Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Model-Specific Technical Forums > Honda Accord (1990 - 2002)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-25-2010, 04:57 PM   #1
jthrasher1
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jthrasher1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 158
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default ECU CHIPPING QUESTION/chrome pro

ok so chipping an ecu??? bought a diffrent ecu for my accord cause its turbo now and using an obd1 ecu for the tune, its a po6 from a civic.... now whats socketing an ecu mean im gonna have it done on chrome pro and the ecu i have is stock do i neeed to buy somthing myself to do it or will the tuning place have it.. i know i need a chip..
jthrasher1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 06:04 PM   #2
GhostAccord
Honda-Tech Member
1996 Honda Accord
 
GhostAccord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: East Coast 506, Canada
Posts: 9,737
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to GhostAccord
Default Re: ECU CHIPPING QUESTION/chrome pro

Best thing is for you to ask the tuning place if they can chip ECUs. If they can't you will have to take your P06 and have it modified by someone with electronics & soldering know how.

Give this a read. It will give you an insight to what you are getting into.

http://www.moates.net/zips/crome/Tun...ME%20v1.06.pdf

The section Titled "Chipping/Preparing a Stock ECU" has good info on what it takes in order to chip an ECU. Even though it says P28 in the write up this is the same for a P06.
GhostAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 08:19 PM   #3
jthrasher1
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jthrasher1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 158
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: ECU CHIPPING QUESTION/chrome pro

ya the place chips ecu's but i was reading about chrome and hondata half to have a socketed ecu i havent asked them that yet but how do you go about socketing it if need be...
jthrasher1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 08:35 PM   #4
TheMuffinMan
He knows where you live!
Garage is empty, add now
 
TheMuffinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,251
iTrader Rating: (1)
Default Re: ECU CHIPPING QUESTION/chrome pro

Honestly, if you haven't been able to Google it or search on Honda-tech on how to do it I would save your money and pay someone who knows how to do it. You may want to sell your p06 and go to phearable or another vendor that sells pre-chipped and basemapped ECU's until you can get it tuned.

I chipped my own and didn't have any difficulties, I also ordered the parts for it. A simple google search is all you need for a DIY. But the ECU (and the parts) are an expensive thing to **** up.
__________________
2004 NFR S2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by slomofo
I think TheMuffinMan is Chuck Norris. Seriously, you can't find the TheMuffinMan,TheMuffinMan finds you.
TheMuffinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2010, 08:41 PM   #5
GhostAccord
Honda-Tech Member
1996 Honda Accord
 
GhostAccord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: East Coast 506, Canada
Posts: 9,737
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to GhostAccord
Default Re: ECU CHIPPING QUESTION/chrome pro

Having an ECU socketed and/or chipping an ECU basically mean the same thing. Both terms refer to adding the socket, capacitors, resistors, CMOS latch and EPROM chip. That will allow for a stock ECU to be tuned. So if the place chip's ECUs then you should be able to take them your stock P06 and they will chip/socket it...for a price.


Click here for a basic "How To" guide to chipping/socketing an ECU
Page 18 is where the ECU prep/socketing section starts.
GhostAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
accord, cd5, chip, chipping, chrome, chromepro, crome, diy, ecu, free, honda, p28, po6, pro, stock

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:25 AM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details