Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Model-Specific Technical Forums > Honda Civic/Del Sol (1992 - 2000)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-30-2009, 10:20 PM   #1
ShinotakuX
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
ShinotakuX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 327
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

recently I've notice my brakes are not as efficient as before in my 97 del sol, can I just replace the brake pads? or I have to do something to the rotors? the brake pads I'm planning to change is the Hawk HPS.
ShinotakuX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:46 PM   #2
delsolproblems
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
delsolproblems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,408
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

If you're willing to greatly increase the chance of squeaking and excessive brake vibration then no. How you drive and pad quality affect the answer you're looking for. Some people with some brakes do fine turning the rotors every other time. I have always resurfaced mine by hand. A good 1' sanding block with 60 grit used back and forth on the side of the disk as it is slowly turned can accomplish a great job if done carefully. Alot of people have never heard of this but it was a suggested method of at-home resurfacing in a shop manual I had about ten years ago. I've used it dozens of times on my cars since with great results. It can also be cheaper to replace rotors rather than have them turned, especially for the rears.

On a side note, I bought some of Summit's best ceramic pads (i'll have to check on the brand) 7 years ago for my front brakes. It's been a DD ever since and has also gone from one side of the U.S. to the other 3 times. The pads are still good and have never squeaked or vibrated in the slightest. Order the best pads you can- it's sooooo worth it.
__________________
If you're a moron, please disregard anything I say.

-DSP
delsolproblems is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:57 PM   #3
twiztid_989
Honda-Tech Member
1992 Honda Civic
My Garage
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: espanola, new mexico
Posts: 280
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

i never resurfaced my rotors i just bought news ones cuz the passed a new thing now on the rotors it has to be in spec for them to resurface them
twiztid_989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 10:20 AM   #4
ShinotakuX
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
ShinotakuX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 327
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

how can you tell if the rotors can be resurfaced or not? also, what are some recommended rotors for daily drive use? I dont need brembo or fancy slotted drilled expensive rotors, just decent for daily drive usage. thank you.
ShinotakuX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 10:38 AM   #5
Pothole987
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Pothole987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Canada's Ocean Playground
Posts: 1,134
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

usually if they have lines in them or are rough they should be turned.
usually it is cheaper just to buy new rotors though, some people charge $15 a side to turn when you can buy both brand new for $40
__________________
2007 Honda civic SI White 2dr 6 speed
2007 Honda civic Brown 4dr 5 speed
2011 Chevorlet Silverado Black Cheyenne Edition 4WD
Pothole987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 11:41 AM   #6
roadsqueegy95
Honda-Tech Member
1999 Honda Civic
 
roadsqueegy95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bedford,PA
Posts: 1,050
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

imo if ur using reg rotors just buy new ones, as Pothole987 stated, its sometimes cheaper and easier just to replace them. now if u get into the slotted and drilled rotors thats a diff story!
__________________
Get your honda-tech.com decals....on sale now!!
http://www.honda-tech.com/showthread.php?t=2573880
www.AbsoluteCustomsLLC.com
roadsqueegy95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 11:47 AM   #7
shak3yb0n3z
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
shak3yb0n3z's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego,CA
Posts: 167
iTrader Rating: (0)
rocgotsol
Send a message via AIM to shak3yb0n3z
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

Quote:
Originally Posted by twiztid_989 View Post
i never resurfaced my rotors i just bought news ones cuz the passed a new thing now on the rotors it has to be in spec for them to resurface them
passed a new thing? brother, rotors ALWAYS had to be in spec to cut them and after you cut them if they went out of spec then you HAD to replace them.


if you want to do a proper brake job you will:
replace your pads and rotors
replace your hardware and lube up your sliders
flush and bleed your brake system.

do it right or don't do it at all
shak3yb0n3z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 11:49 AM   #8
shak3yb0n3z
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
shak3yb0n3z's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego,CA
Posts: 167
iTrader Rating: (0)
rocgotsol
Send a message via AIM to shak3yb0n3z
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

