Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Technical Forums > Forced Induction
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-16-2007, 12:03 PM   #1
TurboEM1
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island
Posts: 2,070
iTrader Rating: (1)
Default p06 vs. p28

Whats the difference between a p06 and a p28? I brought my car to get tuned with hondata s300 and gave them a p28. I checked my car and theres a p06 in there. Whats up with that?
TurboEM1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 12:22 PM   #2
FaceTuned
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
FaceTuned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 597
iTrader Rating: (3)
Default

there both the same it doesnt matter which code your only concern should be the rom thats all that matters.
__________________
EFI Tuning - Tony 253-238-0700 eCtune , hondata , AEM
WELDING & FABRICATION! Turbo manifolds etc...
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Facet...18887741462367
FaceTuned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 12:33 PM   #3
nowtype
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
nowtype's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,153
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (FaceTuned)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FaceTuned
there both the same it doesnt matter which code your only concern should be the rom thats all that matters.
So wrong.

P06=non-vtec
P28=vtec

You can convert a P06 ECU to run just like a P28 ECU though. If it's not converted, it won't activate the vtec solenoid though. If you bought the ECU from a legit source, then you can basically assume its just a converted ECU and not care. If you are a bit concerned go on http://www.xenocron.com and look up how to do the vtec conversion. Check to make sure the conversion was done on your ECU. Pretty simple.
__________________
http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthdown.gif John Vega of Phearable.net
nowtype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 12:45 PM   #4
rmcdaniels
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
rmcdaniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 4,669
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: p06 vs. p28 (TurboEM1)

P06 is non-VTEC, P28 is factory VTEC. P06's can be converted to P28's by adding about 8 components (2 transistors, a capacitor, and some diodes, less than $20 worth of parts).

I'd still talk to them about it, P06's are worth about $50, while P28's are worth about $100.

That said, I've converted more than one P05 or P06 to P28's for myself and others, and they worked fine, but I think it's unethical to sell a converted P06 as a P28 or to substitute a less valuable part for a more valuable part without telling a customer.

__________________
Every ship is a minesweeper, once.

rmcdaniels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 01:00 PM   #5
Sprockets
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Sprockets's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,660
iTrader Rating: (1)
Default Re: p06 vs. p28 (rmcdaniels)

Years ago, I paid Payn $250 for a Hondata P28, and received a converted P06. They contacted Hondata, and were told that this was done because of a shortage of P28s. Although it has worked fine, I still feel they should charge less, or be up front with customers. To me it's like paying for an Integra GSR, and getting a GS with a B18C swap.
Sprockets is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 01:06 PM   #6
rmcdaniels
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
rmcdaniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 4,669
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: p06 vs. p28 (Sprockets)

Exactly, they are functionally the same, but one is not worth as much because people will pay more for OEM. I see it a lot on ebay, people advertise converted P06's as P28's because they know that people will not bid as much for a converted P06 as they will for a factory P28. I say just be straight with people , take a hit for a few $, and have happy customers.
__________________
Every ship is a minesweeper, once.

rmcdaniels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 04:27 PM   #7
HiProfile
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
HiProfile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: b00sting my D16s, SoWis, USA
Posts: 6,936
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: p06 vs. p28 (TurboEM1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboEM1
Whats the difference between a p06 and a p28? I brought my car to get tuned with hondata s300 and gave them a p28. I checked my car and theres a p06 in there. Whats up with that?
That is called getting fucked over. They took an ecu you buy on ebay for $45, added $15 in parts, and swapped it for your ecu that goes for $120 on ebay. They owe you the respective ecu, or $70. They cost the same from the dealer, but chances are if you raise hell, they'll cave in to keep their rep from tarnishing. Despite working the same, a business should not be pulling this crap - they are making an UNFAIR buck at your expense.

VERY shady practice though. You wouldn't pay for a V6-powered car, only to get a 4-cyl with a small turbo to that gives the same output, would you? Who knows, that p06 could be on its last leg, and if it takes a crap next month, YOU own it.
__________________
94 Del Sol (F2B F22), 95 Civic EX (turbo D16Z6), 94 Integra LS (H2B H23A)
try www.InjectorNation.com for 400cc-1000cc injectors
HiProfile is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 04:53 PM   #8
boostedcivicsir
Mr. Badwrench
1993 Honda Civic
 
boostedcivicsir's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: stranger in a strange land
Posts: 14,143
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to boostedcivicsir
Default Re: p06 vs. p28 (rmcdaniels)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FaceTuned
there both the same it doesnt matter which code your only concern should be the rom thats all that matters.
wha?

