Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Technical Forums > Engine Management and Tuning
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-10-2012, 09:33 PM   #1
ramco
Honda-Tech Member
1966 morris Mini
 
ramco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orange County, CA.
Posts: 176
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default VTEC pressure switch trick

I just installed a new CTR motor in my classic Mini(it had a B16A before), The CTR has no VTEC pressure sensor, I am thinking of grounding the wire, so the ECU thinks there is oil pressure (all the time). I was told by someone, to jump A4 (VTEC solenoid) to D6, (VTEC pressure). I am not so sure I trust this; it could damage the ECU. It would be easier to just ground the Pressure wire anyway, which is what the sender does, when there is oil pressure.
What do you think?
Thanks.
ramco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 02:42 AM   #2
First.EG
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Los Angeles Ca
Posts: 271
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: VTEC pressure switch trick

a4 to d6 works fine my cars been like that for over a year.
First.EG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 06:02 AM   #3
HAMOTORSPORTS
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
HAMOTORSPORTS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: modesto, ca, usa
Posts: 9,899
iTrader Rating: (0)
HA Motorsports
Default Re: VTEC pressure switch trick

Jumping D6 to A4 works fine to get you by.
__________________
http://www.hamotorsports.com
HAMOTORSPORTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 06:18 AM   #4
mtber
H-T Basic Sponsor
Garage is empty, add now
 
mtber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 45,264
iTrader Rating: (2)
Default Re: VTEC pressure switch trick

Useful diagram: http://phearable.net/tech/wiring/vtpsbypass.gif
__________________
Phearable.net - 1-888-236-9831 - Honda-Tech Sponsors Since 2003
Chipped Ecus / Fuel Injectors/Pumps / Widebands / OBD Harnesses / Turbos
Authorized Dealer for: Hondata, AEM, Neptune, eCtune, Crome, Precision & more.

Shop with CONFIDENCE, we are a company that has been in business for 10 years!
mtber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 12:02 AM   #5
ramco
Honda-Tech Member
1966 morris Mini
 
ramco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orange County, CA.
Posts: 176
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: VTEC pressure switch trick

thanks, looks like it is unanimous, but couldn't I ground the VTEC pressure wire to get the same result?
ramco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 01:39 AM   #6
doc
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Austria/Europe
Posts: 128
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to doc
Default Re: VTEC pressure switch trick

No. The VTP Signal hast follow the VTS Signal to make the ECU work without a CEL.

Grounding the VTP Signal will only work until the VTEC kicks in - than it will throw a CEL cause the ECU does not "see" the VTEC (Oil-) Pressure.
doc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 08:08 PM   #7
ramco
Honda-Tech Member
1966 morris Mini
 
ramco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Orange County, CA.
Posts: 176
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: VTEC pressure switch trick

OK, The Code light is not really an issue with our cars, they are not subject to inspection, via Age exemption. Most of our guys don't even have a code light on their cars.
So, how about just completing the VTEC pressure circuit, by splicing the connector wires trogether? I assume that is what the sender does internally anyway, when there is sufficient pressure. That would just simulate full oil pressure all the time, and the ECU would be happy.
ramco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2012, 07:50 PM   #8
Coupe-R
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Coupe-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Tauranga, New Zealand, BOP, New Zealand
Posts: 183
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: VTEC pressure switch trick

If you throw a VTP code you won't have vtec, so it will be an issue
Jumping the connector together doesn't work either, gives it just one voltage no doubt, so errors out and gives a code.

Just splice A4/D6 thats the correct way to do it and easiest
Coupe-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 12:20 PM   #9
419integra
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 39
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: VTEC pressure switch trick

How would you bypass the switch on an obd2 usdm gsr?
419integra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 03:26 PM   #10
Thunderwear420
Trial User
2002 Honda Accord
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: VTEC pressure switch trick

Hi Guys, new member and I am sorry to resurrect a somewhat dead thread but I didn't want to make a new thread for something similar.

I recently bought my first Honda, a 2002 Accord EX 2.3L 4cyl ATX the girl who sold it to me said that it had a loud exhaust and a slipping transmission (Got it for $600 with 44k on the motor)

After the first test drive it was obvious the "loud exhaust" was a wheel bearing, fixed, done, drives great.

During my test drive I had no clue why she thought it was a slipping trans because it shifted like a dream only after I owned it and brought it home I noticed what she was talking about, during hard acceleration the motor wouldn't exceed 4k rpms and acts like its "hiccuping" and jerks back and forth, feather your foot off the throttle and it it shifts fine.

After my buddy and I pulled the codes for the CEL it gave us P1259 and after some research I have concluded it is the VTEC Pressure Switch the car has plenty of oil and it hasn't used or leaked a drop in almost 2k miles but not being able to exceed 4k is starting to get annoying especially when going up large hills.

So anyway.. sorry about the long winded explanation but being a Honda newbie I wasn't sure if this thread would work for my situation. Would jumping A4 and D6 fix this problem?

Any and all feedback is appreciated, even if what I am saying is way off base and you call me a dumbass I'll appreciate it because then I'll have learned something

Thank you.

