Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Technical Forums > Audio / Security / Video
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-26-2005, 05:03 AM   #1
thrty8street
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
thrty8street's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: World Domination, United States
Posts: 4,928
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to thrty8street
Default New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER

I dont know which head unit to go with, anyone got any experience with these?

The main reason I like these is because of the MP3/WMA features. Im not looking to run any subs but I do want to run a 4 channel amp to 4 speakers. Im looking for a clean sound. Im still unsure on what speakers to get, I would like to get a component set for the front.


Pioneer DEH-6700MP

Click the image to open in full size.


Alpine CDA-9847

Click the image to open in full size.
thrty8street is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 07:10 AM   #2
fcm
Old Fart
Garage is empty, add now
 
fcm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: kelowna, bc, canada
Posts: 24,092
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (thrty8street)

Quote:
Originally Posted by thrty8street
I dont know which head unit to go with, anyone got any experience with these?

The main reason I like these is because of the MP3/WMA features. Im not looking to run any subs but I do want to run a 4 channel amp to 4 speakers. Im looking for a clean sound. Im still unsure on what speakers to get, I would like to get a component set for the front.


Pioneer DEH-6700MP

Click the image to open in full size.


Alpine CDA-9847

Click the image to open in full size.
Both are good HUs, but caman the Alpine is way better lookin. Click the image to open in full size. 94
__________________
RIP Zack 2001-2013, my best friend.
fcm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 11:07 AM   #3
phayzeone
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 338
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (fcm)

I'm about to rock the pioneer 6700. So i'm for it Click the image to open in full size.
phayzeone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 11:12 AM   #4
Bbasso
Senior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Bbasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 18,262
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (thrty8street)

I am a big fan of Pioneer Click the image to open in full size.

DEX-P1R for me Click the image to open in full size.


in 5 years it's never let me down!!!
Bbasso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 03:17 PM   #5
thrty8street
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
thrty8street's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: World Domination, United States
Posts: 4,928
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to thrty8street
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (Bbasso)

cool thanks for the replies
thrty8street is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2005, 04:46 PM   #6
Dougs96SI
Garage is empty, add now
 
Dougs96SI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: TN
Posts: 1,528
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (thrty8street)

Id go for the Alpine
__________________
Turbo Build in Progress ::: ON PAUSE ::: [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emsad.gif[/img]

[quote=Garsis]
I'm moore about street racing not drag racing! Prelude is too havy for drag!
[/quote]
Dougs96SI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 03:42 AM   #7
thrty8street
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
thrty8street's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: World Domination, United States
Posts: 4,928
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to thrty8street
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (Dougs96SI)

k, i already ordered the pioneer online and im about to get some pioneer 6.5 inch 4 way speakers for the front
thrty8street is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2005, 06:25 AM   #8
AnalogVirus
Garage is empty, add now
 
AnalogVirus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 31
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (thrty8street)

yea, i have an alpine, and it is really good. i highly recommend the alpine.
ive had pioneer before, and wasnt too impressed, maybe they improved tho, maybe not.....
__________________
[img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emsad.gif[/img] Why cant I have a nice sig.... [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emsad.gif[/img]
AnalogVirus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 02:36 AM   #9
mr poo
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,502
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (thrty8street)

get components if u can!
mr poo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 03:57 AM   #10
thrty8street
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
thrty8street's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: World Domination, United States
Posts: 4,928
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to thrty8street
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (mr poo)

I dont think pioneer makes component speakers do they
thrty8street is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 05:43 AM   #11
LSRracing95
Garage is empty, add now
 
LSRracing95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Flanders, NJ, United States
Posts: 518
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to LSRracing95
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (thrty8street)

personally i would get an alpine headunit.. very good quality and quite easy to use.. i wouldnt suggest pioneer speakers tho.. im not a big fan.. spend the extra cash and get some better speakers.. component sets with crossovers.. MB Quart, JL Audio, etc.. and make sure you get a good amplifier to power those too Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
JL Audio [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthup.gif[/img]
MB Quart [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthup.gif[/img]
Dynamat [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthup.gif[/img]
SQL [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthup.gif[/img]

LSRracing95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 08:10 AM   #12
thrty8street
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
thrty8street's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: World Domination, United States
Posts: 4,928
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to thrty8street
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (LSRracing95)

whats wrong with pioneer speakers?
thrty8street is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 10:58 AM   #13
LSRracing95
Garage is empty, add now
 
LSRracing95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Flanders, NJ, United States
Posts: 518
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to LSRracing95
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (thrty8street)

there really isnt anything wrong with pioneer speakers persay.. i just wouldnt recomment them if you are going to spend hard earned money i feel you should buy the best there is.. its that simple... the quality is much better in many other speakers rather than pioneer.. its just my opinion, i would rather spend more money on a nicer sounding, better quality speaker..
__________________
JL Audio [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthup.gif[/img]
MB Quart [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthup.gif[/img]
Dynamat [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthup.gif[/img]
SQL [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthup.gif[/img]

