Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

What model?

Search this Thread

Old 04-23-2014, 06:00 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What model?

Hello everyone, my name is Tom and I am brand new here at Honda-Tech. I don't currently drive a Honda but I am in the market for one. Specifically I am looking for civic to do mostly autocross with. I have been once with my Camaro but I am looking for something a little more nimble and fun to work on. From what I have read it is important to have an idea of what model I am looking for before I start shopping. I am a novice when it comes to working on my own car but I would love to learn! So basically I am looking for a car that would be easy to turn into a track/autocross car but still inexpensive and easy to work on. What model should I be looking for? Any suggestions?
Old 04-23-2014, 06:20 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Re: What model?

Forget a civic then and get an integra i'll list a few reasons off the bat, 1:all DC(94-01) integra's came with a b-series engine so even the non-vtec ls has 140/128 which is more then a d-seires civic. 2:you can find a gsr(170/129) for the cost most kids want for their civic and those are great platforms to start 3:you won't have to spend money for an engine with a dcent amount of tq(for a Honda) which is ideal for ayto x.

While Time attack is my thing the top cars at buttonwillow raceway this year for the GTA were the sport car motion integra nd R-division integra they just make great plat forms.
Old 04-23-2014, 06:49 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by B_Swapped93