Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

97 Civic EK Hatch - B18C Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2016, 03:28 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97 Civic EK Hatch - B18C Build Thread

Hey guys, greetings from Australia.

Going to keep the introduction short, so basically been in the Honda scene for a about half a year now and this is the first car I've ever modified and been in the "car scene" with.

I've got a 1997 Civic EK Hatch, bought it with an original d16y4 and it all started with the contemplation of an engine swap for a b series, fast forward a couple months later I settled for a Japanese b18c. After some complications and back and forwards, finally got her going on the road and the journey has begun.

Basic specs/mods (sorry I don't know very much but I'm still learning).
  • Stock, unopened (yet) B18c
  • S80 gearbox w/ LSD
  • Cold Air Intake
  • PLM extractors
  • 2.5" custom exhaust
  • Hondata s300 v3
  • Currently making 113KW at the wheels on pump gas
Might be missing some things but you get the gist, basically stock with the basic bolt ons.

Where I'm going with the car? Not entirely sure, for now I definitely know I'm going to do with Honda wanted and that's to keep it the NA and take it to the track (eventually). Rough power figures I'm looking toward getting is a humble 200hp/150KW at the wheels, might consider a turbo build in the future but I might get to that later down the track.

First tune, this was the last run so as to leave the most condensed version of events I've left just this video, but this is what I'm working with.

P.S don't mind flappy grill :p

Picture time!

Finished product, extractors aren't as pretty as they used to be