Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Model-Specific Technical Forums > Honda Civic (2006 - Current)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-03-2008, 06:26 AM   #1
xkrntamax
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
xkrntamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 533
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to xkrntamax
Default TPMS light is on.

TPMS light is on. now it is off.

I checked the pressure of the tire, and all the tire has 29.5psi and another one has 30psi.
Sometime TPMS light comes on and off.

What pressure to show the TPMS light on?
How much psi do I need to have on my stock tire?
__________________
05 Honda Accord EX 2DR 2.4
[Fujita Intake, Greddy Evo2 cat-back]

08 Honda Civic Si FA5

[07 Nissan Altima 2.5S SOLD!
[98 Acura Integra GS 2dr SOLD!
xkrntamax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 06:31 AM   #2
SIVIC 3
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
SIVIC 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SC/GA Border
Posts: 1,687
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default

look in you door jamb. drivers door. your psi sounds dead on though....
__________________
07 NHBP FA5 - current
05 CBR 600RR - current
FA SQUAD MEMBER #129
SIVIC 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 07:37 AM   #3
Zeusone
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Zeusone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mexico, CA, spain
Posts: 732
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (SIVIC 3)

was that cold or warm psi?
Zeusone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 08:00 AM   #4
SIVIC 3
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
SIVIC 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SC/GA Border
Posts: 1,687
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default

drive over to a air pump at put all 4 up to 36 psi. then drive for about 100 yards til the light goes off. if not there may be a problem with the tpms.
__________________
07 NHBP FA5 - current
05 CBR 600RR - current
FA SQUAD MEMBER #129
SIVIC 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 08:09 AM   #5
2008fijibluesi
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
2008fijibluesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Jersey
Posts: 2,740
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: TPMS light is on. (xkrntamax)

Quote:
Originally Posted by xkrntamax
TPMS light is on. now it is off.


How much psi do I need to have on my stock tire?
Honda recommends a PSI of 32 psi on the Si (at least the FG2) for normal driving. They suggest if you are going to drive the car aggresively to bump the tires up to 35 psi.
__________________
FG SQUAD #2
2008fijibluesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 08:25 AM   #6
SIVIC 3
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
SIVIC 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SC/GA Border
Posts: 1,687
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default

which is why i said 36. you add 4 psi to warm tires.
__________________
07 NHBP FA5 - current
05 CBR 600RR - current
FA SQUAD MEMBER #129
SIVIC 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 09:32 AM   #7
2008fijibluesi
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
2008fijibluesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Jersey
Posts: 2,740
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (SIVIC 3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SIVIC 3
which is why i said 36. you add 4 psi to warm tires.
I know. I wasn't saying you were wrong. I was just clarifying for the OP (who asked for the recommended psi) who might not understand the psi is going to be different between cold and warm tires; the reason the manual says to adjust the tires to 32 psi while they are cold. Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
FG SQUAD #2
2008fijibluesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 09:47 AM   #8
Stlblues13
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Stlblues13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 37
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (SIVIC 3)

I am betting you have a TPMS sensor that is going bad. The intermittent sounds like a bad or failing connection.
Stlblues13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 02:54 PM   #9
kine462
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
kine462's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Youngstown, OHIO, USA
Posts: 145
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to kine462
Default Re: (Stlblues13)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stlblues13
I am betting you have a TPMS sensor that is going bad. The intermittent sounds like a bad or failing connection.
that sounds to me like you have no idea what information you are basing that off.
If you had a faulty sensor on your dashboard the letters TPMS would light up green, if the symbol that is on your dashboard if a tire tread with an ! through it lit up yellow that is the warning light to tell you pressures are low. The intermittent is based off the pressures fluctuating when warming up and cooling down as driving.
At the dealer I work at I see on average 10-15 people a day that have know idea what this light on there dashboard means or how to make it go off.

Bottom line is put your pressures to 35-36 psi and the light will stay off untill they drop somewhere under 30psi(honda claims 23 psi) and drive it like 50 feet and the light will go off. You would be sick to your stomach if you had any idea how many people are incapable of adding/checking the air pressures in their own tires.
__________________
n/a hondas suck.
except for k series. those don't suck.
12.8@111mph stock b16a;gt28@15psi ;street tires;full interior'd ek coupe.
kine462 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 03:18 PM   #10
Power of Dreams
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Power of Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: La Porte, Texas, USA
Posts: 82
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (kine462)

Big difference between the "TPMS" light and the "low tire pressure" light.

Cold PSI for Si's is 33 psi. At least on mine it is (08) and I doubt it changed from 06 to 09.

