Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Technical Forums > Forced Induction
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-21-2003, 12:26 PM   #1
silverbulletgsr
Garage is empty, add now
 
silverbulletgsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: wilson, nc, usa
Posts: 58
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Turbo'd integra cutting out

I turbo'd my 2001 integra gsr. I'm pretty sure I put everything in correctly. The car runs great with dsm 450 injectors, 12:1 fmu, 255 fuel pump, t3t4, vafc....8 psi.


When the car gets warm it cuts out around 5500. It feels like fuel cut. It goes to stoich on my a/f guage. The only CEL is for the heater circut on the secondary o2 sensor.

When it's cold I can go all the way to the 8K.

Could the o2 sensor keep my car from going over 5500? Any other suggestions as to why it is happening?
__________________
2001 gsr turbo
249.1 whp at 8psi
stock internals
hoping for 300 by summer
-------------------------------
BOOST IS MY CRACK! [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emwink.gif[/img]
silverbulletgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2003, 02:00 PM   #2
fernancivic
No Sales Forums
Garage is empty, add now
 
fernancivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: orlando, fl
Posts: 626
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (silverbulletgsr)

maybe ur map sensor
__________________
www.OStarMotorsports.com
fernancivic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2003, 02:04 PM   #3
FOrSfEd
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
FOrSfEd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: TurBlowVille, SC, USA
Posts: 3,719
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to FOrSfEd
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (CFT-Si)

I would also agree about your map sensor.
__________________
2005 Acura TL 6 Speed, Navigation, Black on Black
2000 Acura Type R #0167 (SOLD)
1991 Honda Civic 4dr
FOrSfEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2003, 04:18 PM   #4
DENCIO
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
DENCIO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: 310, Ca
Posts: 2,462
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to DENCIO
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (FOrSfEd)

why are you using fmu with the hack?
DENCIO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2003, 05:23 PM   #5
turbotypeR@SPEC
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
turbotypeR@SPEC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Alabaster, Al, USA
Posts: 4,231
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (silverbulletgsr)

you do not need that big of an injector with an fmu at that boost level.you are either going to have to turn up the boost to eat the extra fuel,remove the 450's and re-install the factory injectors,use the hack and remove the fmu,or tune out ALOT of fuel with the afc.if you tune out enough fuel with the afc,you will might still have flooding problems when you stomp the gas.try easing into the throttle instead of just stomping it.
__________________
Street Outlaw Civic 9.43 @ 164mph
big thanks to my sponsors: SPEC Clutch, MFactory, Avid Racing, CP Pistons, BRE Motorsports, Toyo Tires, Progress Technology suspension
turbotypeR@SPEC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2003, 06:30 PM   #6
Deluzional
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Deluzional's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: US
Posts: 4,448
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (turbotypeR)

Yea you need to lose that fmu, run your stock map and pick up a resistor box
Deluzional is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2003, 08:19 PM   #7
silverbulletgsr
Garage is empty, add now
 
silverbulletgsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: wilson, nc, usa
Posts: 58
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (Deluzional)

Can I run stock injectors at 8 psi? 10 psi? Should I lose the Fmu or the injectors?

Why does it work when it's cold?
__________________
2001 gsr turbo
249.1 whp at 8psi
stock internals
hoping for 300 by summer
-------------------------------
BOOST IS MY CRACK! [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emwink.gif[/img]
silverbulletgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2003, 08:22 PM   #8
E-Rok
EPIC TUNING
Garage is empty, add now
 
E-Rok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: WA
Posts: 10,290
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (silverbulletgsr)

running 450's and an FMU is pretty pointless IMO.

one or the other. 450's with fuel management or stockers with FMU and a pump.
E-Rok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2003, 08:34 PM   #9
silverbulletgsr
Garage is empty, add now
 
silverbulletgsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: wilson, nc, usa
Posts: 58
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (rewsnaeht)

I thought the 450's and fmu was to much. THe guy at lightning motorsports told me that my fuel adjustments on the low end were screwing up the ECU and making it wig out.

I'm going to try a new o2 sensor and removing the FMU
__________________
2001 gsr turbo
249.1 whp at 8psi
stock internals
hoping for 300 by summer
-------------------------------
BOOST IS MY CRACK! [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emwink.gif[/img]
silverbulletgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2003, 08:46 PM   #10
gsracer170
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
gsracer170's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern, NJ, USA
Posts: 224
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (silverbulletgsr)

if you want to stick w/ the fmu and vafc, you need to get 370cc injectors. 450 is just to big.
__________________
CLM Racing
gsracer170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 12:31 PM   #11
silverbulletgsr
Garage is empty, add now
 
silverbulletgsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: wilson, nc, usa
Posts: 58
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (maingear)

