Notices
Transmission & Drivetrain Gearboxes, Differentials, Clutches

Transmission Problem?

Search this Thread

Old 07-02-2012, 12:35 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Transmission Problem?

Excuse me if this thread is in a incorrect category, or seems like a repeated question, etc. (And apologies as my knowledge on cars is pretty much slim and self taught.) My friend introduced me to the site and this is my first time posting here, figured i'd make a thread that will help my specific problem . Anyway, to the problem at hand. I just recently purchased a 95 coupe honda civic DX(Automatic) and noticed that before shifting gears, the RPM's seem pretty high and the car sort of jerks into the next gears, almost as if i was driving stick and timed the shift wrong. This also happens when i'm coming to a stop (in shifting down it feels the same way a bad shift feels on a manual). As i said earlier, my knowledge on cars is pretty slim as this is my first car and i'm pretty much learning as i work on it. I figure this would obviously be a transmission problem. Here's a few things to know: When i bought the car the transmission fluid was really low and dirty so i purchased about 2 qts of Auto-Tranny fluid since at the time that's pretty much all i could afford plus my dad kept driving it in my head that i need to get it flushed (Though i've recently heard flushing my tranny would lead to an early death?). I also began swapping out the old exhaust as it was severely rusted at the muffler(not sure if this effects the transmission at all but figured it was worth saying). At the moment everything after the Catalytic Converter under the car is gone. I've purchased a new Catback muffler, Walker and Tailpipe but it seems the Catalytic Converter from the old exhaust was wielded onto the muffler (which rusted off leaving just the CAT and the pipe to the catback muffler) so i'm currently waiting on the newly purchased one to arrive. The CEL isn't flashing or any