Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Technical Forums > Forced Induction
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-09-2009, 07:57 PM   #1
szczerbanator
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
szczerbanator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hippy Town, Wa
Posts: 830
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

So basically i'm looking to add a lil hp and torque. I've come to realize going turbo is the way to go. Anyways i was looking for a only a little psi for DD like under 5...

Could i just run a POS Ebay turbo without a intercooler if i'm just running like 3-4 psi?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ALL-B...Q5fAccessories


There's the link to the turbo i'm thinking about ^.
I don't want to piece together some fancy 2k turbo kit, just something to add a lil kick for dd on my b20b.


Appreciate all feedback. Good or bad.
szczerbanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 08:33 PM   #2
OneBadTurboCRV
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
OneBadTurboCRV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: IN Your Mind
Posts: 5,479
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

Yes you can run turbo's without intercoolers. Typically to do this you DO WANT to stay at 5 lbs. or under. Also running only 3-4 lbs. of boost there is no need to make almost any other modifications. I have done it on quite a few OBDII cars with success.

People will probably flame you and me but F-Em...
OneBadTurboCRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 08:37 PM   #3
mistajdm
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
mistajdm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: nyc
Posts: 340
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to mistajdm
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

Quote:
Originally Posted by N3va3vaSatisfi3d View Post
Yes you can run turbo's without intercoolers. Typically to do this you DO WANT to stay at 5 lbs. or under. Also running only 3-4 lbs. of boost there is no need to make almost any other modifications. I have done it on quite a few OBDII cars with success.

People will probably flame you and me but F-Em...
never knew that
mistajdm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 09:09 PM   #4
91tegrals
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: greenville, texas, usa
Posts: 3,448
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 91tegrals
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

yeah that low of boost should be fine on stock **** really i mean look at it this way at that boost level with tha turbo your wanting you may add 50-75hp and you can compare that to say a 75 shot of dry nitrous and you can safely spray that amount on a bone stock motor an be good to go..
__________________
vouch list//stewie8apie,pdiggitydigg,blackhxcoupe, ej8civic,
batboyvaj, hotrodd99, johnls ,mike9571,hatchbkdrivr,gsrrussel
T_Rex

91tegrals is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 09:11 PM   #5
Honda Bull
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Honda Bull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 40.201N, 77.189W, PA
Posts: 4,710
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to Honda Bull Send a message via Skype™ to Honda Bull
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

Yes, turbos can be run without an intercooler.

At the end of the day, if you're going to be buying eBay stuff, just shell out two more hundred dollars and get the piping and intercooler, too. Efficiency and lower IATs are a good thing, and give you more of that "lil power and torque".
__________________
w w w . i n n o v a t i v e - m o t o r w o r k s . c o m

SURJE.motorsports :: EH2 Hatch :: 10.98 @ 129 mph @ "The Beaver"
Honda Bull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 10:09 PM   #6
szczerbanator
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
szczerbanator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hippy Town, Wa
Posts: 830
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Honda Bull View Post
Yes, turbos can be run without an intercooler.

At the end of the day, if you're going to be buying eBay stuff, just shell out two more hundred dollars and get the piping and intercooler, too. Efficiency and lower IATs are a good thing, and give you more of that "lil power and torque".

Haha i love how you quote me at the end.
Lots of good info in here.

Basically i just got a b20b (low comp) from hmotors installed in my teg, planning to run very low boost. Probably 2-5 psi.

So i guess i'll just save the extra couple hundred ad get the intercooler. Is there ANYthing else i would need? Or just a ebay Full turbo kit.?
szczerbanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 10:12 PM   #7
szczerbanator
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
szczerbanator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hippy Town, Wa
Posts: 830
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

Quote:
Originally Posted by N3va3vaSatisfi3d View Post
Yes you can run turbo's without intercoolers. Typically to do this you DO WANT to stay at 5 lbs. or under. Also running only 3-4 lbs. of boost there is no need to make almost any other modifications. I have done it on quite a few OBDII cars with success.

People will probably flame you and me but F-Em...
I guess i read this wrong. Do i NEED or DON'T NEED the intercooler?

Also ive never had any experience with a turbo, how the heck do i know what psi its at? And how do i change it? Do i need a psi gauge?
szczerbanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 10:33 PM   #8
OneBadTurboCRV
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
OneBadTurboCRV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: IN Your Mind
Posts: 5,479
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

Read it as it says. You will want to stay at 5 psi. or under to run a turbo without an intercooler. It depends on what the waste gate spring is set at. You will have to purchase a spring if it comes with too high of a psi. Of course you would want a psi. gauge to see what kind of pressure you are getting and to make sure things are not out of whack and you are not getting too much boost. You should have a A/F Ratio gauge as well to be on the safe side. I would just get a intercooler setup and go ahead and buy the E-bay turbo Kit. It will come with almost everything you need. If you want to take some precaution get a FMU as well even though that is just a dirty hack.

Sounds like either you should not turbo your car or you should really take the time to learn about forced induction and how to do it properly.
OneBadTurboCRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2009, 11:29 PM   #9
xander1100
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
xander1100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: LA, ca, usa
Posts: 670
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

without an intercooler your intake temps will be pretty high but if your running low boost it shouldnt be an issue, like others have said.

ebay turbos seem to have issues, you could throw together a junkyard turbo kit for less and it will be more reliable. you could probably find a used exhaust manifold for the correct turbo here on honda-tech and get a turbo from a wrecked whatever (toyota, nissan, mitsubishi)
__________________
b18c1--81.5mm bore--9:1 comp ratio
skunk2 IM--edelbrock TB--greddy turbo kit
port+polished head
xander1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 06:07 AM   #10
srmofo
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
srmofo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 1,590
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

ebay turbos/kits are junk. is it worth the hassle to you? Also I would not take advice from anyone recommending an FMU. those things destroy engines. You are gonna want a decent management system if you want it to last no matter how much boost you push. You can pick up an old hondata s100 or s200 for less than what an fmu costs.

