Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

FelPro Oil Pan Gaskets...USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!

Search this Thread

Old 09-21-2013, 07:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FelPro Oil Pan Gaskets...USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!

I wanted to update everyone on an alarming pattern/problem that I encountered recently while trying to fix some oil leaks on my 96 Accord 2.2 VTEC w/5spd.
First and foremost I've been using FelPro gaskets almost exclusively since like 2001 on all sorts of makes and models...they're cheap and I felt (until recently) pretty good quality. I've changed FelPro head gaskets, seals, O-rings, valve covers you name it and never had a problem.

In trying to narrow down oil leaks I thought I'd start from the ground up and replace my oil pan gasket because I'd never done it. It was the factory original and hard as a rock...replaced with my trusty Felpro. Its the only part available at Napa, Autozone, O'Reilly Auto Parts, Carquest, and Advanced...they have a freaking monopoly.

That damn gasket didn't last me six months, and yes I used an inch pounds torque wrench every time to install the pan. Applied liquid gasket like the manual says, etc etc. It started leaking and I was about to tear the tranny out thinking it was the rear main till I noticed a flap of orange rubber sticking out. I've got limited pics but the gasket was split in like five different spots. I didn't think much of it and thought perhaps it just sat on the shelf too long. Got my money back and got another Felpro pan gasket.

The second gasket didn't last me a month. What scared me most was I had just done a head gasket and was watching fluid levels like a hawk. I filled the tank, oil level was holding steady for the first time in years, and drove five miles home. Turn into town and get a low oil pressure light...nothing on dipstick and there's oil just pouring out (not even a drip) near the rear main. Split in the exact same corner.