Notices
Transmission & Drivetrain Gearboxes, Differentials, Clutches

Rebuilding a non stock tranny

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2009, 08:59 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Rebuilding a non stock tranny

hi guys, so i'm left with a bad taste in my mouth after i was racing last weekend and went into 5th gear and heard a bang... i had to drive the car home in 4th gear for about an hour and a half because i was out of town, the car shifts into 1,2,3,4 just fine, and reverse, but when you put it in 5th, it slams it out very quickly, i have no fluid leak, so i assume i damaged the gear or the 5th gear synchro..
There is a little background info, maybe useful, maybe not, anyways, the tranny needed a synchro rebuild, as when i gotten it you had to baby it into the gears.. I have no background info on the tranny, but here is what i do know, its hydraulic - who cares.. and 1-4 are short gears ( i assume b16) the reason i say this is i have had gsr and ls tranny's and the gears in this one are shorter than my gsr, i don't know how a type r tranny is geared, but because i do not see LSD stamped on the case, i assume its not a type r, Though it DOES have LSD, you can see straight through the axle input hole into the diff without seeing the spider gear shaft. Though 5th gear resembles exactly 5th gear in my ls tranny.. 88 mph @4k rpms