Notices
Audio / Security / Video Sound Systems, Alarms, Electronics

NEWB! need help with speakers!!

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2009, 03:12 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon3 NEWB! need help with speakers!!

Hey all, this is my first post in forums.

First than anything i would like to say that absolutely LOOOOOVEE my 96 accord. I am a computer engineer and this car enables me to "learn" as i try to fix her up (she's definitively a fixer upper)

I have messed before with speakers and electronics but i am not too confident on the numbers (what wattage would be ok, what size speakers etc .... )

My objective it's to replace the factory standard speakers with new ones that have as much quality as possible without loosing volume and without using an amp (planning on adding an amp later for a sub) and off course spending the least amount of money possible (Did i mention I'm Broke?)

Here are some of my burning questions.

* How much wattage can i use without the car sounding crappy?

* Is there any way to improve the wattage without having to plug an amp directly to the speakers?

* How many watts do the factory speakers have?

* Should i use bigger speakers in the rear to "enhance" the lows?

* Should i add a couple of tweeters?

* IS there anything that i should be carefull with before i break things? (i tend to do that a lot)

My car is a 1996 Honda accord 2 door (not sure about trim but it has power windows and such)
My head unit it's not the factory one. It's an old Panasonic. (cq-c1333u)

PLEASE HELPP
Old 10-12-2009, 06:03 AM
They let me pick

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: NEWB! need help with speakers!!

Originally Posted by TyLLy_4
Hey all, this is my first post in forums.

First than anything i would like to say that absolutely LOOOOOVEE my 96 accord. I am a computer engineer and this car enables me to "learn" as i try to fix her up (she's definitively a fixer upper)