Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Technical Forums > Audio / Security / Video
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2007, 04:34 PM   #1
PKH3
Garage is empty, add now
 
PKH3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Remote Start install tips

Steps to a remote starter install. (read the Sticky on Alarm install so you will understand the basics)

1. Get the diagram for your car.
Acura
Honda

2. Get the R/S unit of your choice
Good products are Compustar, DEI(Viper/Python/Clifford), Audiovox/Prestige, UltraStart
(other units exist but these are the ones i have used in the past and never had a problem with)

3. Get the Bypass (For vehicles equipped with Immobilizer/ Chipped key)
Pick BypassKit PKH3 -o- PKH2 (or DEI 555h -o- 556h)
I perfer the the BypassKit because it requires one key for programming and you can use the grey key. (pick whichever is cheaper for you)

4. Take apart your car as if you are doing an alarm install

5. Wires you will need to hook up for remote start to work are
12v
Ground
Tach
Neutral Safety Switch
Brake
Ignition harness (ignition, accessory, 2nd ignition or 2nd accessory, starter)
R/S Bypass wires (only if your car needs it)
Factory Alarm disarm (only if your car has factory security)
Hoodpin (optional, but recommended)

6. Find the wires and hook up the R/S wires to the car

7. Program tach

8. Hook up bypass and program it

9. Remote start your car.

You cannot hook up remote start to your existing factory alarm/keyless entry because once the engine is on, you must manually open the door with the key.

But if you already have an aftermarket alarm and want remote start you can use a remote start add-on.
Pick Between DEi Valet 561T or UltraStart 1155
(other units exist but these are the ones i have used in the past and never had a problem with)
PKH3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 04:43 PM   #2
B18C_EJ8
Honda-Tech Member
2002 Honda Accord
 
B18C_EJ8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Herkimer, NY, USA
Posts: 6,565
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to B18C_EJ8
Default

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">You cannot hook up remote start to your existing factory alarm/keyless entry because once the engine is on, you must manually open the door with the key.</TD></TR></TABLE>

Hmm, then something must be wrong with my car because I can unlock my doors with my remote when it's remote started... And most remote starts have lock/unlock outputs, so this really isn't an issue. Click the image to open in full size.

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">5. Wires you will need to hook up for remote start to work are
12v</TD></TR></TABLE>

In the ignition harness.

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">Neutral Safety Switch</TD></TR></TABLE>

Rarely required. Usually hooked up to remote start on/off switch.

Lots of misinformation in your first post. Great start. Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
=W=
B18C_EJ8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 05:29 PM   #3
wrx-killer-Sti-eater
Honda-Tech Member
1994 Acura Integra
 
wrx-killer-Sti-eater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 99 probs but a stolen car aint 1, ca, cerritos/fullerton
Posts: 9,696
iTrader Rating: (1)
dmcnasty1
Send a message via AIM to wrx-killer-Sti-eater Send a message via Yahoo to wrx-killer-Sti-eater
Default Re: (B18C_EJ8)

my co worker can add a remote start unit with the factory trunk button Click the image to open in full size. But you lose its function.
__________________
www.precisionmobilesoundwerks.com 562-271-8841 Import life performance
If they want it they will get it-Most untrue saying ever http://www.honda-tech.com/showthread...1#post38708541
wrx-killer-Sti-eater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 06:54 PM   #4
8520
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
8520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,416
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 8520
Default Re: (wrx-killer-Sti eater)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrx-killer-Sti eater
my co worker can add a remote start unit with the factory trunk button Click the image to open in full size. But you lose its function.
You can program some cars to use a sequence of buttons instead of a single button like 02accord did in his 02 accord Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
dre
8520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 09:04 PM   #5
02 accord
Honda-Tech Member
2002 Honda Accord
 
02 accord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sterling Heights, MI, USA
Posts: 2,006
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 02 accord
Default Re: (misanthropist)

Click the image to open in full size. I didn't exactly program it to do that. It involved a bunch of relays and 3 timer chips.
__________________
2002 Accord SE 5 speed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hidenplanvew
why are you scared to go under the car? Just get in do what you have to do and get out its not that scarry
02 accord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 09:41 PM   #6
PKH3
Garage is empty, add now
 
PKH3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (B18C_EJ8)

What you mean misinformation,
first off, you CANT use FACTORY REMOTES after remote start (unless you got a really old car without immbolizier, then this is dealer installed)

and hoodpins are a safety precaution for people. Rather safe than sorry.

you dont always have to get your 12v from the ignition harness.

