Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Model-Specific Technical Forums > Honda CRX / EF Civic (1988-1991)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-21-2004, 05:56 PM   #1
90LSpimpin
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
90LSpimpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bridgeview, IL, USA
Posts: 2,346
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 90LSpimpin
Default Just installed Delta 272 Cam

Sup everyone. I just got done installin my new camshaft from Delta. Its got a duration of 272 and a max lift of 425. Right now I'm runnin it on the stock valvetrain because the folks from Delta told me that was fine. I plan to get aftermarket components in the next week or so. I'll have random pics we took about halfway into the install up later.
I just got done performing the break in precedure, and waitin for it to cool off so i can check the valve lash again. Right now it wont idle so I'm gonna recheck the valves before i go screwin with idle adjuster screw. Is it commonly neccessary to have to adjust the idle or do i have other problems? Thanks
__________________
- Brandon, Co-Owner www.Rcautoworks.com
Xbox Live - Jusst Tha Tip
COD MW2, Halo3, MVC2 ,SF4
90LSpimpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 06:08 PM   #2
quicksol95
Garage is empty, add now
 
quicksol95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Greensboro, MD
Posts: 971
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to quicksol95
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (89SiPimpin)

yes when i had my d16a6 with a delta 272 cam it would not idle right

but it was pretty quick
__________________
[img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emsmile.gif[/img] [I]<U>[B]EFITUNING.ORG[/B]</U>[/I] [img]http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emsmile.gif[/img]


quicksol95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 06:12 PM   #3
NONVTECSI
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: San Jose, CA, USA
Posts: 111
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to NONVTECSI
Default

How much was the cam?
NONVTECSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 07:01 PM   #4
90LSpimpin
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
90LSpimpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bridgeview, IL, USA
Posts: 2,346
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 90LSpimpin
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (slow90hatch)

Whatsup Slowhatch, I was hopin you would post. Click the image to open in full size.
What'd you end up doin to get it to idle at all. Right now the car wont stay on at all. I just readjusted teh valves and thats all in spec.
Cam was 95+ a 30 dollar core charge. 125 with no exchange.
__________________
- Brandon, Co-Owner www.Rcautoworks.com
Xbox Live - Jusst Tha Tip
COD MW2, Halo3, MVC2 ,SF4
90LSpimpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 07:24 PM   #5
doublethink
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
doublethink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: long island, ny, usa
Posts: 3,262
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (89SiPimpin)

Click the image to open in full size.

good god i hate my b16 for seeing how cheap that is

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
Old Rides: 1985 CRX Si 1989 CRX DX 1990 CRX DX (b16a) 1990 CRX DX 1991 CRX Si 1988 CRX HF 2004 s2000
Current: 2008 FD2
doublethink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 07:34 PM   #6
90LSpimpin
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
90LSpimpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bridgeview, IL, USA
Posts: 2,346
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 90LSpimpin
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (doublethink)

Anyone on the idle problem? Might this cam throw me off a tooth or two and i'm screwed till i can get an adjustable cam gear? Havent tried adjustin the idle speed yet, but valve lash is fine and spark timing is unknown because i cant get it to run properly. It jumps up and down and dies if I rev it high and let it drop.
__________________
- Brandon, Co-Owner www.Rcautoworks.com
Xbox Live - Jusst Tha Tip
COD MW2, Halo3, MVC2 ,SF4
90LSpimpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 08:03 PM   #7
RCautoworks
B*a*n*n*e*d
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 17,216
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to RCautoworks
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (doublethink)

Quote:
Originally Posted by doublethink
Click the image to open in full size.

good god i hate my b16 for seeing how cheap that is

Click the image to open in full size.
It does seem pretty cheap doesn't it.

So you did call back delta and they said stock valve train would be fine ? Glad you got it in and running though.
RCautoworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 08:42 PM   #8
90LSpimpin
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
90LSpimpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bridgeview, IL, USA
Posts: 2,346
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 90LSpimpin
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (90blackcrx)

Yea they said stock valvetrain as long as I maintain stock rev limit.
Yea i got it in. Not runnin though. It more like a misfire than a bad idle. Any suggestions?
__________________
- Brandon, Co-Owner www.Rcautoworks.com
Xbox Live - Jusst Tha Tip
COD MW2, Halo3, MVC2 ,SF4
90LSpimpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 09:01 PM   #9
RCautoworks
B*a*n*n*e*d
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 17,216
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to RCautoworks
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (89SiPimpin)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 89SiPimpin
Yea they said stock valvetrain as long as I maintain stock rev limit.
Yea i got it in. Not runnin though. It more like a misfire than a bad idle. Any suggestions?
Make sure the valve lash is correct, and it just might be that the cam is that big and is causing vacuum issues. Get some videos up Click the image to open in full size.
RCautoworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 09:15 PM   #10
90LSpimpin
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
90LSpimpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bridgeview, IL, USA
Posts: 2,346
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 90LSpimpin
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (90blackcrx)

