Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Model-Specific Technical Forums > Acura Integra
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-05-2007, 04:23 PM   #1
jdmturboitr
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jdmturboitr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Corpus Christi TX, USA
Posts: 456
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to jdmturboitr
Default H.I.D. fuse keeps blowing???????

I have a set of Xenon(I think) hid's and the damn fuse keeps blowing bout every 3-4 days. just pops it. I checked to make sure there wasnt anything rubbing any of the wires or anything wrong with the ballasts but they seem fine. I put the new fuse in and they are good to go for a few more days. anyone? help?
__________________
http://www.teamRUSH.net
98 Integra GSR 342whp@15lbs (R.I.P.)00 USDM PY ITR stock in the dirt (R.I.P.) 400whp daily driven 94 Teg ls/vtec GOT BOOST!!
jdmturboitr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 04:59 PM   #2
Naruto
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Naruto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: USA
Posts: 2,174
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: H.I.D. fuse keeps blowing??????? (jdmturboitr)

Perhaps you need a larger amp fuse. I know when I put in the JDM OEM HID Type R headlight assemblies on mine, it kept doing the same crap til I put in a 30 amp.

If that's not the case, maybe you have a short somewhere? Bad ground maybe? I would check all of the wiring if the larger fuse doesn't work.
Naruto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 05:08 PM   #3
rdssk8rcs1
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
rdssk8rcs1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,283
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to rdssk8rcs1
Default Re: H.I.D. fuse keeps blowing??????? (Naruto)

is it teh right amp fuse for teh circuit? I would not recomend putting a larger amp fuse if its not sapposed to be there, wouldnt want to risk ruining the HIDs ballast or any other peice of the kit. Check and make sure your alternator is charging at the correct voltage.
__________________
01 RHD DC2 JDM front boosted, tucked and shaved

05 Subaru STi Daily Driver
rdssk8rcs1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 05:21 PM   #4
jdmturboitr
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jdmturboitr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Corpus Christi TX, USA
Posts: 456
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to jdmturboitr
Default

as far as the correct size of fuse........how do I find out if it is correct? It is the fuse that came with the kit. It was givin to me by my wife as a birthday gift Click the image to open in full size. but ill see if I can find out where she got them from.
__________________
http://www.teamRUSH.net
98 Integra GSR 342whp@15lbs (R.I.P.)00 USDM PY ITR stock in the dirt (R.I.P.) 400whp daily driven 94 Teg ls/vtec GOT BOOST!!
jdmturboitr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 05:22 PM   #5
jdmturboitr
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jdmturboitr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Corpus Christi TX, USA
Posts: 456
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to jdmturboitr
Default

oh and yea, would rather keep replacing fuses instead of a bulb or ballast. hehe
__________________
http://www.teamRUSH.net
98 Integra GSR 342whp@15lbs (R.I.P.)00 USDM PY ITR stock in the dirt (R.I.P.) 400whp daily driven 94 Teg ls/vtec GOT BOOST!!
jdmturboitr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 05:23 PM   #6
1Point8DC2
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
1Point8DC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: PA, United States
Posts: 159
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: H.I.D. fuse keeps blowing??????? (rdssk8rcs1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdssk8rcs1
is it teh right amp fuse for teh circuit? I would not recomend putting a larger amp fuse if its not sapposed to be there, wouldnt want to risk ruining the HIDs ballast or any other peice of the kit. Check and make sure your alternator is charging at the correct voltage.
Click the image to open in full size.

fuses protect wire nothing else.. same thing for breakers in a house. DO NOT increase fuse amperage unless you are positive that the wire can handle the load. you'll end up with a bigger problem if you aren't careful.
1Point8DC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 05:32 PM   #7
jdmturboitr
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jdmturboitr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Corpus Christi TX, USA
Posts: 456
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to jdmturboitr
Default Re: H.I.D. fuse keeps blowing??????? (1Point8DC2)

my thoughts exactly. thanx fellas. any other ides?
__________________
http://www.teamRUSH.net
98 Integra GSR 342whp@15lbs (R.I.P.)00 USDM PY ITR stock in the dirt (R.I.P.) 400whp daily driven 94 Teg ls/vtec GOT BOOST!!
jdmturboitr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 05:36 PM   #8
alain401
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
alain401's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: RI, 02895
Posts: 92
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default

maybe need a bigger fuse or make show theres not expose wires
__________________
Vouches:

