Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

My 1999 Civic si rebuild story

Search this Thread

Old 05-27-2013, 07:47 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My 1999 Civic si rebuild story

First let me say, as of a couple months ago, all I ever did on a car was change oil and brake pads. I am not a mechanic and never wanted to work on cars.

In January, my son's 99 si, with 200K miles on it, started to develop overheating issues. Since I never drove the car I was unaware of the problem until I followed him home one night and noticed white smoke from the exhaust. We talked to a mechanic friend and decided to get the head gasket replaced. We took it to his shop (yes a real mechanic's shop) and he installed a non-OEM head gasket. He said the head was not warped and he decided not to have it machined. Long story short, the car was still burning antifreeze. Over a few weeks I monitored the coolant levels until late one rainy night while my son was about 45 miles from home, the bypass hose exploded. This time the car would not start and blasted coolant out the radiator about a foot high when you tried to start it. We got the car towed home thanks to my son's girlfriend's grandparents who have been members of AAA since the 50's and get 100 miles per tow! I digress...

Rather than take it back to my mechanic friend and having to pay for yet another botched job, I decided to handle the project myself. I studied how to diagnose a bad head gasket, and decided to first do a leak down test. I borrowed a compression tester from Autozone (they didn't have a leak down test kit) and bought a $1.49 5 in 1 valve tool to remove the one way valve in the compression hose. There was huge warpage this time. The leak down test confirmed leaks to the coolant, out the exhaust, and a small amount from the crank case