Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Model-Specific Technical Forums > Honda Accord (1990 - 2002)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-30-2008, 12:44 PM   #1
dansaleen_04
Honda-Tech Member
2005 Honda CBR600RR
My Garage
 
dansaleen_04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: port richey, FL, usa
Posts: 227
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default rpm is too low!!!!

i have a 95 honda accord lx with an ex engine swap with the ecu. my rpm is maxing out at about 5200rpm. but redline isnt supposed to happen till about 6200 6500. i need help trying to figure out what the problem is. timing is on point but acceleration is lacking because of the rpm limit. its like the rev limiter was moved down to 5200. can someone please help me out with this. the car has to be on the road by next week for a road trip and its my only means of transportation. please help me out guys.
__________________
life is a blur to me till i get behind a wheel!!!!
dansaleen_04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 01:31 PM   #2
mavvrik
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
mavvrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: westminster, co, jefferson
Posts: 309
iTrader Rating: (0)
Zachary Grimm
Default

You have a faulty ECU.
Either that or you happened to get a bad Tranny. It's one or the other. I would go for the ECU myself.

Is it a manual or an auto?
__________________
I dont abuse my car i DRIVE my car. If it breaks it doesnt mean i was driving to aggressive....it means i didnt build it strong enough
mavvrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 01:53 PM   #3
dansaleen_04
Honda-Tech Member
2005 Honda CBR600RR
My Garage
 
dansaleen_04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: port richey, FL, usa
Posts: 227
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (mavvrik)

its a manual. im not sure if this couldve caused it but i kept the lx tranny because it was in better shape than the ex's . could that be the problem?
__________________
life is a blur to me till i get behind a wheel!!!!
dansaleen_04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 03:00 PM   #4
bseriescrxsi
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Dodge Neon
My Garage
 
bseriescrxsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: somewhere in, NJ, USA
Posts: 703
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to bseriescrxsi
Default Re: (dansaleen_04)

ex's are vtec....is the vtec system hooked up if not then theres your problem or you have a vtec malfunction
__________________
selling a bunch of parts for 90-93 accords and 96 accords in the FS thread...check it out
bseriescrxsi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 04:36 PM   #5
dansaleen_04
Honda-Tech Member
2005 Honda CBR600RR
My Garage
 
dansaleen_04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: port richey, FL, usa
Posts: 227
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (bseriescrxsi)

yes its hooked up. but let me ask you this. even if the vtec were damaged, would that cause the rpms to max out at 5200? if the vtec were damaged wouldnt that just not engage the vtec at its proper rpm reading? im just asking. but yes the vtec is connected completely.
__________________
life is a blur to me till i get behind a wheel!!!!
dansaleen_04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 04:38 PM   #6
TheMuffinMan
He knows where you live!
Garage is empty, add now
 
TheMuffinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,270
iTrader Rating: (1)
Default

Bad ECU would be my guess
__________________
2004 NFR S2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by slomofo
I think TheMuffinMan is Chuck Norris. Seriously, you can't find the TheMuffinMan,TheMuffinMan finds you.
TheMuffinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2008, 07:29 PM   #7
mavvrik
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
mavvrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: westminster, co, jefferson
Posts: 309
iTrader Rating: (0)
Zachary Grimm
Default

To answer your first question--no--your V-tec would just not work at all. Your redline would not be affected in any way shape or form unless your running S300 and you start messing with your colaberations. In that case, tunig your V-tec, 2-Step, and/or anti-lag incorectlly can cause it to hit redline early.

On another note, I'm going to have to stick with my first idea and still say ECU


Modified by mavvrik at 8:35 PM 7/30/2008
__________________
I dont abuse my car i DRIVE my car. If it breaks it doesnt mean i was driving to aggressive....it means i didnt build it strong enough
mavvrik is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
accord, auto, ecu, honda, hondas, low, revs, rpm, rpms

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:27 PM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details