Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Model-Specific Technical Forums > Honda Prelude
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-08-2008, 09:23 AM   #1
meanshyguy
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
meanshyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: El Paso
Posts: 548
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to meanshyguy Send a message via AIM to meanshyguy
Default Recharge freon

I just need instructions on how to recharge my own A/C. I have the bottle that comes with the hose already.
meanshyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 10:31 AM   #2
mattsnooz
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
mattsnooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: k town, ontario, canada
Posts: 1,956
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Recharge freon (meanshyguy)

make sure you don't overpressurize your system. You'll get more leaks than you started with.

All you do is hook it up on the low pressure side. It has a green cap on it. Make sure your introducing the right refridgerant. If your system has been modified to take in the more modern refridgerant your good. If not you need to modify it or find a way to get a hold of the older refridgerant.
Than you turn your ac system on, open the valve, and it will draw the fluid in from the canister. When its empty. Turn off your ac. Turn off your car. Shut valve off, than open the connector off your ac system. Recap your system with green cap. DO NOT INHAIL ANY OF THAT SHIET. its has a high potential to cause cancer as do all refridgerants.

You should be getting a proffessional to do this. Be safe. Make sure you know how much fluid your introducing aswell. You need to know the volume of your system and how much your adding to avoid over filling and causing catostrophic failures. If you can just fill it a little at a time and watch your fluid through the site glass. If you have enough fluid flowing and the ac is pretty cold than stop there. Fill it up as you need it.
__________________
h23, the stroke is long, and strong, and she wants to get the friction on.
http://www.comfortcurtains.totalwarehouse.com
mattsnooz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 11:05 AM   #3
prelude_93vtec
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
prelude_93vtec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Burbz, of Illinois, Iran
Posts: 1,177
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to prelude_93vtec
Default Re: Recharge freon (meanshyguy)

If you don't have a lot of a/c knowledge, I would recommend going somewhere to do it for you
__________________
I/H/E untuned VAFC 151WHP@2900lbs runnin' 15 flat's!!!
RIP Danny Cotini "prid388"
RIP Michael Scalzo "Bulldog"
prelude_93vtec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 02:00 PM   #4
meanshyguy
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
meanshyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: El Paso
Posts: 548
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to meanshyguy Send a message via AIM to meanshyguy
Default Re: Recharge freon (prelude_93vtec)

Just did it today on my mom's x-terra, pretty easy, they got this freon cans where you just push it as if it was a spray can, then let the freon be drawn. I didn't know that stuff could cause cancer, anyways, thanks a lot. by the way, I just noticed the condenser motor won't turn, checked relays and stuff, everything's good, including fuses, how do you test that motor directrly from a power source?
meanshyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 02:57 PM   #5
94vtecmn
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Lakeville, MN, USA
Posts: 742
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Recharge freon (meanshyguy)

Done it on a number of cars. Start the car, get the A/C going, connect the line, then the can, and hold upside down while opening valve. Have someone inside the car, in case it gets cold quickly, so you don't over fill it. You'll notice the compressor shutting off and on less and less as the correct amount of freon is reached.

Not sure what to do about your electical issue, other than test the current in the lines while on with an ohm meter.
__________________
94 VTEC All Motor - RIP
03 V6-6spd HFP Coupe
94vtecmn is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2000, 2006, 92, ac, accord, acura, cap, car, civic, fit, freon, green, hold, honda, recharge, tsx

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:53 PM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details