Notices
Road Racing / Autocross & Time Attack Road Racing / AUTOX, HPDE, Time Attack

Sharing my Trackday HPDE experience with TSX brake swap and Stoptech SP pads

Old 03-02-2014, 01:05 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon7 Sharing my Trackday HPDE experience with TSX brake swap and Stoptech SP pads

I spent a good while researching brake pads for my '02 RSX-S before my first car track day at Thunderhill in northern California a few days ago, so i thought i'd share the experience i had and add to the wealth of info out there. All of this applies to an 8th Civic Si as well.

I've been autoxing my car for 4 years with good results. It's lightly modded to get the most out of it within a reasonable budget since this is my DD, and i spend all my money/get my speed fix doing motorcycle track days instead. It had the original brakes with 100k miles and i've been running Axxis Metal Master pads. At the end of the '13 autox season the rear rotors were fine and pads were at more than 90%, the front rotors were shot and pads were down to less than 15%. I needed to install new rotors and pads on the front to be ready for the '14 season that starts in Feb. Well a few weeks ago i was basically given a free open format track day at Thunderhill, i've never had the desire to track my car but there's no reason why i would pass on this opportunity. I've done hundreds of laps at Thill on motorcycles, so i know the course well, and i'm a pretty quick autoxer so i knew i wasn't going to be driving miss daisy even though it would be my first HPDE. The weakest link on my RSX-S for an all day track event were definitely the brakes.