Newb
PKH3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2007, 10:44 PM   #7
suspendedHatch
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
suspendedHatch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Locash
Posts: 4,404
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (misanthropist)

Good overview, but you can't do any alarm or remote start install without verifying every wire. Locating and verifying a wire is practically the same thing.

The stupid little safety switch is a cop-out. It doesn't actually protect you from remote starting your car when it's in gear. If you forget to put your car in park, you'll forget to hit the safety off switch as well. It's just there to put liability on the operator so they can't sue the installer. Connect the neutral safety like you're supposed to.
__________________
Cause For Alarm ver8
suspendedHatch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 12:35 AM   #8
8520
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
8520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,416
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 8520
Default Re: (PKH3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by PKH3
What you mean misinformation,
first off, you CANT use FACTORY REMOTES after remote start (unless you got a really old car without immbolizier, then this is dealer installed)
Lol nice try but you're wrong. You can use the immobilizer bypass module with the factory remote just as easily Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
dre
8520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 04:48 AM   #9
B18C_EJ8
Honda-Tech Member
2002 Honda Accord
 
B18C_EJ8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Herkimer, NY, USA
Posts: 6,565
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to B18C_EJ8
Default

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">What you mean misinformation,
first off, you CANT use FACTORY REMOTES after remote start (unless you got a really old car without immbolizier, then this is dealer installed)

and hoodpins are a safety precaution for people. Rather safe than sorry.

you dont always have to get your 12v from the ignition harness.

Newb</TD></TR></TABLE>

First of all, are you calling me a newb???

Second, you didn't mention anything about factory remotes in your first post. You simply said that you can't add remote start to cars with factory security/keyless.

Third, I never said anything about hood pins. I agree with you on them. I questioned your description of the NSS.

And last, why would you go elsewhere to get 12v when it's right there with all of the other wires you're tapping? To make more work for yourself and to have one more wire to tie up/hide?

That's what I meant by misinformation...
__________________
=W=
B18C_EJ8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 09:55 AM   #10
fcm
Old Fart
Garage is empty, add now
 
fcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: kelowna, bc, canada
Posts: 24,335
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Remote Start install tips (PKH3)

Well all I can say is, BRAHAHAHAHA, ROFL.

You cannot hook up remote start to your existing factory alarm/keyless entry because once the engine is on, you must manually open the door with the key

That's funny, I must be doing something wrong as I have done 100s of cars with OEM alarms and key-less entry and they are all working just fine, even the OEM remotes still work on the oem systems.

Also what the hell is an R/S bypass wire?

Not all Honda/Acura OEM alarms can be armed/disarmed with anything but the OEM remote.

Not all aftermarket alarms are compatible with remote starts without mods.

Misinformation, you think? Click the image to open in full size. 94



__________________
RIP Zack 2001-2013, my best friend.
fcm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 02:54 PM   #11
kroze
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
kroze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 697
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Remote Start install tips (fcm)

calm down kids. He's just trying to help. I don't see you guys post up a tutorial on how to install a remote start do you? stop criticizing the guy.
__________________

kroze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 03:00 PM   #12
B18C_EJ8
Honda-Tech Member
2002 Honda Accord
 
B18C_EJ8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Herkimer, NY, USA
Posts: 6,565
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to B18C_EJ8
Default

Maybe I would be cooler if i made a thread about how I completed the oh-so-complex install of an armrest??? Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
=W=
B18C_EJ8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 05:16 PM   #13
wrx-killer-Sti-eater
Honda-Tech Member
1994 Acura Integra
 
wrx-killer-Sti-eater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: 99 probs but a stolen car aint 1, ca, cerritos/fullerton
Posts: 9,696
iTrader Rating: (1)
dmcnasty1
Send a message via AIM to wrx-killer-Sti-eater Send a message via Yahoo to wrx-killer-Sti-eater
Default Re: (B18C_EJ8)

fcm its possiable but you lose the trunk feature the way we do it, 02 accord has done the same but a diffrent way. I bet you could figure it out
__________________
www.precisionmobilesoundwerks.com 562-271-8841 Import life performance
If they want it they will get it-Most untrue saying ever http://www.honda-tech.com/showthread...1#post38708541
wrx-killer-Sti-eater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 06:02 PM   #14
fcm
Old Fart
Garage is empty, add now
 
fcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: kelowna, bc, canada
Posts: 24,335
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (wrx-killer-Sti eater)