Quote:
Originally Posted by nowtype

So wrong.

P06=non-vtec
P28=vtec

You can convert a P06 ECU to run just like a P28 ECU though. If it's not converted, it won't activate the vtec solenoid though. If you bought the ECU from a legit source, then you can basically assume its just a converted ECU and not care. If you are a bit concerned go on http://www.xenocron.com and look up how to do the vtec conversion. Check to make sure the conversion was done on your ECU. Pretty simple.
yeah really

Quote:
Originally Posted by rmcdaniels
P06 is non-VTEC, P28 is factory VTEC. P06's can be converted to P28's by adding about 8 components (2 transistors, a capacitor, and some diodes, less than $20 worth of parts).

I'd still talk to them about it, P06's are worth about $50, while P28's are worth about $100.

That said, I've converted more than one P05 or P06 to P28's for myself and others, and they worked fine, but I think it's unethical to sell a converted P06 as a P28 or to substitute a less valuable part for a more valuable part without telling a customer.
the s300 can be configured to run a p06 with vtec cross over. you use one of the outputs relayed to fire the solenoid, and the map switches over in the cal now.

but yeah you didnt get what you paid for. thats beat.
__________________
im back!!!!!
boostedcivicsir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 05:01 PM   #9
rmcdaniels
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
rmcdaniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 4,669
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: p06 vs. p28 (boostedcivicsir)

Yeah, I haven't chipped one for S300 yet, last Hondata ECU I did was for a S200, which needs the VTEC output.
__________________
Every ship is a minesweeper, once.

rmcdaniels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 06:14 PM   #10
stealthmode62
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Farmington, MN, USA
Posts: 4,144
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: p06 vs. p28 (rmcdaniels)

I understand the opinion of shady business practices, but really they are the same thing, with stickers that differ. The added value of the sticker being a P28 is all in the head of the consumer. Kinda how GMC and Chevy sell the same truck with different badges. Yeah, maybe they should have mentioned it.
stealthmode62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 08:04 PM   #11
rmcdaniels
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
rmcdaniels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 4,669
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: p06 vs. p28 (stealthmode62)

Quote:
Originally Posted by stealthmode62
The added value of the sticker being a P28 is all in the head of the consumer.
Exactly, people pay more for P28's than they do for converted P06's, so P28's are more valuable.


And they aren't the same, who knows what soldering dumbass converted a P06, I've seen some pretty fucked up soldering jobs out there.
__________________
Every ship is a minesweeper, once.

rmcdaniels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 11:26 PM   #12
JaredKaragen
Honda-Tech Member
1974 Honda Civic
My Garage
 
JaredKaragen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gilroy, Ca, USA
Posts: 599
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to JaredKaragen Send a message via AIM to JaredKaragen
Default

OMG... people always think an old P06 is useless on a VTEC setup.

A P06 with a _few_ I stress a minimal amount of components: is the same damned thing as a P28.

I take P06's as trade-ins all the time from people that want chipped ECU's. I show them a P06 that can run a GSR's IAB; properly modded.

As for the soldering: Yeah, I get more botched ECU's that I get working just by re-soldering them, and possibly fixing a messed up pad. I turn a $25 investment into $100. Others I just salvage components.

Anyways, Either will do nicely if it is done by someone who has expireance.
JaredKaragen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 06:59 AM   #13
morgan@synapse motorsport
H-T Basic Sponsor
Garage is empty, add now
 
morgan@synapse motorsport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: upstate, ny
Posts: 2,278
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to morgan@synapse motorsport
Default

i guess it depends on how the deal went down. we get customers all the time that want on the spot trades for chipped ecu's. your gonna get whatevers on top of the stack, which is usually the jdm ecus because they are smaller lol.

honestly if you want the value of the p28, sell it, and buy a p06 to get chipped and converted, and buy yourself a 6 pack with the profit.
morgan@synapse motorsport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2007, 08:18 AM   #14
FaceTuned
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
FaceTuned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 597
iTrader Rating: (3)
Default Re: (JaredKaragen)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JaredKaragen
OMG... people always think an old P06 is useless on a VTEC setup.

A P06 with a _few_ I stress a minimal amount of components: is the same damned thing as a P28.

I take P06's as trade-ins all the time from people that want chipped ECU's. I show them a P06 that can run a GSR's IAB; properly modded.

As for the soldering: Yeah, I get more botched ECU's that I get working just by re-soldering them, and possibly fixing a messed up pad. I turn a $25 investment into $100. Others I just salvage components.

Anyways, Either will do nicely if it is done by someone who has expireance.

Click the image to open in full size.

__________________
EFI Tuning - Tony 253-238-0700 eCtune , hondata , AEM
WELDING & FABRICATION! Turbo manifolds etc...
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Facet...18887741462367
FaceTuned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 02:47 AM   #15
TurboEM1
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long Island
Posts: 2,070
iTrader Rating: (1)
Default Re: (FaceTuned)

I contacted them and this is the response I got:

"The reason that was done was do to the fact that your ecu was set up for an s100/ s200 type hondata and that would have been alot more work to desolder that those chips and socketsd to make way for the s300. I converted the po6 to a p28, as there is no difference after the conversion. I did this to save me time and you money in the end as it would have been an extra charge of an hours labor to desolder the ecu. I ment to tell you about that, i am sorry i didnt notify you. Like i stated before i did that to save both of us in the long run and after the conversion the ecu's are exactly the same thing."
TurboEM1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 02:53 AM   #16
Chris Tune
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Chris Tune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,067
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (TurboEM1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboEM1
I contacted them and this is the response I got:

"I did this to save me time and you money in the end as it would have been an extra charge of an hours labor to desolder the ecu. "
desoldering a dip 28 pin socket out an ecu... those guys never worked with some jdm p30's or with obd0 ecus? wow... desoldering! the end all be all on ecu's Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
240+ whp all motor or 450+ whp turbo... and thats just for starters.
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonF’s Agent
First off, youre talking to my guy all wrong. and if you do it again, im going to stab you in the face with a soldering iron.
Chris Tune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 03:12 AM   #17
Topdawgg
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Topdawgg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Halifax, NS Canada
Posts: 2,775
iTrader Rating: (0)
Ryan Benedict @Benedict324 benedict_07
Default

its not a big deal, if its chipped properly, its the same...

but if he told you it WAS a p28, and its not, then you can be pissed
__________________
Ryan Benedict
Just another Canadian trying to go fast
10.96 @ 135mph
Topdawgg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 09:19 AM   #18
BlackCRX
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
BlackCRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 653
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default

p06 when converted are just as good as a p28
as stated before i have converted auto p06 ecu's to vtec iab ecu's

i never sell "p28/p72" ecu's
i always sell them as "vtec or iab"ecu's
i am very clear with how i word this

as for shitty *** solder, yes i have seen alot of ppl that think that can chip ecu's end up killing it, or having random problems down the road
in turn they trade thier ecu to me for one of mine

difference is all my ecu's are warranty for life as long as the problems are not caused by the user

if any of my ecu's have a problem i will either give them thier money back or give them a new one
i also test all my ecu's before selling them

so far i would like to think my record is pretty good since i only had one return... odd thing is i put that ecu in my car for 2 weeks and never had any problems

__________________
stock D16Y8 + 15psi = 235whp
13.3@109mph - 15psi. granny shifting to save an already dying tranny
BlackCRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2007, 04:35 PM   #19
JaredKaragen
Honda-Tech Member
1974 Honda Civic
My Garage
 
JaredKaragen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gilroy, Ca, USA
Posts: 599
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to JaredKaragen Send a message via AIM to JaredKaragen
Default Re: (BlackCRX)

Seriously put.

Sounds like an echo.

Alot of the time, I will convert a P06 and put it in a P28 case (I have a grip of P28 cases that I had to salvage the ecu's components) so I will drop the P06 in the P28 ECU case, then tell them 3 months later Click the image to open in full size. They always flip out saying "How does my VTEC work then?"

haha.

Misconceptions are awesome: I buy a brand-new ECU from pick 'n' pull for $40 (or $20 on 1/2 off day) and if it's a P28, I turn around and sell it as a virgin P28 for $140, and the chipped P06's I sell for $100+trade-in...

Either way: I get my $$$, but selling the virgin ECU saves me some $$$, a 5151S, and most importantly: time.
JaredKaragen is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
buying, chip, chipping, components, conversion, convert, difference, differences, ecu, messing, p06, p28, p72, po6, vtec, whats

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:04 PM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details