Quote:
Originally Posted by roadsqueegy95 View Post
imo if ur using reg rotors just buy new ones, as Pothole987 stated, its sometimes cheaper and easier just to replace them. now if u get into the slotted and drilled rotors thats a diff story!
you really can't resurface drilled/slotted rotors. it's a super pain in the ***. typically they don't warp too bad anyways. i would check runout on slotted/drilled rotors before making decisions to replace or attempt to resurface.
shak3yb0n3z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 06:33 PM   #9
ShinotakuX
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
ShinotakuX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 327
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

what are some recommended rotors that are not expensive? should I just replace the front or both the front and rear? If I just replace the front, all I need is the front rotors and brake pads, but what about the rear? should I just leave it as it is?
ShinotakuX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 07:27 PM   #10
PEK*EGGEM
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NOR-CAL*
Posts: 36
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

ONLY RICH PEOPLE RESURFACE THIER ROTORS. I JUST GO OUT AND BUY NEW ONES.. HA HA
PEK*EGGEM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 07:31 PM   #11
waaBAAH
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
waaBAAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 725
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to waaBAAH
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

Quote:
Originally Posted by shak3yb0n3z View Post
you really can't resurface drilled/slotted rotors. it's a super pain in the ***. typically they don't warp too bad anyways. i would check runout on slotted/drilled rotors before making decisions to replace or attempt to resurface.
why cant you turn slotted and or crossdrilled? a rotor is a rotor.. just because it is crossdrilled or slotted doesnt make it any harder to turn.
waaBAAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:51 PM   #12
roycivic92
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
roycivic92's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 1,296
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

NOT REALLY
roycivic92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:52 PM   #13
40mpg_dx00
Junior Member
2000 Honda Civic
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: maryland
Posts: 158
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

Quote:
Originally Posted by PEK*EGGEM View Post
ONLY RICH PEOPLE RESURFACE THIER ROTORS. I JUST GO OUT AND BUY NEW ONES.. HA HA
I resurfaced my rotors and i'm mega-poor. granted, i work at a honda dealer and it cost me nothing.
40mpg_dx00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:54 PM   #14
92lxsleeper
Honda-Tech Member
1992 Honda Civic
 
92lxsleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lincoln, RI
Posts: 1,390
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

Quote:
Originally Posted by PEK*EGGEM View Post
ONLY RICH PEOPLE RESURFACE THIER ROTORS. I JUST GO OUT AND BUY NEW ONES.. HA HA

thats faster also. it takes like 2 days to get the rotors back. but it cost like 25 here to resurface a rotor. and the rotors on my truck were 39.99 each. so ya, i bought new ones.
__________________
My name is Lauren <3 I'm 24.
Real Girls Fix Their Own Cars
My youtube -----> http://www.youtube.com/user/automotiveDIY
92lxsleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 08:57 PM   #15
40mpg_dx00
Junior Member
2000 Honda Civic
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: maryland
Posts: 158
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

Slotted rotors are harder to resurface. If the bits aren't even you'll get chatter marks. Uneven pressure can also cause the lathe to cut runout into the rotor. It isn't impossible but it is definitely tougher.
40mpg_dx00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:03 PM   #16
92lxsleeper
Honda-Tech Member
1992 Honda Civic
 
92lxsleeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lincoln, RI
Posts: 1,390
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

Quote:
Originally Posted by PEK*EGGEM View Post
ONLY RICH PEOPLE RESURFACE THIER ROTORS. I JUST GO OUT AND BUY NEW ONES.. HA HA

thats faster also. it takes like 2 days to get the rotors back. but it cost like 25 here to resurface a rotor. and the rotors on my truck were 39.99 each. so ya, i bought new ones.
__________________
My name is Lauren <3 I'm 24.
Real Girls Fix Their Own Cars
My youtube -----> http://www.youtube.com/user/automotiveDIY
92lxsleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 09:44 PM   #17
Arthas
Honda-Tech Member
2004 Honda S2000
My Garage
 
Arthas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pomona, CA
Posts: 6,498
iTrader Rating: (0)
IvenVargas
Send a message via AIM to Arthas
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

When you dont resurface them, you sometimes get noise and vibration from your brakes. Stop being cheap and resurface them.

Where do you guys get your rotors resurfaced and it takes 2 days??
Pep Boys does it in like 1 hour and they charged $12.99 a rotor. New ones are $19.99 for my DX, but I bought some Hawk HPS pads on clearance for $20 with a coupon to resurface each rotor for $5.99. I usually just get new ones since theyre so cheap though.