I did the valve lash cold b4 i started it, and then ran at 2k for about 15 mins for the break in. After that, i did the lash again, which is probably making it off to some extent because its hot. But Neither time would it idle properly and it "pops" and misfires, but not violently. Runs real rough. I'll see what i can do about gettin video up.
__________________
- Brandon, Co-Owner www.Rcautoworks.com
Xbox Live - Jusst Tha Tip
COD MW2, Halo3, MVC2 ,SF4
90LSpimpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 09:49 PM   #11
91civicEX
Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
91civicEX's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Jose, Ca, USA
Posts: 2,362
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 91civicEX
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (89SiPimpin)

try to drive it. if it has no power the cam timing is most likely off. if it wakes up and drives fine u may need to raise ur idle.
__________________
1991 Civic EX- DAILY DRIVER A/C P/S P/W P/L
1991 CRX DX- bought 10-16-05 pics comin soon

"D series- beating you with your old parts" http://images.honda-tech.com/set1/smile/emthup.gif

Formerely known as "91civicLX"
91civicEX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 09:53 PM   #12
90LSpimpin
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
90LSpimpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bridgeview, IL, USA
Posts: 2,346
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 90LSpimpin
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (91civicLX)

I think thats my next effort. I'll probably get to that sometime tonite.
__________________
- Brandon, Co-Owner www.Rcautoworks.com
Xbox Live - Jusst Tha Tip
COD MW2, Halo3, MVC2 ,SF4
90LSpimpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2004, 10:53 PM   #13
essex
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
essex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 2,094
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (89SiPimpin)

You sure you got the camgear and crank pulley lined up properly?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by BenGSX View Post
God you're dumb..
That subaru has a double wishbone up front with a very sophisticated multi-link out back..
essex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 12:14 AM   #14
90LSpimpin
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
90LSpimpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bridgeview, IL, USA
Posts: 2,346
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 90LSpimpin
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (essex)

I'm almost positive that its lined up fine. We marked it b4 we removed the belt, but after we put it back on it got smudged off i guess so when we went to look at it to check over everything we werent sure. But we tried movin it up to 2 teeth both ways but to no avail.

But, I just took her for a drive, she refuses to idle and cuts off if i dont give it gas. Pulls pretty good and smooth throughout the powerban, maybe a little bit sluggish down low, sounds a little more agressive, but i feel there is more power to be gained once i figure out what this problem is and probbly when i get a cam gear.
__________________
- Brandon, Co-Owner www.Rcautoworks.com
Xbox Live - Jusst Tha Tip
COD MW2, Halo3, MVC2 ,SF4
90LSpimpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 05:15 AM   #15
fastcrxsi90
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
fastcrxsi90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: the asshole of america..., upstate new york, USA
Posts: 1,069
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to fastcrxsi90
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (89SiPimpin)

yep...gotta be cam timing/ignition timing and/or valve lash. if you didnt play with your ignition timing, check that and it will tell you if your cam timing is off...and which way its off and how much its off.

also do your lash when its cold...

my 260 idles smooth, the 272 shouldnt be that bad.\

edit...did you reset your ecu and reset the idle as stated in the helms? make sure you do this if you havent.


Modified by fastcrxsi90 at 9:34 AM 12/22/2004
__________________
:: turbo ED9 ::
obd0 non-vtec | street tuned @ 10 psig
fastcrxsi90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 08:28 AM   #16
90LSpimpin
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
90LSpimpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bridgeview, IL, USA
Posts: 2,346
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 90LSpimpin
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (fastcrxsi90)

Yea, i readjusted my valves again with the motor cold again and it helped. Did not reset the ecu or idle speed yet. I'll try that today. I'm unable to check ignition timing because i cant keep the car running or keep it at steady idle so i can do so.
__________________
- Brandon, Co-Owner www.Rcautoworks.com
Xbox Live - Jusst Tha Tip
COD MW2, Halo3, MVC2 ,SF4
90LSpimpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 08:29 AM   #17
90LSpimpin
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
90LSpimpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bridgeview, IL, USA
Posts: 2,346
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 90LSpimpin
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (89SiPimpin)

Also, I'm probably in limp mode right now because i'm throwin a code for my o2 sensor. Car runs shitty with it connected, and fine with it disconnected. Related?
Edit: this is before i installed the cam
__________________
- Brandon, Co-Owner www.Rcautoworks.com
Xbox Live - Jusst Tha Tip
COD MW2, Halo3, MVC2 ,SF4
90LSpimpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 08:54 AM   #18
Twilight
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Twilight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland, Europe, Finland
Posts: 822
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (89SiPimpin)

That's the main problem running very high camshaft profile. The all valves cant close enough at low rpm's. Adjust the idle to higher rpm, about 1500. That should solve that.

