Notices
Hybrid / Engine Swaps Discussions about non-stock engine swaps into Honda cars. This is not a forum for hybrid gas/electric cars.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

H22 90-93 Integra swap - small write up.

Search this Thread

Old 01-09-2008, 06:49 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default H22 90-93 Integra swap - small write up.

This is cross-posted to g2ic.com as well.

I was asked to do a small write up on my H22 swap into my 90 Integra. I am going to put a cost factor, issues I ran in to, etc.

This write up will assume the reader has a certain slightly beyond basic mechanic understanding of their car.

If you don’t know how to remove an engine or are afraid to cut holes in your car, you should not be doing this swap.

I assume no responsibility for anything you do. I put this together for information. I am no swap expert; I just do this for my hobby. I’m also a crappy speller and English grammar owns me.

My parts list:

H22 swap w/transmission (28k documented miles) from 96 Accord SiR - $2100
95 Prelude shifter w/ cables $100
88-89 Integra axles, passenger custom w/ Prelude inner CV $200
92 Accord midshaft $50
Ebay header $90
OEM replacement clutch $130
Explicit Speed Performance mount/shifter kit $500
R/R pieces for maint / H23 tensioner conversion $200
Misc stuff you don’t think about until you need it $????

Things I had on hand:

90 Accord fuel rail, lots of black electrical tape, Boomslang OBD-1 conversion harness.

How:
I dropped the old B18 out the bottom of the car in one big lump – engine, tranny, shifter linkages, etc. Best thing to do: remove the bumper, attach an engine hoist to the bumper mounts on the car, and lift the front end up. Put a rollable something under the car for the engine to sit on – bottom of a shopping cart, a skateboard, you get the idea.

I replace the clutch, waterpump, and timing stuff outside the car. I also removed the powersteering and A/C pumps and brackets at this time as well.