LSRracing95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 01:03 PM   #14
Optiks.
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Optiks.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,807
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to Optiks. Send a message via AIM to Optiks.
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (LSRracing95)

i have the deh 7600 mp and it owns!
Optiks. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 01:12 PM   #15
lazie
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
lazie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 357
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (Optiks.)

pioneer i have the deh 7500mp
lazie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2005, 08:03 PM   #16
9CivicNation7
Garage is empty, add now
 
9CivicNation7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (thrty8street)

that pioneer is awesome man, how much did you get that for?
__________________
[I][B]Speed costs money, how fast do you want to go?[/B][/I]
9CivicNation7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 06:28 AM   #17
95TEG
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
95TEG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Tucson, AZ, USA
Posts: 1,445
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (9CivicNation7)

I have the Pioneer Premier 670MP, the same as the above deck, and It is awsome. The screen is much better than the Alpine. Paid $167 shipped for mine, new from Ebay Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
"To change the world, begins with one step"--Dave Matthews
Paypal Verified (80)
Miami Dolphins (Unreal turnaround season) Woot Woot
95TEG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 07:19 PM   #18
showtime23
Garage is empty, add now
 
showtime23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uptown
Posts: 73
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (95TEG)

if you dont want to get components because of price and work of making holes, etc. id go with the infinity 6.5's id say kappa but they mite not fit and u mite need 2 get the ref.s. Also ive had both pioneer and Alpine and alpine PWNS pioneer.

cliffs: infinity6.5's > pioneer and not much more money
alpine>pioneer HU
__________________
[quote=newt2]You might as well just give up argueing with some of these people. Whenever a thread like this happens it always draws out the "cops are always right" crowd. You could make a post about them anally raping your mother because you were driving 5mph over and they would tell you the bitch deserved it for squeezing out a kid who can't drive worth a ****. [/quote]

[url="http://www.furgift.com"]http://www.furgift.com[/url] [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthup.gif[/img] [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthup.gif[/img] [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthup.gif[/img]

showtime23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 07:50 PM   #19
thrty8street
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
thrty8street's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: World Domination, United States
Posts: 4,928
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to thrty8street
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (showtime23)

hey thanks for all the replies. i just got my pioneer head unit in the mail today and i installed it already and it is great I love it!

as for the speakers im still a bit unsure of. im not looking to pay more than 150 for 2 front speakers
thrty8street is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2005, 10:16 PM   #20
showtime23
Garage is empty, add now
 
showtime23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Uptown
Posts: 73
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (thrty8street)

If thats the case def. go w/ the kappa 6.5's Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
[quote=newt2]You might as well just give up argueing with some of these people. Whenever a thread like this happens it always draws out the "cops are always right" crowd. You could make a post about them anally raping your mother because you were driving 5mph over and they would tell you the bitch deserved it for squeezing out a kid who can't drive worth a ****. [/quote]

[url="http://www.furgift.com"]http://www.furgift.com[/url] [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthup.gif[/img] [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthup.gif[/img] [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthup.gif[/img]

showtime23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2005, 12:21 PM   #21
thrty8street
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
thrty8street's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: World Domination, United States
Posts: 4,928
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to thrty8street
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (showtime23)

cool does the kappa 6.5 fit my front doors and do they have a seperate mount tweeter?

It would be cool to have a set with seperate mount tweeter because when i bought my car someone had already put some ghetto tweeters on there and they werent even conneceted so i took them out and now i have a hole on each of my doors where the tweeter should be.
thrty8street is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2005, 08:02 PM   #22
99IntegraGS
Junior Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
99IntegraGS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 314
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to 99IntegraGS Send a message via AIM to 99IntegraGS
Default

I've purchased 3 Alpines in the past year or two... love 'em!

1st - CDA-9815 (sold and getting the CDA-7998)
2nd - CDA-7998 (currently in car)
3rd - CDA-7995 (currently in my daughter's Accord Coupe)
99IntegraGS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2005, 11:07 PM   #23
DxBurnoutKing
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
DxBurnoutKing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Burke, VA, USA
Posts: 2,889
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to DxBurnoutKing
Default Re: New Head Unit: ALPINE vs PIONEER (lazie)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lazie
pioneer i have the deh 7500mp
8500Mp here

Click the image to open in full size.

*edit: also selling a DEH-P440...Pioneer makes some ROCK solid head units.

Click the image to open in full size. Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pinja View Post
Jimmy status:

MUTHAFARKING OBLITERATED
DxBurnoutKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 05:03 PM   #24
.Kevin.
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
.Kevin.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Land on Lincoln
Posts: 2,198
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: (99IntegraGS)

I loved my alpine had all the features, tho i do not have first hand experiance with the 2 models you are looking at, but with the brands i would take alpine first and exp. if you plan on putting subs in later on even though you dont want to know they have some nice features for subs and stuff
.Kevin. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2005, 07:40 PM   #25
thomusvoo
Garage is empty, add now
 
thomusvoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: westminster
Posts: 29
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to thomusvoo
Default

ALPINE all the way IMO

Pioneer is good as well.
thomusvoo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2005, 2807, 6700mp, alpine, cda, cda9847, good, head, headunit, pioneer, rsx, sound, speakers, type, unit

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:58 AM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details