Should I get rid of the fmu and run -40% on 1k-4k and -35% on 4k-8k? if so is this on wide or narrow throttle?
__________________
2001 gsr turbo
249.1 whp at 8psi
stock internals
hoping for 300 by summer
-------------------------------
BOOST IS MY CRACK! [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emwink.gif[/img]
silverbulletgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 01:46 PM   #12
DENCIO
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
DENCIO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: 310, Ca
Posts: 2,462
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to DENCIO
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (silverbulletgsr)

same settings I had before I got mine dyno tuned. get it dyno tune and you will be a lot happier Click the image to open in full size.
DENCIO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 03:58 PM   #13
silverbulletgsr
Garage is empty, add now
 
silverbulletgsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: wilson, nc, usa
Posts: 58
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (mrdjay107)

anybody know why it's cutting out?
__________________
2001 gsr turbo
249.1 whp at 8psi
stock internals
hoping for 300 by summer
-------------------------------
BOOST IS MY CRACK! [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emwink.gif[/img]
silverbulletgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 04:24 PM   #14
porsche997dc2
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
porsche997dc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: LA County, CA, USA
Posts: 821
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (silverbulletgsr)

I think your fmu is causing the problem. Remove the fmu and try it. Your 12:1 fmu demand 12 psi of fuel pressure for 1 psi of boost. Your 255 fuel pump can't keep up with the fuel pressure. If you want to keep the fmu then you need to run a in-line fuel pump.
__________________
96 DC2 - LS/Vtec: 320 whp and 221 lbft @12psi
73 Porsche 911 powered by Chevy V8 355.
porsche997dc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 04:30 PM   #15
bigwig
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Somerset, NJ, USA
Posts: 708
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to bigwig
Default

sell the FMU and just use the injectors, AFC and fuel pump. why the fmu and the AFC???

The reason its cutting out is 100% pressure related. Just get rid of the FMU..the reason you buy an AFC is so you dont have to use the FMU.
bigwig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 04:54 PM   #16
TurboJesse
Guest
Garage is empty, add now
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: (bigwig)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigwig
sell the FMU and just use the injectors, AFC and fuel pump. why the fmu and the AFC???

The reason its cutting out is 100% pressure related. Just get rid of the FMU..the reason you buy an AFC is so you dont have to use the FMU.
tell that to inline pro who runs there cars into the low 11's with 440's/AFC/FMU...that setup is old and proven, long before the hack..
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 05:01 PM   #17
TurboJesse
Guest
Garage is empty, add now
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: (Mpir3)

also my car did the same thing after i got my hondata tuned...after it got tuned i never drove it with my narrow band o2 back in the car, when i got home and unloaded the car off the trailer, put my stock o2 back in, it started up and drove fine untill the car would warm up, once it was warm it drove just like the conditions you described...i replaced the o2 sensor, and reset the ecu and it drove fine after that..
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 05:20 PM   #18
m R g S r
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
m R g S r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: NYC bitchessss
Posts: 9,555
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to m R g S r
Default Re: (Mpir3)

EXACTLY what happened when I first put the turbo on my car. I never changed the plugs. Then I got some NGK's and gapped them, runs like a champ now.
__________________
Manhattan College Mech. Engineering Student
2002 S2000--485whp pump gas
2009 Si Sedan--DD
m R g S r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 07:27 PM   #19
silverbulletgsr
Garage is empty, add now
 
silverbulletgsr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: wilson, nc, usa
Posts: 58
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (m R g S r)

I got new plugs when I turbo'd it. I gapped them at 30. I also just bought a o2 simulator from importparts.com and it should be here Jan 5. I hope it fixes it.
__________________
2001 gsr turbo
249.1 whp at 8psi
stock internals
hoping for 300 by summer
-------------------------------
BOOST IS MY CRACK! [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emwink.gif[/img]
silverbulletgsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2003, 09:19 PM   #20
pip9
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
pip9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: ForceFedCity
Posts: 1,187
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (Mpir3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mpir3

tell that to inline pro who runs there cars into the low 11's with 440's/AFC/FMU...that setup is old and proven, long before the hack..
They tuned my car and my friends car. He has 440's/fmu/safc. I had 310's/fmu/safc, but i'm running a sohc and he has a dohc 2.0. I never had a problem with it. Sounds like u just need to get the car tuned. If u have the money you should upgrade to a better fuel management system and toss the afc and fmu all together. That's what i'm planning on for my next setup (AEM/440's)
__________________
97 audi a4
06 lotus elise
95 del sol
pip9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2003, 05:07 AM   #21
gsracer170
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
gsracer170's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Northern, NJ, USA
Posts: 224
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (porsche997)

Quote:
Originally Posted by porsche997
Your 255 fuel pump can't keep up with the fuel pressure.
that doesn't make any sense. we had cars going to 10.7 in the quarter w/ the fmu, intank pump, 370cc and vafc.

-Wallace
__________________
CLM Racing
gsracer170 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2003, 06:21 AM   #22
99blackcivicSi
Honda-Tech Member
1993 Honda Civic
My Garage
 
99blackcivicSi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Alexandria, Va, USA
Posts: 3,532
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 99blackcivicSi
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (porsche997)

Quote:
Originally Posted by porsche997
I think your fmu is causing the problem. Remove the fmu and try it. Your 12:1 fmu demand 12 psi of fuel pressure for 1 psi of boost. Your 255 fuel pump can't keep up with the fuel pressure. If you want to keep the fmu then you need to run a in-line fuel pump.
Yeah thats funny a 255hl won't keep up considering cars that run 10s have that.