Have you seen race cars? Thatswhy they run 2000rpm at idle.
__________________
Current: 2001 DC5 Integra Type-R, 2004 EP3 Civic Type-R
Past: Too many to list for, many JDM's and few Euros.
Twilight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 09:01 AM   #19
90LSpimpin
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
90LSpimpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bridgeview, IL, USA
Posts: 2,346
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 90LSpimpin
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (Twilight)

Yea i think thats what I'm gonna havta do. But then how do I get the ignition timing to be right with the idle so high? Or is it just the same as before but just idles higher?
__________________
- Brandon, Co-Owner www.Rcautoworks.com
Xbox Live - Jusst Tha Tip
COD MW2, Halo3, MVC2 ,SF4
90LSpimpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 11:08 AM   #20
RCautoworks
B*a*n*n*e*d
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 17,216
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to RCautoworks
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (Twilight)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Twilight
That's the main problem running very high camshaft profile. The all valves cant close enough at low rpm's. Adjust the idle to higher rpm, about 1500. That should solve that.

Have you seen race cars? Thatswhy they run 2000rpm at idle.
If you run that high of an idle your gonna have a hard time putting the car in reverse.
RCautoworks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 11:26 AM   #21
Twilight
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Twilight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland, Europe, Finland
Posts: 822
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (90blackcrx)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 90blackcrx
If you run that high of an idle your gonna have a hard time putting the car in reverse.
Its not a problem, you just have to keep clutch pressed down so the gearbox stops rotating.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 89SiPimpin
Yea i think thats what I'm gonna havta do. But then how do I get the ignition timing to be right with the idle so high? Or is it just the same as before but just idles higher?
I think its the same, you have to just adjust the timing lamp to faster pulse.
__________________
Current: 2001 DC5 Integra Type-R, 2004 EP3 Civic Type-R
Past: Too many to list for, many JDM's and few Euros.
Twilight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2004, 12:23 PM   #22
90LSpimpin
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
90LSpimpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bridgeview, IL, USA
Posts: 2,346
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 90LSpimpin
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (Twilight)

I sat around screwin with it. Messed around with the idle screw, advanced timing a little, and screwed around with the throttle cable tension. So now i've got it where it'll either idle semi-smooth at 1100, bounce from 1100-1500, or bounce from 300-1200 and maybe settle around 1100. My conclusion is that I am in desperate need of tuneable components, and some tuning. Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
- Brandon, Co-Owner www.Rcautoworks.com
Xbox Live - Jusst Tha Tip
COD MW2, Halo3, MVC2 ,SF4
90LSpimpin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2004, 03:42 AM   #23
Twilight
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Twilight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Finland, Europe, Finland
Posts: 822
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (89SiPimpin)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 89SiPimpin
I sat around screwin with it. Messed around with the idle screw, advanced timing a little, and screwed around with the throttle cable tension. So now i've got it where it'll either idle semi-smooth at 1100, bounce from 1100-1500, or bounce from 300-1200 and maybe settle around 1100. My conclusion is that I am in desperate need of tuneable components, and some tuning. Click the image to open in full size.
You set the idle from throttle cable? No no no. When the car idles, the air flow to engine goes thru separate idle channel, not from throttle- valve. When the throtte- valve is opened, engine closes the idle channel. And if you pump the gas pedal, you can see car will almost "die". So dont touch the throttle cabel, try to get idle higher via. idle screw.
__________________
Current: 2001 DC5 Integra Type-R, 2004 EP3 Civic Type-R
Past: Too many to list for, many JDM's and few Euros.
Twilight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2004, 04:14 AM   #24
fastcrxsi90
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
fastcrxsi90's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: the asshole of america..., upstate new york, USA
Posts: 1,069
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to fastcrxsi90
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (Twilight)

seriously...if you have to go to extremes to get your ignition timing right then your cam timing is off a tooth or 2.

your tps should be fine if you havent played with it at all...but set everything as shown below. if you want to check your tps just probe the back of it instead of using the test harness like they show. the throttle cable should allow the plate to fully close against the throttle stop, you shouldnt have to adjust this screw unless your tps is off on the idle end only...its a pain in the nuts anyways.

reset your ecu, set your throttle cable, check your tps, set your idle as close as possible, check your ignition timing, change cam timing if needed, recheck ignition timing, reset idle speed. it will have to be higher than the stock 550rpm, my 260 idles at around 800rpm. but its also cause i have a ported head, y8 manifold, 58mm TB, etc. if your going to do this do it right...otherwise youll be playing games with it forever.

idle adjustment

throttle cable adjustment
throttle cable adjustment 2

tps
tps 2

ignition timing

__________________
:: turbo ED9 ::
obd0 non-vtec | street tuned @ 10 psig
fastcrxsi90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2004, 08:19 AM   #25
90LSpimpin
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
90LSpimpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bridgeview, IL, USA
Posts: 2,346
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via AIM to 90LSpimpin
Default Re: Just installed Delta 272 Cam (fastcrxsi90)

Yea, I'm gonna come home and try to reset the things I've done and get it back to where it started from and then go from there. Because the majority of the time its stable, but sometimes it still screws up a little. Thanks a lot for all the information guys. Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
- Brandon, Co-Owner www.Rcautoworks.com
Xbox Live - Jusst Tha Tip
COD MW2, Halo3, MVC2 ,SF4
90LSpimpin is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
240sx, 272, b16, cam, cams, camshaft, d16a6, delta, dohc, honda, idle, lash, misfiring, turbo, valve, zc

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:15 PM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details