AllMotorDan : Buyer
EFhothatch15 : Seller
alain401 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 06:18 PM   #9
keeks707
Garage is empty, add now
 
keeks707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, Ca, USA
Posts: 48
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to keeks707
Default

Well in the kits u buy online..they state that they recomend you using a larger Fuse! so if its a 15a fuse...try a 20 or even a 25!
__________________
2001 Acura Integra GSr Boosted!
keeks707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 06:33 PM   #10
TemjinX2
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
TemjinX2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 87
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default

blown fuses usually means your grounding out some where. check all your wiring. ballasts, the harness.

i wouldnt add a higher amp fuse until you inspected all the wiring. Adding more current to exposed wires are usually a bad idea.
__________________
DONT KNOW BUY FROM TheGhost04
AIM: Dominicano04

He is a scammer!!

http://www.hondamarketplace.co...51349
TemjinX2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 07:10 PM   #11
-Darren-
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
-Darren-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,257
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to -Darren-
Default Re: H.I.D. fuse keeps blowing??????? (jdmturboitr)

did you hook up a relay with those?
__________________
Virgin Island Crew
-Darren- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 07:32 PM   #12
jdmturboitr
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jdmturboitr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Corpus Christi TX, USA
Posts: 456
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to jdmturboitr
Default Re: H.I.D. fuse keeps blowing??????? (-Darren-)

relay? umm the kit stated just a plug n play. so i just hooked it up color coded wise.
__________________
http://www.teamRUSH.net
98 Integra GSR 342whp@15lbs (R.I.P.)00 USDM PY ITR stock in the dirt (R.I.P.) 400whp daily driven 94 Teg ls/vtec GOT BOOST!!
jdmturboitr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 07:34 PM   #13
jdmturboitr
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jdmturboitr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Corpus Christi TX, USA
Posts: 456
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to jdmturboitr
Default

I already checked all the wires and there is nothing exposed or anything.
__________________
http://www.teamRUSH.net
98 Integra GSR 342whp@15lbs (R.I.P.)00 USDM PY ITR stock in the dirt (R.I.P.) 400whp daily driven 94 Teg ls/vtec GOT BOOST!!
jdmturboitr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 09:10 PM   #14
jasonjai
Honda-Tech Member
1995 Acura Integra
 
jasonjai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 64
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: H.I.D. fuse keeps blowing??????? (jdmturboitr)

did you mix up the polarity?
jasonjai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2007, 10:21 PM   #15
TemjinX2
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
TemjinX2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 87
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default

you should have a separate harness connected to the battery and ballast. The stock wiring can't take the amount of amps a ballast uses initially when you first turn them on.

It'll eventually fry your stock head light harness

just a recommendation.
__________________
DONT KNOW BUY FROM TheGhost04
AIM: Dominicano04

He is a scammer!!

http://www.hondamarketplace.co...51349
TemjinX2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 06:11 AM   #16
jetblackhybrid
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jetblackhybrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Or, usa
Posts: 116
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (alain401)

DO NOT use a bigger fuse! those HIDs are made to function correctly with the fuse it came with. check your connections and your grounds, if you are using a kit tht uses a seperate ground.
__________________
"Once you start mod'ing HEAVY, you you'll see how you'll spend $10K without even noticing a real change in your car..."
jetblackhybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 06:20 AM   #17
PatrickGSR94
Honda-Tech Member
1994 Acura Integra
 
PatrickGSR94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Nowhere and Everywhere
Posts: 29,083
iTrader Rating: (1)
Send a message via AIM to PatrickGSR94
Default

HID ballasts draw less current than the stock halogen headlights. However, there is a current spike for a split-second when the ballasts are first fired. This is the reason your fuses are blowing.

Stock Integra headlights have a 10A fuse for each low beam. Way back when I installed my old HID kit, I replaced the 10A fuses with 20A fuses, and I never had a problem.

