Honda Prelude All Model Preludes

DIY: H22A VALVE ADJUSTMENT

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2003, 10:06 PM
space cadet

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default DIY: H22A VALVE ADJUSTMENT

-Disclamer-
I am not a professional. Any and all happenings good or bad are completely up to the user of this DIY write up. This is exactly what I did on my 2000 SH and it worked great. If you so choose to use this write up I am in no way responsible for any outcome that may occour.

DIY H22A Valve Adjustment

Tools required-

10mm deep well socket
10mm wrench
19mm deep well socket
Spark plug socket
6" extention
Rachet
Vise grips (optional. I used them)
Medium Flat tip screw driver
Pliers (depending on what type of clamps you have on your hoses going to the valve cover)
Torque wrench (14 lb ft or 168 lb in )
Angled feeler gauge (.006, .007, .008) For those that need further explanation .005 is intake low; .006 is intake high; .007 is exhaust low; .008 is exhaust high. recommend using .006 for intake, .007 to check, and .008 for exhaust with .009 to check
-friends to help. thanks Sam (boosted97lude) and Grant!

Very important

Make sure that your engine is cold. I let my car sit for just over three hours before starting. I had only driven it 5 miles to the shop. When I began removing parts it was still too warm to do the adjustment. I would suggest that if it isnt cold, not luke warm but cold, that you do not do this procedure. Wait until it is cold.

Snap-on corp makes a tool specifically for honda. This tool is used for valve adjustments and valve adjustments only. I did not use this tool. I made my own. If you would like to it is easy. All you will need is a pair of Vise-grips, a 10mm deep well socket, and a flat head screwdriver that will fit through the hole of the socket.
Angle the vice grips at apx. 80 degrees when you clamp it to the 10mm socket. Stick the screw driver through the socket and there you go. You just scarred up a perfectly good socket but saved $40.
Name:  1.jpg