Notices
Tech / Misc Tech topics that don't seem to go elsewhere.

Relocating Battery

Old 01-22-2014, 10:10 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 Relocating Battery

So I've decided to relocate my battery and was doing research on what are some decent batteries and relocation kits. I was looking at the buddy club batteries but haven't heard much about them. What are some good small scale racing batteries and relocation kits that aren't ridiculously priced? Also I've never done this before so I'm assuming the trunk would be the best place. It's going to be done to my 98 cx hatch.
Old 01-22-2014, 02:26 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Re: Relocating Battery

any particular reason you want to use a small "race" battery?

I tried using an
Odyssey PC680 Odyssey PC680
in my integra, as well as my Civic, they didnt fare too well int he winter months. I later changed to a http://www.kinetikpower.com/2009/product.asp?C=1&P=KHC600, it was fine for awhile, but seemed to wear out quickly. It is a battery designed for car audio, so that may be why.

Anyway, I built a custom battery bracket, and attached it to the outside frame rail on the passenger side, its tied into the core support and the bracket itself is removable (to service the battery, etc. I designed it to use a stock size 51R and since doing this, I havent had a single issue with the battery or charging system.

If the car is intended to be driven in all weather, cold, hot, rain, snow, etc I personally wouldnt use a small battery.
Old 01-22-2014, 05:53 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Well I did some research and it all lead to the same conclusion. Use a stock battery. I was considering a smaller battery so it would be easier to hide when I relocate it. Thanks for the input.
Old 01-22-2014, 06:20 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts