Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Technical Forums > Hybrid/Engine swaps
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-16-2009, 10:59 PM   #1
dohcem1
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
dohcem1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 450
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default TPS sensor volt test

How exactly do you test for the volt on the tps? does the car has to be on ? i dont exactly get where on the sensor can you test for the volt? thanks.
dohcem1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 12:14 AM   #2
dohcem1
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
dohcem1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 450
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: TPS sensor volt test

please advise?
dohcem1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 01:05 PM   #3
chicows18
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Francisco, CA, USA
Posts: 210
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: TPS sensor volt test

i believe its the red wire that goes to the TPS. Car does not have to be on but ignition does. And I believe it should read as close to 0.5 v as possible. If its over, it bad.
chicows18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2009, 08:05 PM   #4
dohcem1
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
dohcem1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 450
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: TPS sensor volt test

Well yeh I know about the .5 v and stuff I just meant how do I physically test for it. SO i basically have to strip the red wire that goes to the TPS sensor and put a multimeter and read the voltage?
dohcem1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2009, 11:55 PM   #5
SINISTR
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
SINISTR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Perth WEST OZ, WA, Australia
Posts: 506
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: TPS sensor volt test

do you have a multimeter?
__________________

[GENONE] 1983 CRX Ballade Sports 1.5 SOHC Efi
[BANDIT] 1984 CRX Ballade Sports 1.6 DOHC Efi
[SINISTR] 1991 CRX Si 1.6 DOHC Efi
SINISTR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 01:25 PM   #6
dohcem1
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
dohcem1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 450
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: TPS sensor volt test

yes i do, I just don't know where I could physically test the volt...
dohcem1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 05:45 PM   #7
LA_HONDAS
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
LA_HONDAS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 854
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: TPS sensor volt test

stick it in the seals
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by Discosteak
want to expain why i sound like a dumbass? and not the guy who made a manifold out of a fence? what are you going to do for a downpipe? soupcans?
LA_HONDAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 10:02 PM   #8
dohcem1
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
dohcem1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 450
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: TPS sensor volt test

...seals? can you clarify that? Sorry for being such a newb but i really do not know. Thanks
dohcem1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2009, 11:42 PM   #9
NUISANCE
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
NUISANCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA, US
Posts: 1,274
iTrader Rating: (1)
Default Re: TPS sensor volt test

Here dude

http://www.clubintegra.com/board/showthread.php?t=21792
__________________
You have just read the ranting of a mad man.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chief Brody View Post
Roses are red, Violets are blue, You are retarded.
NUISANCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 07:55 AM   #10
dohcem1
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
dohcem1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 450
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: TPS sensor volt test

Wow PERFECT PERFECT thank you for the link. Exactly what I was looking for. One last question, the OP of that thread saids to set it at .5 volt (and so did chicows18 earlier post), but i thought I saw somewhere that saids set to .45 volts is best? well does it even make a difference? Just curious. Thanks
dohcem1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 03:31 AM   #11
NUISANCE
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
NUISANCE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA, US
Posts: 1,274
iTrader Rating: (1)
Default Re: TPS sensor volt test

I set it at .5, not sure if it makes a difference but seems to be what it is supposed to be at.
__________________
You have just read the ranting of a mad man.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chief Brody View Post
Roses are red, Violets are blue, You are retarded.
NUISANCE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 10:29 PM   #12
dohcem1
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
dohcem1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: CA, USA
Posts: 450
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: TPS sensor volt test

ok thanks
dohcem1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 01:11 PM   #13
SniperRCivic
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
SniperRCivic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: 732, dirty jersey
Posts: 111
iTrader Rating: (0)
civicfr / on BF3
Default Re: TPS sensor volt test

Quote:
Originally Posted by dohcem1 View Post
Wow PERFECT PERFECT thank you for the link. Exactly what I was looking for. One last question, the OP of that thread saids to set it at .5 volt (and so did chicows18 earlier post), but i thought I saw somewhere that saids set to .45 volts is best? well does it even make a difference? Just curious. Thanks

in my haynes book it says with the engine off and the throttle valve fully closed it should read 0.5 and with the throttle fully opened it should read 4.5
__________________
don't go by what others say or do, that's what sets us all apart "ME"
do you think you can run faster if you were nekked???
SniperRCivic is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
12, 90, accord, honda, location, position, prelude, sensor, source, test, testing, throttle, tps, volt, volts

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:26 AM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details