Go Back   Honda-Tech > Honda and Acura Model-Specific Technical Forums > Honda Accord (1990 - 2002)
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Search


Welcome to Honda-Tech!
Welcome to Honda-Tech.com.

You are currently viewing our forums as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join the Honda-Tech community today!


Reply
 
 
 
submit to reddit
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-22-2009, 12:04 AM   #1
karrar55
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 91
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default OBD II Location?????

Where can I find the OBD II on my 93 honda accord? Thanks GUYS!!!
karrar55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 03:16 AM   #2
hondamark35
Honda-Tech Member
2000 Honda Civic
 
hondamark35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: W. Cola, SC 29170
Posts: 3,243
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

right near the sassoflange...

no, for real you haven't got an OBD II. also it's not really called and OBD II so much as that is just the type of ECU one might have.

93 accord=OBD I ECU.
96 and later=OBD II ECU.

brace for flaming...
__________________
I still work on cars sometimes
"Leave me alone, I know what I'm doing." Kimi Raikkonen
"cowards never start, the weak never finish, winners never quit."
hondamark35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 12:41 PM   #3
karrar55
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 91
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

ok where can I find the OBD I ECU? THANKS!!
karrar55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 01:05 PM   #4
hondamark35
Honda-Tech Member
2000 Honda Civic
 
hondamark35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: W. Cola, SC 29170
Posts: 3,243
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

it's under the front passenger carpet. pull back from the firewall, you'll see a stamped-steel plate held down with several 10mm nuts. the ECU (and transmission computer if automatic) is bolted to the backside of this plate. once the plate is unbolted from the floor, you can flip it to access the ECU. you may need to unplug a few of the wire connectors to allow it to flip.
__________________
I still work on cars sometimes
"Leave me alone, I know what I'm doing." Kimi Raikkonen
"cowards never start, the weak never finish, winners never quit."
hondamark35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 01:55 PM   #5
karrar55
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 91
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

wow ok!!! all that just to get the plug???? will that remove the engine light from the dash? THANKS!!!!
karrar55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 02:04 PM   #6
TheMuffinMan
He knows where you live!
Garage is empty, add now
 
TheMuffinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,306
iTrader Rating: (1)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

Wtf are you trying to do?

Are you trying to get access to the ECU - which is the computer itself, or are you trying to check the codes?
__________________
2004 NFR S2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by slomofo
I think TheMuffinMan is Chuck Norris. Seriously, you can't find the TheMuffinMan,TheMuffinMan finds you.
TheMuffinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 04:29 PM   #7
hondamark35
Honda-Tech Member
2000 Honda Civic
 
hondamark35's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: W. Cola, SC 29170
Posts: 3,243
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMuffinMan View Post
Wtf are you trying to do?

Are you trying to get access to the ECU - which is the computer itself, or are you trying to check the codes?
dang, i didn't even think of that!! i just assumed ECU removal or replacement... this would not be the way to check and clear codes.
__________________
I still work on cars sometimes
"Leave me alone, I know what I'm doing." Kimi Raikkonen
"cowards never start, the weak never finish, winners never quit."
hondamark35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 06:22 PM   #8
karrar55
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 91
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

ok can someone tell me how to clear codes???? THANKS!!!
karrar55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 06:22 PM   #9
TheMuffinMan
He knows where you live!
Garage is empty, add now
 
TheMuffinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,306
iTrader Rating: (1)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

Just pull the ECU fuse.
__________________
2004 NFR S2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by slomofo
I think TheMuffinMan is Chuck Norris. Seriously, you can't find the TheMuffinMan,TheMuffinMan finds you.
TheMuffinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 06:25 PM   #10
karrar55
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 91
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

isnt that in the fuse box and woudnt u need the ecu to be connected? sounds important!
karrar55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 06:34 PM   #11
TheMuffinMan
He knows where you live!
Garage is empty, add now
 
TheMuffinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,306
iTrader Rating: (1)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

Well yes, it's what gives the ECU power, remove the fuse, remove the power, clears the codes. You insert the fuse back in after a few minutes.
__________________
2004 NFR S2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by slomofo
I think TheMuffinMan is Chuck Norris. Seriously, you can't find the TheMuffinMan,TheMuffinMan finds you.
TheMuffinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 07:15 PM   #12
karrar55
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 91
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

ya i removed the ecu fuse and the power and put them back in after a few min and nothing changed, the light still comes on! any other ticks would be great THANKS!
karrar55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 07:18 PM   #13
Targa250R
be professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Targa250R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 14,842
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

Quote:
Originally Posted by karrar55 View Post
ya i removed the ecu fuse and the power and put them back in after a few min and nothing changed, the light still comes on! any other ticks would be great THANKS!
To turn the Check Engine light off in an OBD-1 car, you have to actually fix the problem that is causing the light to come on, which is indicated by the error codes stored in the computer when the light trips . . .