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrx-killer-Sti eater
fcm its possiable but you lose the trunk feature the way we do it, 02 accord has done the same but a diffrent way. I bet you could figure it out
What is possible? Yea I know, anything is, but what specifically are you referring to? Click the image to open in full size. 94
__________________
RIP Zack 2001-2013, my best friend.
fcm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 06:05 PM   #15
02 accord
Honda-Tech Member
2002 Honda Accord
 
02 accord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Sterling Heights, MI, USA
Posts: 2,006
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 02 accord
Default Re: (fcm)

Adding remote start and activating it using the factory keyless entry remote without losing the functionality of any buttons on the remote.
__________________
2002 Accord SE 5 speed
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hidenplanvew
why are you scared to go under the car? Just get in do what you have to do and get out its not that scarry
02 accord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 06:11 PM   #16
PKH3
Garage is empty, add now
 
PKH3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Remote Start install tips (fcm)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fcm
Well all I can say is, BRAHAHAHAHA, ROFL.

You cannot hook up remote start to your existing factory alarm/keyless entry because once the engine is on, you must manually open the door with the key

That's funny, I must be doing something wrong as I have done 100s of cars with OEM alarms and key-less entry and they are all working just fine, even the OEM remotes still work on the oem systems.

Also what the hell is an R/S bypass wire?

Not all Honda/Acura OEM alarms can be armed/disarmed with anything but the OEM remote.

Not all aftermarket alarms are compatible with remote starts without mods.

Misinformation, you think? Click the image to open in full size. 94
ex. Say you are doing r/s on a 06 Accord. if you hook up remote start to the factory remote using a Valet 561T and you set it to turn on by press "lock lock". Once you walk out to the car, you try to press unlock but it doesnt unlock, so you must manually open the door.

You can turn on your engine by hand and see if your factory remote works. it doesnt.

Thats why pro dont hook up r/s add-on to factory remote when this happens. Better to get a new remote with better range too.


Bypass wires are wires off the bypass stupid
can you not read?
Did you not know that new cars have this thing called "Immobilizer". and if you hook up an r/s, you will need to get around this "Immobilizer". So you use something called a "Bypass" and there are wires for it to work


You stated "Not all Honda/Acura OEM alarms can be armed/disarmed with anything but the OEM remote."

List a car that has factory alarm that cant be disabled my using factory alarm disarm.

I think your just mad cause you drive an old honda or acura that just dont got all this new stuff like "immobilizer" and factory keyless entry that are built into the car's computer

Click the image to open in full size. Click the image to open in full size. Click the image to open in full size. Click the image to open in full size. Click the image to open in full size. Click the image to open in full size. Click the image to open in full size. Click the image to open in full size.


Plus, this was a thread meant to help inform those about remote start, and intrested in doing it themselves.
PKH3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 07:56 PM   #17
8520
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
8520's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,416
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 8520
Default Re: Remote Start install tips (PKH3)

I just literally laughed out loud. Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
dre
8520 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2007, 08:22 PM   #18
B18C_EJ8
Honda-Tech Member
2002 Honda Accord
 
B18C_EJ8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Herkimer, NY, USA
Posts: 6,565
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to B18C_EJ8
Default

This guy is something else!! Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
=W=
B18C_EJ8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 09:02 AM   #19
fcm
Old Fart
Garage is empty, add now
 
fcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: kelowna, bc, canada
Posts: 24,335
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Remote Start install tips (PKH3)

Well you asked for it, how about this one.... http://www.directwholesale.net...eID=3

or this one... http://www.directwholesale.net...eID=3

or maybe this one... http://www.directwholesale.net...eID=3

Maybe an Acura... http://www.directwholesale.net...eID=6

The DEI 561T was designed as an add on to DEI alarms, [that have remotes] and although possible, [nothing a few relays and diodes wouldn't fix] why would anyone want a remote start using the short range oem remote?