The TPMS sensors wake up at about 28 mph according to the Honda Service Bulletin article 06-072 concerning TPMS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Service Bulletin 06-072
The TPMS sensors have a built-in acceleration sensor that turns on the TPMS sensors when the vehicle speed reaches about 28 mph.
Power of Dreams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 07:31 PM   #11
i-VTEC_DOHC
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
i-VTEC_DOHC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: killafornia
Posts: 5,774
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default

25psi is when the light comes on.
well at least thats what it is on my car
__________________
FG SQUAD #1 / NOTHING ON MY CAR IS FOR SALE UNTIL MAY 16TH!!!!!
i-VTEC_DOHC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 06:42 AM   #12
SIVIC 3
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
SIVIC 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SC/GA Border
Posts: 1,687
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (Power of Dreams)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Power of Dreams
Big difference between the "TPMS" light and the "low tire pressure" light.
im getting a little sick of your misinformation on here. there is only the tpms light. i have yet to see a vehicle come in with a light that actually says "low tire pressure". now, if your talking about the screen in the middle of the cluster on some odysseys, pilots, acuras, etc.... it may say low tire pressure. but there is no low tire pressure "light" as there is abs, tpms, mil, etc....

im going to leave it at that.
__________________
07 NHBP FA5 - current
05 CBR 600RR - current
FA SQUAD MEMBER #129
SIVIC 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 10:49 AM   #13
pr3d
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,069
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (SIVIC 3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SIVIC 3

im getting a little sick of your misinformation on here. there is only the tpms light. i have yet to see a vehicle come in with a light that actually says "low tire pressure". now, if your talking about the screen in the middle of the cluster on some odysseys, pilots, acuras, etc.... it may say low tire pressure. but there is no low tire pressure "light" as there is abs, tpms, mil, etc....

im going to leave it at that.
what?...I think I might be getting sick of YOUR nonsense here. You need to stop posting without citations.

Starting in 2008 ALL hondas were equipped with the TPMS
There are TWO (2) DIFFERENT lights in your gauge cluster pertaining your Tire pressure.

1.) TPMS- Is the light which light which corresponds to the Tire Pressure Monitoring System SENSORS which are attached to the wheels and communicate with the system.

IF this light is on in your gauge cluster your TPMS sensor HAS to be reset by the dealership.

2.) LOW Tire pressure Light--- Which informs the driver when the sensor detects a lack of air pressure or the pressure has dropped below the stated levels. IF this light is on, simply correct the tire pressure to the proper inflated level and the light goes off shortly.

pr3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 02:42 PM   #14
SIVIC 3
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
SIVIC 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SC/GA Border
Posts: 1,687
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default

i get cars in all the time that have the "tpms" light on and all it needs is the tire pressure adjusted. whether the tire is punctured or its just low. i havent seen a light on that reads "low tire pressure"

i sure hope im not missing something here or i may need to go hit up the In. and check what the hell Im confusing this with......
__________________
07 NHBP FA5 - current
05 CBR 600RR - current
FA SQUAD MEMBER #129
SIVIC 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 02:51 PM   #15
SIVIC 3
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
SIVIC 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SC/GA Border
Posts: 1,687
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default

sorry guys. i confused the tpms light with the light of the tire with the ! in the middle of it. i thought that was the tpms light. i guess i was confused thinking there was a light that read "low tire pressure". there is actually both lights as power of dreams hinted at above. so, op this leads me to believe (if you have the actual "tpms" light lit on the dash) you will have to take it to the dealer so they can use a scan tool and figure out exactly which sensor is causing the error code and fix it for you. thread back on topic/
__________________
07 NHBP FA5 - current
05 CBR 600RR - current
FA SQUAD MEMBER #129
SIVIC 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2008, 03:45 PM   #16
2008fijibluesi
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
2008fijibluesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Jersey
Posts: 2,740
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (Power of Dreams)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Power of Dreams
Cold PSI for Si's is 33 psi. At least on mine it is (08) and I doubt it changed from 06 to 09.

I think it is different between FA5 and FG2. My FG2's door jamb definitely says "cold tire psi-32" (went outside to check and make sure I'm not crazy). Also, searched on google really quick and saw that FA5 people list their cold psi as 33. So I think it varies 1 psi, maybe to accomodate for the extra 60 lbs.
__________________
FG SQUAD #2
2008fijibluesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 05:42 PM   #17
pr3d
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,069
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (SIVIC 3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by SIVIC 3
sorry guys. i confused the tpms light with the light of the tire with the ! in the middle of it. i thought that was the tpms light. i guess i was confused thinking there was a light that read "low tire pressure". there is actually both lights as power of dreams hinted at above. so, op this leads me to believe (if you have the actual "tpms" light lit on the dash) you will have to take it to the dealer so they can use a scan tool and figure out exactly which sensor is causing the error code and fix it for you. thread back on topic/
I already stated what needed to be said...the distinction and the definition of both the lights pertaining TPMS.

Admitting fault is all we needed to hear from you.. Click the image to open in full size.
pr3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 05:48 PM   #18
2008fijibluesi
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
2008fijibluesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Jersey
Posts: 2,740
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (pr3d)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pr3d

I already stated what needed to be said...the distinction and the definition of both the lights pertaining TPMS.