And to reset the ECU and clear codes, you have to pull the hazard/backup fuse, which will also reset your clock and radio code if equipped with an anti-theft radio.
__________________
1996 Accord | 1998 CB750 | 2001 Integra | 2012 Giant Anthem X29
Targa250R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2009, 07:49 PM   #14
karrar55
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 91
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

well i had to fix the o2 sensor and i think my brother ****ed with it wich cauesd the light to turn on but u telln me to unplug the hazardbackup fuse and it will reset????
karrar55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 02:46 AM   #15
TheMuffinMan
He knows where you live!
Garage is empty, add now
 
TheMuffinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,306
iTrader Rating: (1)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

Is the CEL throwing the same code as before? I completely forgot about what Targa mentioned. If you don't fix the code, it won't clear it'll just be right there.

And what brand O2 did you get, some brands work better than others.
__________________
2004 NFR S2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by slomofo
I think TheMuffinMan is Chuck Norris. Seriously, you can't find the TheMuffinMan,TheMuffinMan finds you.
TheMuffinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 05:24 AM   #16
Targa250R
be professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Targa250R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 14,842
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

Quote:
Originally Posted by karrar55 View Post
well i had to fix the o2 sensor and i think my brother ****ed with it wich cauesd the light to turn on but u telln me to unplug the hazardbackup fuse and it will reset????
The fuse in the engine bay fuse box labeled "BACK UP" - pull it for 10 seconds. It's a 7.5 amp fuse. This clears the codes temporarily and resets the ECU.
__________________
1996 Accord | 1998 CB750 | 2001 Integra | 2012 Giant Anthem X29
Targa250R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 10:11 AM   #17
karrar55
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 91
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

idk what o2 sensor it is! my brother didnt change it! he had to cut off the flex pipe cause it was leaking and i think he cut off the o2 sensor with it!
karrar55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 11:01 AM   #18
dpetro1
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
dpetro1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Tracys Landing, MD
Posts: 4,200
iTrader Rating: (0)
b16civiccx
Send a message via AIM to dpetro1
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

Jesus Christ, this thread makes my head want to explode!

How to check codes
http://www.honda-tech.com/showthread.php?t=1901557

Find out what code you are getting and then fix it. Dont just "turn the light off", its there for a reason
dpetro1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 11:48 AM   #19
karrar55
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 91
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

uh no thank u ill try 2 clear the code! sense its not a major problem! if i new it was a major problem i would fix it!
karrar55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 12:10 PM   #20
Targa250R
be professional
Garage is empty, add now
 
Targa250R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 14,842
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

It's a pretty "major" problem for a closed loop electronic fuel injection system to be completely missing a primary oxygen sensor. It's just going to run in open loop constantly.

If the sensor is MIA, then no amount of pulling fuses will clear the code. It's going to come back immediately as soon as you turn the car on.
__________________
1996 Accord | 1998 CB750 | 2001 Integra | 2012 Giant Anthem X29

Last edited by Targa250R; 07-23-2009 at 12:16 PM.
Targa250R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 01:55 PM   #21
karrar55
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 91
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

idk anymore! how do u go about fixn o2 sensors????
karrar55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 02:15 PM   #22
gsrauto98
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
gsrauto98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: florissant, mo, usa
Posts: 620
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

I think YOU need to take it somewhere and get it fixed, since it sounds like you have no idea what is going on
gsrauto98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 03:27 PM   #23
karrar55
Honda-Tech Member
Garage is empty, add now
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 91
iTrader Rating: (0)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

obviously. thats why i posted this up!
karrar55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 03:54 PM   #24
TheMuffinMan
He knows where you live!
Garage is empty, add now
 
TheMuffinMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 12,306
iTrader Rating: (1)
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

You wire the O2 sensor back in it's place...then no more CEL
__________________
2004 NFR S2000
Quote:
Originally Posted by slomofo
I think TheMuffinMan is Chuck Norris. Seriously, you can't find the TheMuffinMan,TheMuffinMan finds you.
TheMuffinMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 03:59 PM   #25
GhostAccord
Honda-Tech Member
1996 Honda Accord
 
GhostAccord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: East Coast 506, Canada
Posts: 9,844
iTrader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to GhostAccord
Default Re: OBD II Location?????

If you want to troubleshoot the O2 electrical connections. Then I would suggest you get yourself a manual. If you don't have the electrical know how or tools to trouble shoot. Then you could just replace the primary O2 sensor. All you need is a big wrench and a new O2 sensor.

I don't have the manual for the 4th gen Accord all in one PDF yet. Otherwise I would send it too you. Try searching for 91-93 Accord manuals on Google. you may get lucky and find one that you can download free of charge. I know that they are out there but we aren't allowed to post links to them on this forum. good luck
GhostAccord is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
submit to reddit
Reply

Tags
2000, 93, 96, accord, code, connector, ecu, fuse, honda, ii, location, obd, obdii, odb, reset, s2000

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:12 AM.



2008 Copyright, InternetBrands Inc.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Honda and the Honda marquee are registered trademarks of the American Honda Motor Company, Inc. Neither American Honda Motor Company nor its subsidiaries or affiliates shall bear any responsibility for Honda-Tech.com content, comments, or advertising. Honda-Tech.com is not affiliated with American Honda Motor Company in any way. American Honda Motor Company does not sponsor, support, or endorse Honda-Tech.com in any way. Copyright/trademark/sales mark infringements are not intended or implied.
Emails & Contact Details