Notices
Honda Accord (1990 - 2002) Includes 1997 - 1999 Acura CL

2002 Accord 2.3 VTEC, low/rough idle problem w/ random misfire code

Search this Thread

Old 01-13-2009, 04:38 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 Accord 2.3 VTEC, low/rough idle problem w/ random misfire code

Hi,

This is my first time posting here. I've been here studying the posts many times however.. This is a great forum w/ great people. :)

My problem...

My car is a 2002 Honda Accord SE w/ a 2.3L VTEC engine (F23A1). The engine has around 130K miles. A problem has been developing over time, and has progressed now to the point where it really needs to be fixed.

The engine runs well except when idling. At idle, it idles too low (almost stalls at times), and runs rough. Recently, I scanned and found p0300 (random misfire) code as well as p030x for all 4 cyls. There is also a p1399, which I understand (I think) is a pending code for random misfire. That's what I've read anyway.

Driving seems normal at higher RPMs. I can't say that there is no misfire at all above idle, because it seems to run slightly rough at lower RPMs (hard to tell), but at normal driving speeds the engine runs well, has power, smooth, no noticible problem.

There is also a p0420 (cat system efficiency) code, but it's been that way for some time (an in the back of my mind, know that I need to fix thing before next inspect). At the moment I don't think that could affect idle/misfire, but I'm open to suggestions. There's also a p1457 (evap leak), and that's been there a while too. Again, didn't think it was related, but not sure.

Finally, because of the random misfire issue, the CEL blinks after it idles, indicating cat damaging operation (not that my cat is good, but anyway... :)

What I've done...