Admitting fault is all we needed to hear from you.. Click the image to open in full size.
He didn't admit fault...he admitted he was incorrect.
__________________
FG SQUAD #2
2008fijibluesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2008, 06:00 PM   #19
pr3d
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,069
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (2008fijibluesi)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2008fijibluesi

He didn't admit fault...he admitted he was incorrect.
Wow...just read what you just said...and TRY to make some sense of that sentence.

Here I'll do it for you...

SYNONYM's of the word "INCORRECT" are listed below:

faulty, flawed, imprecise, improper, inaccurate, inappropriate etc...

heres a link in case you try to disprove me http://thesaurus.reference.com/browse/incorrect
pr3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 04:49 AM   #20
2008fijibluesi
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
2008fijibluesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Jersey
Posts: 2,740
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (pr3d)

You know what I mean. Is saying he was wrong better for you? Being at fault would imply that he caused something to happen, like the OP went out and stuck a screwdriver in his ECU because of what SIVIC said. Admitting he was wrong (or incorrect), is just that. And it should have been left at that. Be a man, and accept the fact that he admitted his mistake, and apologized. Rather than say something like "It's cool, I understand" you were a d-bag about it.
__________________
FG SQUAD #2
2008fijibluesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 05:32 AM   #21
pr3d
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,069
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (2008fijibluesi)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2008fijibluesi
You know what I mean. Is saying he was wrong better for you? Being at fault would imply that he caused something to happen, like the OP went out and stuck a screwdriver in his ECU because of what SIVIC said. Admitting he was wrong (or incorrect), is just that. And it should have been left at that. Be a man, and accept the fact that he admitted his mistake, and apologized. Rather than say something like "It's cool, I understand" you were a d-bag about it.
this is getting derailed as well. The point was proven...SIVIC 3 was proven wrong. And then you had to make a bigger idiot out of yourself for trying to save him.

Bottom Line:

Quote:
Originally Posted by SIVIC 3

im getting a little sick of your misinformation on here. ther.......tire pressure "light" as there is abs, tpms, mil, etc.... going to leave it at that.
When you boldly say stuff like that you're asking to man-handled. He didn't even research and aggressively shot down VALUABLE, ACCURATE information. Aggressively kicked back in his place with worthless information is what he needed.

People like "SIVIC 3" ruin good boards and good threads by being total noobs and idiots. People like him shouldn't be posting here..AT ALL..and I, like a lot other will try our best to prevent that..
pr3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 05:59 AM   #22
SIVIC 3
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
SIVIC 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SC/GA Border
Posts: 1,687
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default

lol @ pr3d. people like me ruin honda-tech? i AM a [freak]in honda tech. i admitted i was mistaken and you are taking it to a whole nutha level. where the hell did you come into this thread anyway? i was spewing at power of dreams. you his e-bodyguard? drop it and move on.....
__________________
07 NHBP FA5 - current
05 CBR 600RR - current
FA SQUAD MEMBER #129
SIVIC 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 06:21 AM   #23
2008fijibluesi
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
2008fijibluesi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Jersey
Posts: 2,740
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (pr3d)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pr3d

this is getting derailed as well. The point was proven...SIVIC 3 was proven wrong. And then you had to make a bigger idiot out of yourself for trying to save him.

Bottom Line:

When you boldly say stuff like that you're asking to man-handled. He didn't even research and aggressively shot down VALUABLE, ACCURATE information. Aggressively kicked back in his place with worthless information is what he needed.

People like "SIVIC 3" ruin good boards and good threads by being total noobs and idiots. People like him shouldn't be posting here..AT ALL..and I, like a lot other will try our best to prevent that..
Man, I understand where you're coming from on one level. He was wrong, and you were trying to provide the correct information, which you did. When you did, he said he was sorry, and that he was wrong. I just think you could have handled it better, from there on out.
__________________
FG SQUAD #2
2008fijibluesi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 07:11 AM   #24
FijiBlueFG2
You mad bro?
2008 Honda Civic
 
FijiBlueFG2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Home of Champions. The Boston Massachusetts.
Posts: 1,811
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (2008fijibluesi)

Riding around at 25ps... Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
72 virgins can never stop a war, but 100,000 hookers can beat the Marine Corps.
FijiBlueFG2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 02:46 PM   #25
Power of Dreams
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Power of Dreams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: La Porte, Texas, USA
Posts: 82
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (2008fijibluesi)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2008fijibluesi

I think it is different between FA5 and FG2. My FG2's door jamb definitely says "cold tire psi-32" (went outside to check and make sure I'm not crazy). Also, searched on google really quick and saw that FA5 people list their cold psi as 33. So I think it varies 1 psi, maybe to accomodate for the extra 60 lbs.
Good lookin' out Fiji. Click the image to open in full size. That makes sense.
Power of Dreams is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
08, acura, check, civic, error, honda, light, mil, pressure, psi, reset, sensor, si, tire, tl, tpms, tsx

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:57 PM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details