Last edited by Thunderwear420; 08-16-2013 at 01:47 PM.
Thunderwear420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2013, 06:21 PM   #11
First.EG
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Los Angeles Ca
Posts: 271
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: VTEC pressure switch trick

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderwear420 View Post
So anyway.. sorry about the long winded explanation but being a Honda newbie I wasn't sure if Would jumping A4 and D6 fix this problem? or do I need to replace the entire solenoid? I have removed the top half and replaced the gasket but don't have the time right now to pull it from the block to do the bottom half without even knowing for sure if that is my problem.

Any and all feedback is appreciated, even if what I am saying is way off base and you call me a dumbass I'll appreciate it because then I'll have learned something

Thank you.
No ecu pinouts are different what you could try to do is jump the pressure switch on the engine it self. Jump the solenoid with the pressure switch one of the wires one the pressure switch is a ground if the first one doesn't work try the other one. IF YOU FUCK UP YOUR CAR THAT'S ON YOU!!!
First.EG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 10:47 PM   #12
tegonfire
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 11
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: VTEC pressure switch trick

Vtec bypass??no body or Jap really know hey???


I just buy a Jdm b18b into a black2001 USDM black leather GSR b18c1...


The ecu is a gsr 2001 OBD2b p72 and at first trow many code....

code 1337 cuz jdm dont have crank angle sensor...But when I read other forum it told me how to bypass this sensor and it dont trow 1337 anymore

I had no IAT cuz its a jdm engine I used a ebay resistor chip and shut down the code...

Now the only code left is vtec malfunction code 1259...
I can rev 8200rpm the first 5 sec that the car just started....
After that I hit a fuel cut off at 4800 rpm and the car bug like hell...


SO THE REAL QUESTION HERE IS THERE A WAY TO BYPASS THIS CODE 1259 VTEC MALFUNCTION????

PLZ IF YOU DONT KNOW DO NOT LEAVE MESSAGE THAT SCRAP THE FORUM AND TELL NOTHING GOOD!!!

I DONT WANT TO BUY A OBD1 P75 ECU AND A EPROM CHIP FROM EBAY TO REV 8200rpm(sound like a Ferrari)

MUST BE A WAY TO BYPASS THE ONLY CEL CODE LEFT 1259 ????

I already try to jump vtec pressure plug it dont work...
Any other idea I can try??
tegonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 11:05 PM   #13
Jtkdirtbike
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 51
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: VTEC pressure switch trick

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thunderwear420 View Post
Hi Guys, new member and I am sorry to resurrect a somewhat dead thread but I didn't want to make a new thread for something similar.

I recently bought my first Honda, a 2002 Accord EX 2.3L 4cyl ATX the girl who sold it to me said that it had a loud exhaust and a slipping transmission (Got it for $600 with 44k on the motor)

After the first test drive it was obvious the "loud exhaust" was a wheel bearing, fixed, done, drives great.

During my test drive I had no clue why she thought it was a slipping trans because it shifted like a dream only after I owned it and brought it home I noticed what she was talking about, during hard acceleration the motor wouldn't exceed 4k rpms and acts like its "hiccuping" and jerks back and forth, feather your foot off the throttle and it it shifts fine.

After my buddy and I pulled the codes for the CEL it gave us P1259 and after some research I have concluded it is the VTEC Pressure Switch the car has plenty of oil and it hasn't used or leaked a drop in almost 2k miles but not being able to exceed 4k is starting to get annoying especially when going up large hills.

So anyway.. sorry about the long winded explanation but being a Honda newbie I wasn't sure if this thread would work for my situation. Would jumping A4 and D6 fix this problem?

Any and all feedback is appreciated, even if what I am saying is way off base and you call me a dumbass I'll appreciate it because then I'll have learned something

Thank you.
I just posted this on another thread Check your catalytic converter... I had the same problem up hills but it wouldnt go over 3 eventually and it continually got worse... the cat was clogged and after reaming it out (or you could get a new one) it fixed it I had a code 22 which is the obd1 version of your obd2 P1259 and after i cleared the cat the code went away and now it runs great... hope it helps
Jtkdirtbike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2013, 11:09 PM   #14
Jtkdirtbike
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 51
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: VTEC pressure switch trick

sorry I meant code 21
Jtkdirtbike is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2001, honda, hondatech, placement, pressure, s2k, sale, same, signal, switch, vtec, vtech, wire, wiring, year

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to:bypass Vtec oil pressure switch See Are X Tech/Misc 14 08-17-2013 03:24 AM
No idea what is going on with my f22b1... VTEC Ram2012 Engine Management and Tuning 10 07-22-2013 11:12 AM
ecu is chipped but no vtec? superspadez Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) 24 11-30-2012 09:05 AM
obd1 vtec wiring question psychocarne Honda Civic/Del Sol (1992 - 2000) 1 10-21-2012 03:47 PM
H23A/EK hatch VTEC WIRE UP ahkbird Hybrid/Engine swaps 1 08-25-2012 07:59 AM



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:51 AM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details