The fix.... I wonder if installing a relay on the ign. input to the oem alarm/key-less, controlled by the remote starts "status output" would solve the problem of the key-less not working with the engine running?

Getting by the "using the oem remote and not losing a function of the oem remote" posses another problem, I have to think about that for a bit, but again why would any one want a remote start with so little range?

Now we get to the name calling....
Quote:
Originally Posted by PKH3
Bypass wires are wires off the bypass stupid
can you not read?
Call me stupid, you ignorant ****, I was installing car starters when you where still your daddy's wet dream.

What the hell do you think we have been doing here other then helping people that want to install things themselves?

I will tell you, one of the things is keeping an eye out for no0bs like you who come on here and spue misinformation, and stomp your ***, when you argue the point.

Don't get me wrong, it's not that we want you to go away, we all need a good Brahahahah now and then, and you are good at that. Click the image to open in full size. 94
__________________
RIP Zack 2001-2013, my best friend.
fcm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 10:46 AM   #20
B18C_EJ8
Honda-Tech Member
2002 Honda Accord
 
B18C_EJ8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Herkimer, NY, USA
Posts: 6,565
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to B18C_EJ8
Default

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">Don't get me wrong, it's not that we want you to go away, </TD></TR></TABLE>

Speak for yourself... Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
=W=
B18C_EJ8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2007, 07:44 PM   #21
red91sit
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
red91sit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Red Lake Falls, MN, U.S.A.
Posts: 720
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (B18C_EJ8)

Well, if we're all sharing our wealth of remote start information, Where the heck do you connect to the starter wire at? I found it at the key cylinder, not enough room to splice in there, so i followed it down, where it goes WAY up and out of reach, then it disapears GRRR.
red91sit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 04:22 AM   #22
B18C_EJ8
Honda-Tech Member
2002 Honda Accord
 
B18C_EJ8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Herkimer, NY, USA
Posts: 6,565
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to B18C_EJ8
Default

<TABLE WIDTH="90%" CELLSPACING=0 CELLPADDING=0 ALIGN=CENTER><TR><TD>Quote &raquo;</TD></TR><TR><TD CLASS="quote">Well, if we're all sharing our wealth of remote start information, Where the heck do you connect to the starter wire at?</TD></TR></TABLE>

Year/Make/Model would help. Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
=W=
B18C_EJ8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 06:08 AM   #23
boynblue
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
boynblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: va, usa
Posts: 163
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Remote Start install tips (PKH3)

You are talkin trash to the wrong person. You should be asking fcm for help my friend. Nice start, you should be taking the constructive criticism and improving it. Gettin pissy will get you no where. Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
Daily D 03 Base MT RSX

HID retrofit club member #0057
boynblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 08:15 AM   #24
fcm
Old Fart
Garage is empty, add now
 
fcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: kelowna, bc, canada
Posts: 24,335
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (red91sit)

Quote:
Originally Posted by red91sit
Well, if we're all sharing our wealth of remote start information, Where the heck do you connect to the starter wire at? I found it at the key cylinder, not enough room to splice in there, so i followed it down, where it goes WAY up and out of reach, then it disapears GRRR.
Yea, MM&Y of car would help, but on any car there are a number of places that the remote start wire can be connected, if we are talking about a Honda/Acura I make my connection at the ign. harness plug, or the starter relay plug, [5 speed] or the gear position switch, [auto trans.] it can even be run into the engine bay and connected directly to the starter solenoid.
The easiest is the ign. harness plug, Pepin the OEM starter lead from plastic plug, solder remote start lead to the pin, [being careful not to interfere with the pins ability to be repined and lock into the plastic plug again].
Easy as cake/piece of pie. Click the image to open in full size. 94
__________________
RIP Zack 2001-2013, my best friend.
fcm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2007, 04:06 PM   #25
red91sit
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
red91sit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Red Lake Falls, MN, U.S.A.
Posts: 720
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (fcm)

haha, yeah i suppose a little more information would have helped "DOH"

But anyways, i found the connection near the steering column disconnected it and have it all soldered up now, thanks anyways. It was a 1995 Honda Civic Coupe too.
red91sit is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
1155, 2007, 561t, accord, acura, bypass, installing, module, pkh2, remote, s2000, shop, starter, ultrastart, va, valet, wiring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:12 AM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details