IMO it sounds like you need to read and understand what you are doing before buying anything. The FAQs at the top of this section should help get you started
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lambo123
yeah once again, didn't listen to h-t's advice and fixed it when it should've been fixed. my car caught on fire yesterday. i have now confirmed one should never use tin foil as a fuse.
srmofo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 06:09 AM   #11
90Rexx
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
90Rexx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 2,328
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 90Rexx
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

at least run an FMU or some chipped program if your gonna do turbo... its better than constantly running lean...



*** by the way i have had success with ebay turbos and kits.... i had about 2,000 miles on mine with no problems.... for a budget setup id say go for it... dont expect a quick spool though
__________________
1989 Honda CRX for sale in MA - $2500 - RUST FREE!

Last edited by 90Rexx; 07-10-2009 at 06:19 AM.
90Rexx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 09:15 AM   #12
DA TeG 90
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
DA TeG 90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 547
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to DA TeG 90
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

If it were up to me, I would just get nitrous with a 50 shot. With the turbo you will want more boost.

just my .02
DA TeG 90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 09:22 AM   #13
1995EG6
New User
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: virginia
Posts: 5
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

yeah, of coarse you can. the only thing a intercooler does is cool the ambient temperature if the intake by some deals degrees. it works great and i would recommend it. turbo cars can get extremely hot and i good way to help cool down those incomming gases is intercooler. you can even attach a nitrous oxide line to it to cool it down.. atleast i think it's nitrouse.. i could be wronge
1995EG6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 10:02 AM   #14
szczerbanator
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
szczerbanator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hippy Town, Wa
Posts: 830
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

This was a basic ?. Don't start telling me to not turbo and get my facts straight before i post again..etc..etc..It was just a ?. A simple ?.

Anyways. I'll take the positive advice in this thread, and probably just run the ebay intercooler with a used decent turbo.

Btw, do nissan, honda, mitsubishi stock turbos bolt up to a ebay manifold or intercooler?
szczerbanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 11:42 AM   #15
blaze the chemi
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
blaze the chemi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: All over ATL
Posts: 2,088
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

Quote:
Originally Posted by szczerbanator View Post
This was a basic ?. Don't start telling me to not turbo and get my facts straight before i post again..etc..etc..It was just a ?. A simple ?.

Anyways. I'll take the positive advice in this thread, and probably just run the ebay intercooler with a used decent turbo.

Btw, do nissan, honda, mitsubishi stock turbos bolt up to a ebay manifold or intercooler?
As long as the flanges are the same. There are people on here that make adapters if you need one. The flange is the opening/connection between the turbo manifold and the turbo. Happy boosting.
__________________
2000 EBP EM1
http://www.honda-tech.com/showthread.php?t=2932188 for sale thread
Quote:
Originally Posted by GroundControlTrevor View Post
Anyhow, blaze the chemi is correct,
blaze the chemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 02:08 PM   #16
xander1100
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
xander1100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: LA, ca, usa
Posts: 670
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

x2 on the flanges
depending on where the turbo sits you might need to change some of the piping around so it will fit.
__________________
b18c1--81.5mm bore--9:1 comp ratio
skunk2 IM--edelbrock TB--greddy turbo kit
port+polished head
xander1100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 07:16 PM   #17
c'mon
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
c'mon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,643
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

Quote:
Originally Posted by szczerbanator View Post
This was a basic ?. Don't start telling me to not turbo and get my facts straight before i post again..etc..etc..It was just a ?. A simple ?.

Anyways. I'll take the positive advice in this thread, and probably just run the ebay intercooler with a used decent turbo.
He's saying it for your own good. You need to learn what you're doing before you do this stuff. It's not as simple as just buying a cheapass turbo kit and slapping it on there. It's not like you're doing I/H/E. And don't be mad because some people aren't telling you what you want to hear. You get what you pay for. That ebay turbo kit is what, like 350 bucks? There's a reason. If you're going to boost a Honda you either do it right or don't do it at all. Don't expect to be able to pay like 500-600 total and then be done with it. You're going to end up spending a lot more than that in one way or another.
c'mon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 07:56 PM   #18
VtecCarHauler
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
VtecCarHauler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Pembroke Pines, FL, USA
Posts: 616
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

DD cars need good parts too. The cooler things run the better. Use good quality parts the first time so that you will not be stuck on the side of the road like race car with 3X more power than you.
__________________
AR Performance 9.987@147.79mph stock sleeves/stock trans 24.5 tire
(DD) 93 Eg N/A B-series
AUTO TRANSPORT http://www.floridadirectautotransport.com
VtecCarHauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 11:47 PM   #19
cleve
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
cleve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ashland, OR, United states
Posts: 56
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Can you run a turbo without a intercooler?

ebay intercooler kits arent the best but they will do the job that it sounds like you are looking for.
stock turbos are sometimes the best turbos you can get because they were made with the intentions of running for 200,000+ miles.
by far the most important aspect of any build is the engine management system. this is where your going to get exactly what you pay for. dont cheap out here or your going to be replacing major cost parts.
so imo put a ebay intercooler/piping on it, use a stock turbo (ex. eclipse), get yourself acouple gauges and a good tune and go have some fun.

build it right the first time so you dont end up spending twice the amount you would have originally, if you went with the right parts.
cleve is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
97, attach, boost, ebay, good, honda, intercoler, intercooler, intercoolers, low, problems, psi, run, running, turbo, turbos

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:00 AM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details