty, add now
 
tonyxcom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Vallejo, CA
Posts: 11,550
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Using car audio in your home .... ac - dc power inverter (hybridcrx)

If you look at this logically. You haven't even found a DC power supply, how is your thinking even easier.

And yuo don't want to run any power supply near 100% of its rated output, so 20 amps is realistic.

Just goto circut city with 150-200 bux and buy a sub. Especially since you don't even know what you are doing.
__________________
[url="http://www.tleone.com"]http://www.tleone.com[/url]
[url="http://www.msgads.com"]http://www.msgads.com[/url] - Post FREE classified ads using SMS text messaging from your cell phone!
tonyxcom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 12:33 AM   #5
hybridcrx
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Soon to be Phoenix, AZ, US
Posts: 1,063
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to hybridcrx
Default Re: Using car audio in your home .... ac - dc power inverter (tonyXcom)

How is my thinking not easier? Give me a break. 150 - 200 bucks is going to buy a shitty *** sub.....where as I can buy 100 dollar inverter and have a nice setup. All I want from the viewers of this thread is a good site to get a power inverter from, not idiotic responses from you. Thanks though.
__________________
2001 CBR F4i
1994 CBR600 - sold

96 gsr - Tein SS, Azenis
90 b16 crx - sold
hybridcrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 12:35 AM   #6
lkshs123
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 372
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Using car audio in your home .... ac - dc power inverter (hybridcrx)

something that i though about a while back is using a car battery, would this not work?
__________________
<FONT COLOR="blue">[b] Official Member of BAN JOE club [/b]</FONT>

bring dustin back
lkshs123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 12:57 AM   #7
Westrock2000
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Westrock2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Fort Worth, TX, USA
Posts: 1,843
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Using car audio in your home .... ac - dc power inverter (lkshs123)

Well, one easy way, is to go to the computer store and buy a hefty Computer power supply. They have 12V supplies and usually put out some amperage, especially the 300-400W ones. Check the label on the PSU to see how many amps they are kicking out.

If you have a computer reseller around, maybe check them out. We have some Sun computers that have power supplies that put out 12V@70A Click the image to open in full size. , and since Sun is so damn different than everyone else, the powersupply (big sum of a bitch) won't fit in a PC case, so no one wants them. But you may be able to find an older AT case powersupply for cheaper than a new "wanted" ATX supply.


Just be carefull here man, it aint worth dying for.
__________________
2006 Lotus Exige
310HP and only 1970 pounds.
Westrock2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 07:33 AM   #8
hybridcrx
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Soon to be Phoenix, AZ, US
Posts: 1,063
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to hybridcrx
Default Re: Using car audio in your home .... ac - dc power inverter (Westrock2000)

computer power supply eh? Sounds like a plan to me, thanks a lot man. I'll let you all know how it goes.
__________________
2001 CBR F4i
1994 CBR600 - sold

96 gsr - Tein SS, Azenis
90 b16 crx - sold
hybridcrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 08:44 AM   #9
Luke
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,826
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Using car audio in your home .... ac - dc power inverter (hybridcrx)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hybridcrx
So....my buddy has a car amp and sub that we're thinking about turning into a home sub set up. All we need is a 120v AC to (12 - 14)v DC converter. I looked forever and the only one I could find is here:

http://www.voltageconverters.com/ac_dc.html

Its only 5 amps, and I don't know that it will sufficiently run his amplifier. Anyone else have some info on this topic, or advice as to where I could find a decent converter? Thanks.
Go take a look into McMaster Carr, I think, but am not sure that they do power supplies. I would go for a regulated 120 - 12/24. Check out Rockwell as they have tons of options. Lastly dont forget your local transformer company. Last year I managed to sort out a line transformer that is as good as any BS mains conditioner for about 20% of the cost...good luck Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
If you want to go faster, you will have to add lightness Colin Chapman
Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 08:46 AM   #10
TwistedSI
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
TwistedSI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 1,658
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to TwistedSI
Default

You can also use a car battery charger but get ready to hear humming a lot. And remember that you car amplifier is rated at 4 ohms and almost all house speakers/subs are 8ohms so you loose half your amps power right there. Putting sound into a house with car audio components isn't as simple as it seams. It won't sound nearly as good as you would hope. I played this game many many years ago with very high end car audio and it never sounded nearly as good as any mid line home audio equipment.
__________________
<FONT COLOR="blue">-99 EBP SI </FONT> Sold
-AEM style CAI
-DC Sports 4-2-1 CC header
-H&R Springs
-Magnaflow Stainless catback exhaust

Left Coast Imports
http://www.leftcoastimports.com
-A division of Left Coast Customs-
Forums - Events Coverage - Show & Race Scedules
Imports - Classics - Customs - Hot Rods
TwistedSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 11:35 AM   #11
hybridcrx
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Soon to be Phoenix, AZ, US
Posts: 1,063
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to hybridcrx
Default Re: (TwistedSI)

haha, don't worry, I know my stereo stuff. We're running a car sub so it will be at 4 ohms. No loss in power. Plus, we're not looking to get anything spectacular out of this. He just got a new car with a nice stock stereo so hes got this 8 year old amp and sub from his old car that wouldn't sell for anything over 10 bucks. We figure spend 50 bucks on an inverter and it would sound better than a 50 dollar home audio setup which really don't exist for under 100 - even then they are sketchy at best.

Thanks again guys.

Anyone just wanna give me a link to one of these damn things? I'm going to these sites and just finding a bunch of confusing links. But nothing specifically stating 120v ac to 12v dc. BAH!
__________________
2001 CBR F4i
1994 CBR600 - sold

96 gsr - Tein SS, Azenis
90 b16 crx - sold
hybridcrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2004, 12:37 PM   #12
Luke
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,826
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (hybridcrx)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hybridcrx

Anyone just wanna give me a link to one of these damn things? I'm going to these sites and just finding a bunch of confusing links. But nothing specifically stating 120v ac to 12v dc. BAH!
http://www.ab.com/industrialco....html

and dont forget to check out your local transformer suppliers as they may be able to cut you a deal
__________________
If you want to go faster, you will have to add lightness Colin Chapman
Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
12, 120, ac, amp, amplifier, audio, car, converter, dc, home, house, inverter, power, put, qurwxacdc, stereo, system

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:03 AM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details