I never had a problem with the Vafc and the FMU i used to have it and i loved it i tuned it by using a friends settings and then adjusted them to my own. Ran great but it has been pulled since then and i had to get a standalone i don't think i could idle 1000cc injectors with that setup Click the image to open in full size. . Just get it tuned man and you will be fine.
__________________
Nissan Master Tech
1998 beater hatchback 2003 s2000 garage queen
R.I.P Brian Arbogast 2/15/83-2/4/07
99blackcivicSi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2003, 06:47 AM   #23
VTC_CiViC
Honda-Tech Member
2000 Pontiac Trans Am
My Garage
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Naples, Fl, USA
Posts: 8,614
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to VTC_CiViC
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (silverbulletgsr)

Quote:
Originally Posted by silverbulletgsr
anybody know why it's cutting out?
You're proabably drowning the motor in fuel with 450's and a 12:1 FMU. Sure it's fine if you're pushing alot of pressure through large turbo, not for a stock GSR. Try pulling fuel out of the AFC and see what happens.
__________________
-Dave
-'08 Lancer Evolution X // '11 MDX // '00 TransAm WS6 // '95 Integra GS-R
VTC_CiViC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2003, 06:54 AM   #24
Muckman
Moderator
Garage is empty, add now
 
Muckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 9,260
iTrader Rating: (2)
ccmuckman
Send a message via ICQ to Muckman Send a message via AIM to Muckman
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (porsche997)

Quote:
Originally Posted by porsche997
I think your fmu is causing the problem. Your 12:1 fmu demand 12 psi of fuel pressure for 1 psi of boost. Your 255 fuel pump can't keep up with the fuel pressure.
What do you think creates the pressure in the fuel system? The fuel pump. The FMU/FPR only squeezes the return line. Maybe you think the 12:1 FMU makes the fuel pump, pump faster but it doesnt work that way...
__________________
Integra GSR 13.5:1 GT30R 597hp build
Evo9 MR SE
Muckman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2003, 11:32 AM   #25
porsche997dc2
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
porsche997dc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: LA County, CA, USA
Posts: 821
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Turbo'd integra cutting out (Muckman)

Quote:
Originally Posted by maingear

that doesn't make any sense. we had cars going to 10.7 in the quarter w/ the fmu, intank pump, 370cc and vafc.

-Wallace
At 10.7 may be in the 1/8. 370cc injectors will max out 230 whp. How can you go 10s with just 370cc. You will need at least 400whp and a very very good suspension set-up and a very good driver.

I'm giving an advice from an experience and from what I learned a couple months back. My friend had the same problem 255 in-tank pump and 12:1 fmu. 310 injectors. He kept having fuel cut off. We couldn't not find out what cause that but later we want to see if it went away by putting a in-line pump. Instantly, the car ran like an animal. A couple months back, there was a ht member had the same problem, he or she also had 255 intank pump. After, putting back the in-line pump back, the fuel cut off went away.
12 x 8(psi of boost) =96 psi fuel pressure
Static fuel pressure = may be he's running 50 psi.
96 + 50 = 146 psi that needed to pump from the fuel pump.
255 lt/h pump is rated at 43 psi.
Even at 65 psi, the 255 pump lost about 20-30% of it's efficiency.
We're not talking about 1:1 fuel pressure but a 12:1+static fuel pressure.
I believe at 146 psi, the 255 intank pump can't keep up the with that kind of fuel pressure without the aid of a in-line pump. Many will disagree with me but it's all good. We're here to learn and from what we had experienced from working on your own car or friend's car. We just wait and see if this ht member has solved the problem and keep us posted. Click the image to open in full size.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99blackcivicSi
Yeah thats funny a 255hl won't keep up considering cars that run 10s have that.
I have never doubt that 255 in-tank pump can keep up. You can do it with big injectors (700cc-1000cc), most likely 1:1 fpr such as the aeromotive, paxton and static fuel pressure at aroung 40-50 psi. Actually, this is the set-up that I'm going to run.
For example, the guys that has 500whp with 255 in-tank pump.
It takes around 20-25 psi of boost for 500whp with racing gas, of course.
Static fuel pressure may be at around 50 psi and with 1000cc injectors.
50 + 25 = 75 psi of fuel presure that need to pump from the fuel pump.




Modified by porsche997 at 5:01 PM 12/26/2003
__________________
96 DC2 - LS/Vtec: 320 whp and 221 lbft @12psi
73 Porsche 911 powered by Chevy V8 355.
porsche997dc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
370cc, 4k, 5500, afc, car, civic, cut, cuts, cutting, fuel, gsr, honda, injectors, integra, settings, turbo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:56 PM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details