Notices
Paint and Body Auto Body Repair, Painting and Prep

prepping for maaco paint job

Old 04-30-2009, 01:59 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default prepping for maaco paint job

I am a complete newb when it comes to bodywork and paint. When I got my car, it already had a maaco job on it. It actually looks pretty decent to me but the front bumpers paint is cracked due to a careless tow truck driver. The cars original color was granada black, but the car was repainted white.

I would like the car to be repainted some type of black, probably just a plain black with no pearls because it is just a single stage. I have heard maaco paint jobs are alright if you prep the car yourself, which I am guessing is doing all the bodywork yourself, and taping it off, removing stuff etc.

The body of the car is actually in decent condition, with the exception of the fenders. If you look close at the fenders, you can see they have lines in them. Is that from bad body work? Is it possible to remove the lines or should I just buy new fenders?

I will probably have a friend help me bondoa few dents (maybe 3). Do I have to sand the car down to the original primer all over? If so, what grit should I use? Do I have to do anything after that, like reprime, or can I bring it straight to maaco after sanding?

Thank you for answering my questions!
Old 04-30-2009, 04:46 PM
Year 3030

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Re: prepping for maaco paint job

You do not need to sand all the way down to primer. you might want to try sanding off as much of the maaco paint as possible because maaco is notorious for not doing prep work and your new paint might flake. When taking it to maaco your going to want to sand the whole car down with 500 grit because maaco paint lays thin and scratches show so 500 should be good. for the dents you need to sand down to metal so the bondo will adhere. you pretty much only need to prime the areas where your doing body work.
Old 04-30-2009, 05:24 PM