Notices
Paint and Body Auto Body Repair, Painting and Prep

Runs in clear coat? How to remove?

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2009, 11:14 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Runs in clear coat? How to remove?

Hi, I just painted my car. Prep was good, primer was good, base went down no problems, and I was on the 3rd coat of clear and I got some nasty runs, huge eye sore. Mainly on a front fender, and the bumper.

I painted the car white, and im a noob. So it was hard to 'see' the clear going on. Also, It sprayed out much heavier than the base coat did for some reason. It was also cold out, well not 'cold'.. cool, probably 60deg.

I do have time and patience to fix this, I did want to 'cut and polish' the car, or wetsand and buff. So im guessing, I just hit the area's with a block and wetsand untill I get the run out? Than wetsand gradually up to 2500 grit? Just to take the 'shine' off in the area's with no runs i imagine.

I have also heard of the razor blade method to 'scrape' the clear down, I might try this on the fender, as there is about.. 8 runs, probably 6" each. I didn't see them as I sprayed, only on the 4th coat.

So any comments or suggestions? The car looks great and the finish is awesome otherwise, there is slight 'orange peel' and some junk in the clear (garage paint job), so I wanted to do this wetsand and buff anyways.

How long do I have to wait before I can start the wetsand and buffing process? Maybe 48hrs or longer?

Thanks, Looking for comments from experienced people only.

Also, I just want everyone to know that this is just a winter car, NOT a show car, so its a learning experience and dosen't have to turn out perfect, However, I do what it to look good when its done.

Last edited by HamiltonRex; 10-03-2009 at 11:25 PM.
Old 10-04-2009, 09:32 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Runs in clear coat? How to remove?