My right side my a raspy noise some times while driving, any input on that?
__________________
2003 Honda S2000 Sebring silver (RIP)
2004 Honda S2000 Nighthawk black pearl (Weekend Warrior)
2003 Hyundai Accent (Daily Driver)
Arthas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 10:29 PM   #18
boostB4beauty
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Honda Civic
 
boostB4beauty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kamloops, B.C. Canada
Posts: 184
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

get new..
resurfacing is for cheap old men.
__________________
Yes I drive a 4door EG.
Yes it's faster than your car...
boostB4beauty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 10:44 PM   #19
waaBAAH
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
waaBAAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Fairbanks, Alaska
Posts: 725
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to waaBAAH
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

Quote:
Originally Posted by 40mpg_dx00 View Post
Slotted rotors are harder to resurface. If the bits aren't even you'll get chatter marks. Uneven pressure can also cause the lathe to cut runout into the rotor. It isn't impossible but it is definitely tougher.
uneven pressure? do you understand how a lathe works? the bits are tightened down so there is no movement from that.

just because there is a gap or hole in the rotor doesnt mean you will have uneven pressure.

have you ever turned a rotor before? because sometimes the bits arent even (inside compared to outside bit) due to the hat of the rotor protruding. when teh bits finally move outward sometimes the outside surface is still cutting while the inside surface is not cutting. i have never seen any problems with chatter this way.
waaBAAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 10:47 PM   #20
mremmons
New User
Garage is empty, add now
 
mremmons's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: nor cal
Posts: 19
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

NO...just chamfer the pads and theres no issues...move on
mremmons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 06:05 AM   #21
boostB4beauty
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Honda Civic
 
boostB4beauty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kamloops, B.C. Canada
Posts: 184
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

Quote:
Originally Posted by mremmons View Post
NO...just chamfer the pads and theres no issues...move on
Not True ^^^

If you don't get new, then resurface at least.
There WILL be pulsation/squealing if you don't. Old pads wear specific grooves in the rotor, and buffing them, or buffing up the pad will only work for a little while. Trust me, I do a lot of Brake Jobs at work and you are wasting your time leaving the old rotors as they are.
__________________
Yes I drive a 4door EG.
Yes it's faster than your car...
boostB4beauty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 09:23 AM   #22
ShinotakuX
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
ShinotakuX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 327
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

I searched Kragen, and found raybestos rotors, are those good for oem replacement? if not what are some recommendation?
ShinotakuX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 09:44 AM   #23
Arthas
Honda-Tech Member
2004 Honda S2000
My Garage
 
Arthas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pomona, CA
Posts: 6,498
iTrader Rating: (0)
IvenVargas
Send a message via AIM to Arthas
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

DUDE!! IF YOU JUST WANT TO REPLACE YOUR STOCK ROTORS FOR DAILY DRIVING, GET THE CHEAPEST ONES AT KRAGEN, PEP BOYS, ETC. You dont need anything fancy, the cheapest ones ( as long as they arent cross drilled or slotted) work perfect.
__________________
2003 Honda S2000 Sebring silver (RIP)
2004 Honda S2000 Nighthawk black pearl (Weekend Warrior)
2003 Hyundai Accent (Daily Driver)
Arthas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2009, 11:01 AM   #24
EL Vap133
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
EL Vap133's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Posts: 26,478
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to EL Vap133
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

Resurfacing costs about $6 per rotor at the local shop. It all depends if you need it or not, too much resurfacing will end up with you having to buy new rotors when they can no longer be resurfaced.
EL Vap133 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 05:36 PM   #25
40mpg_dx00
Junior Member
2000 Honda Civic
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: maryland
Posts: 158
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: do you have to resurface/change rotors when changing brake pads??

Quote:
Originally Posted by waaBAAH View Post
uneven pressure? do you understand how a lathe works? the bits are tightened down so there is no movement from that.

just because there is a gap or hole in the rotor doesnt mean you will have uneven pressure.

have you ever turned a rotor before? because sometimes the bits arent even (inside compared to outside bit) due to the hat of the rotor protruding. when teh bits finally move outward sometimes the outside surface is still cutting while the inside surface is not cutting. i have never seen any problems with chatter this way.
Talk sh** if you want but I've seen it happen. When one bit is cutting and another isn't there is pressure on one side of the rotor. In the future if you want to disagree dont be a dick, especially if you're wrong. As I said, it isn't impossible, but you to have to take extra precautions. And how many slotted rotors have you cut?
40mpg_dx00 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2000, brake, brakes, brembo, change, changing, civic, del, honda, pad, pads, replace, resuface, resurface, rotor, rotors, sol

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:54 AM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details