Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

New guy with blinking s code

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2011, 03:46 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New guy with blinking s code

Hey everyone, I'm an auto tech, but haven't run across this yet. I'm mainly a jeep guy, but I just bought a 1990 accord as a cheap commuter. Auto trans, the S light blinks. I warm it up in the morning, and the light stays off, but as soon as I put it in gear the light starts blinking, and continues the whole trip.

I jumped the test connector, and the only code it has is 7. I did some searching, and I seem to have some symptoms others have had. It isn't using all 4 gears, I thought maybe it wasn't going into OD, but maybe it's skipping second, it shifts out of first a little harsh, and is a little doggy. Only two times now in the few hundred miles I've driven it, it will get a total lack of power, and act like a clogged cat, and not wanna accelerate very much at all, but that has been very rare.

Anyone wanna point me where to look, and thanks for the help.

EDIT for some more info: Never have a no start issue, speedo works correctly, no check engine light, just the S. I've seen possible causes from tcu, main relay, speed sensor, some places say this code is for the tps, other say it's something else.

Any input is appreciated.

Last edited by jpdocdave; 01-02-2011 at 04:22 PM.
Old 01-02-2011, 04:37 PM
be professional

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
Default Re: New guy with blinking s code

Reset the computer. Does it drive okay afterwards?

When the S light is on and the car is acting up, try shifting it manually through 1st, 2nd, and 3rd gears. Does it shift properly?

If you answered yes to both of these questions, then the trans control unit is bad. This is common on '90 and '91 Accords. Pick up a used replacement from a salvage yard.
Old 01-02-2011, 04:43 PM
Honda-Tech Member