Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Model-Specific Technical Forums > Acura Integra Type-R
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-29-2006, 11:34 AM   #1
garyc17
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
garyc17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 626
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default ELD problems

I am beginning to suspect my ELD is faulty. It has a voltage of approx. 3.3V on idle with all accessories turned off. The moment I turn on my aircon, headlights, my idle starts to hunt and the ELD reads approx. 2.2V . Is this a sign of a faulty ELD or is my alternator at fault? I have no CELs and the battery indicator is not lit.
garyc17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2006, 11:51 AM   #2
migs
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
migs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 7,812
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: ELD problems (garyc17)

I dont know what an ELD is but I did a search on it and this thread came up. I hope it helps you.

http://honda-tech.com/zerothread?id=1794524
__________________
mikegsturbo - its a X bar .... its good for auto X
1GreyTeg - Seriously?
migs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 10:08 AM   #3
ProJectCvic
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
ProJectCvic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Midwest, USA
Posts: 2,497
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to ProJectCvic
Default Re: ELD problems (migs)

Bump...I am suspecting my eld is at fault in my car too.

Changed alternator but car blog and die if light, heater, or other electric load is put on the car. Car is grounded hardcore but that's doesn't seem to be the problem.
__________________
03 G35\03 RSX-S\95 ZX9R
Sony A300\\18-70mm F3.5-5.6\\55-200mm F4-5.6\\50mm 1.7\\Fastpack 250
ProjectCvic Vouch Thread: http://www.hondamarketplace.co...92033
ProJectCvic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 10:28 AM   #4
garyc17
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
garyc17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 626
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: ELD problems (ProJectCvic)

My rev starts hunting at idle if I start to turn on radio and headlights. It's similar to your problem. I used to bog but now its gone after some STP gas treatment. I am now looking for a ELD too.
garyc17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2006, 10:53 AM   #5
ProJectCvic
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
ProJectCvic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Midwest, USA
Posts: 2,497
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to ProJectCvic
Default Re: ELD problems (garyc17)

Quote:
Originally Posted by garyc17
My rev starts hunting at idle if I start to turn on radio and headlights. It's similar to your problem. I used to bog but now its gone after some STP gas treatment. I am now looking for a ELD too.
I don't think adding fuel treatment is going to solve my problem...I am running 880 injector and I would think that the situation would escalate being these injectors have a tendency to operate inefficient at lower fuel demand.

I am going to check my chrome map and ecu to determine if it is that is the source of the problem but in the meantime...input are great appreciated. Thanks

Maybe I'll try to run burn a program unsing uberdata and see if that works. I hate electrical monsters! if all else failis, I am replace the underhood fuse box.
__________________
03 G35\03 RSX-S\95 ZX9R
Sony A300\\18-70mm F3.5-5.6\\55-200mm F4-5.6\\50mm 1.7\\Fastpack 250
ProjectCvic Vouch Thread: http://www.hondamarketplace.co...92033
ProJectCvic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 08:27 AM   #6
garyc17
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
garyc17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 626
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: ELD problems (ProJectCvic)

Don't bother with the fuse box(ELD). I just got mine replaced with a new looking one from the scrapyard. The voltage is still not 4.5V before the car is cranked. I am taking the reading from my PowerFC handset. Unless the reading is inaccurate. I am getting only 3.75V. Where should I probe with a multimeter for an accurate ELD voltage?
garyc17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 08:38 AM   #7
ProJectCvic
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
ProJectCvic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Midwest, USA
Posts: 2,497
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to ProJectCvic
Default Re: ELD problems (garyc17)

Quote:
Originally Posted by garyc17
Don't bother with the fuse box(ELD). I just got mine replaced with a new looking one from the scrapyard. The voltage is still not 4.5V before the car is cranked. I am taking the reading from my PowerFC handset. Unless the reading is inaccurate. I am getting only 3.75V. Where should I probe with a multimeter for an accurate ELD voltage?
Noobish question...how do you measure using a voltmeter the ELD voltage? What connections under in the under hood fuse box do you probe?
__________________
03 G35\03 RSX-S\95 ZX9R
Sony A300\\18-70mm F3.5-5.6\\55-200mm F4-5.6\\50mm 1.7\\Fastpack 250
ProjectCvic Vouch Thread: http://www.hondamarketplace.co...92033
ProJectCvic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 12:37 PM   #8
garyc17
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
garyc17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 626
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: ELD problems (ProJectCvic)

I think I'll just leave it as 3.75V. Not getting any problems except hunting revs at idle.
garyc17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 11:46 AM   #9
pyitrboy
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
pyitrboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 93
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: ELD problems (garyc17)

According to an Acura genuine service manual you should have a dtc if you turn on the headlights when the engine is running. If not then it might be another problem. Maybe your ecu is not picking up signal from the a/c to step up the idle.
pyitrboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 10:01 PM   #10
garyc17
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
garyc17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 626
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default

I believe my PowerFC is picking up those signals as there is an indicator on my handset which lights up when certain accessories turn on.
garyc17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 10:28 PM   #11
cheezthis
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
cheezthis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
Posts: 2,130
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to cheezthis
Default

You have something drawing a large load on the elec. system. It could be an o2 sensor, for example. This is per the techs at Acura I work with.

In my case, it was a bad connection on my battery. My voltage would go insane at times too.
__________________
www.itrexpo.com
cheezthis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 12:02 PM   #12
Team Bukkake Sucks!!!
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Team Bukkake Sucks!!!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: good, USA
Posts: 2,145
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (cheezthis)

usually its the secondary o2 sensor at fault...are you popping the alternator fuse???
__________________
It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.
Team Bukkake Sucks!!! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 06:25 PM   #13
garyc17
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
garyc17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 626
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (cheezthis)

I have a new negative cable to my battery. It was corroded initially. Its good now. What could be drawing such a huge current?
garyc17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 06:26 PM   #14
garyc17
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
garyc17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 626
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (Team Bukkake Sucks!!!)

I am not popping my alternator fuse. Where is it located anyway? I have only 1 O2 sensor.
garyc17 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
03, check, crome, eld, faulty, honda, problems, rsx, voltage

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:35 PM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details