Notices
Tech / Misc Tech topics that don't seem to go elsewhere.

2002 Civic A/C behaving strange

Old 08-24-2013, 06:32 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 Civic A/C behaving strange

HI everyone, new member here with a tech question. What I've got is an A/c issue on my 02 civic.

Here's what happened and what I did: Discharge line rubbed through on one of the cooling fans. when the a/c was running. Of course the pressure dropped and the system shut down. It was late in the a/c season, so I just waited til this summer to fix it. Replaced the discharge line and the receiver/dryer and the condenser (damaged from animal hit). I vacuumed out the system for 10 mins, leak checked, and then charged with 18 oz. of refrigerant. BUT.. I still have no A/C. I have a lot of experience in electrical and AC..but all in heavy truck applications.

Here's what it does:

I have battery voltage going to the compressor. I read somewhere that if you ground out the blue/wht wire the clutch will engage. And..it does.. but it barely engages and slips. I also checked the pressure switch on the drier, and i have continuity though that. But, I'm not real familiar with automotive applications... where should be the next place I start to check?

Thanks in advance everyone.
Old 08-24-2013, 08:19 AM
fcm
Old Fart

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Re: 2002 Civic A/C behaving strange

Is your Civic a hatch?

You say you have power to the compressor, is that before or after the thermal protector on the compressor?

By the sounds of it either the voltage is low going to the compressor clutch coil, [after the thermal protector] preventing proper clutch engagement or he clutch coil is weak or the clutch itself is worn out.

To trip the clutch, jump the clutch relay.

Also FYI a 10 min vacuum on a system that has been open, [hole in line] is not near long enough, 45min is min., 1hr would be better.