But if you really want the best setup, you need to wire up custom headlight harnesses with relays. Put 20A fuses on the wires coming off the battery and going to the ballasts, and then you can keep the stock 10A fuses under the dashboard since they will only be switching the relays. I did this when I switched to my HID projector retrofit instead of the POS HID kit, which is junk in the factory Integra projectors.
__________________
Please do not PM me with technical questions. Create a thread in the appropriate forum.

H-T OG member #8927 class of '02 ● Koni + GC InstallHID retrofit club
member #0001
PatrickGSR94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 06:10 PM   #18
jdmturboitr
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jdmturboitr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Corpus Christi TX, USA
Posts: 456
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to jdmturboitr
Default

polarity????? ummmmm ok? dont know what that is brah. please explain.
__________________
http://www.teamRUSH.net
98 Integra GSR 342whp@15lbs (R.I.P.)00 USDM PY ITR stock in the dirt (R.I.P.) 400whp daily driven 94 Teg ls/vtec GOT BOOST!!
jdmturboitr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 06:11 PM   #19
jdmturboitr
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jdmturboitr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Corpus Christi TX, USA
Posts: 456
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to jdmturboitr
Default

dont know about all this re-wiring and stuff. im not to handy when it comes to elecrical stuff hehe
__________________
http://www.teamRUSH.net
98 Integra GSR 342whp@15lbs (R.I.P.)00 USDM PY ITR stock in the dirt (R.I.P.) 400whp daily driven 94 Teg ls/vtec GOT BOOST!!
jdmturboitr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2007, 11:04 PM   #20
keeks707
Garage is empty, add now
 
keeks707's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Bay Area, Ca, USA
Posts: 48
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to keeks707
Default

I also just switched To a bigger fuse and i never had a problem plus..it is recomended if you were to read the directions!
__________________
2001 Acura Integra GSr Boosted!
keeks707 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 03:44 AM   #21
street dream gsr
* B A N N E D *
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: miami
Posts: 1,076
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to street dream gsr
Default Re: (keeks707)

i had to change my 10s to a 20. it blew the 10amp the moment i turned the lights on. never had a problem since.
street dream gsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2007, 04:07 AM   #22
Jon D
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Jon D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Homie dont, play that, USA
Posts: 11,333
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (PatrickGSR94)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jetblackhybrid
DO NOT use a bigger fuse! those HIDs are made to function correctly with the fuse it came with.
WRONG! Click the image to open in full size.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PatrickGSR94
HID ballasts draw less current than the stock halogen headlights. However, there is a current spike for a split-second when the ballasts are first fired. This is the reason your fuses are blowing.

Stock Integra headlights have a 10A fuse for each low beam. Way back when I installed my old HID kit, I replaced the 10A fuses with 20A fuses, and I never had a problem.
CORRECT!

__________________
w w w . i n n o v a t i v e - m o t o r w o r k s . c o m

....Camino del éxito!
Jon D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2007, 10:09 AM   #23
jdmturboitr
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
jdmturboitr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Corpus Christi TX, USA
Posts: 456
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to jdmturboitr
Default Re: (keeks707)

my kit didnt come with any directions. It came with 7.5 amp fuses. should I maybe go with a 10amp or so?
__________________
http://www.teamRUSH.net
98 Integra GSR 342whp@15lbs (R.I.P.)00 USDM PY ITR stock in the dirt (R.I.P.) 400whp daily driven 94 Teg ls/vtec GOT BOOST!!
jdmturboitr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2007, 05:40 AM   #24
PatrickGSR94
Honda-Tech Member
1994 Acura Integra
 
PatrickGSR94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Nowhere and Everywhere
Posts: 29,083
iTrader Rating: (1)
Send a message via AIM to PatrickGSR94
Default Re: (jdmturboitr)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdmturboitr
my kit didnt come with any directions. It came with 7.5 amp fuses. should I maybe go with a 10amp or so?
lol what the crap?? Stock headlights use 10 amp fuses. You will need at least 15 or 20 amps to handle the power spike when the ballasts first come on.
__________________
Please do not PM me with technical questions. Create a thread in the appropriate forum.

H-T OG member #8927 class of '02 ● Koni + GC InstallHID retrofit club
member #0001
PatrickGSR94 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
10a, 30, amp, blowing, fuse, fuses, hid, hids, higher, honda, integra, kit, lights, relay, requirements

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:05 AM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details