Old 02-18-2010, 10:41 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Paint Quantity eg hatch + Clear

Question, I'll be getting this kit...

Basecoat is 3:1 ratio
2 quarts reducer
1 quart clear activator/hardener

How much paint are you guys using to paint EG and EK hatches? Since they are pretty close in size i'de assume you would use close to the same amount of paint.

I would need to get primer i know, but this sounds like a good start since its my first time using "real" auto paint with a gun.

So this is what i'de like to go for...

-1 coat primer
-2 coats base
-2 to 3 coats of clear.

Is this enough paint? with a 3:1 ratio for base, that seems to go a LONG way for 1 gallon, or am i assuming wrong?
Old 02-18-2010, 10:13 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Re: Paint Quantity eg hatch + Clear

That's plenty of paint to get the car done. However, I believe you will need more primer I would just get a gallon if you can. If you're going to be doing any serious body work, you're going to want to primer it up with a couple layers to get a good surface going then seal it up right before you paint.
Old 02-19-2010, 06:31 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Originally Posted by Eyger
That's plenty of paint to get the car done. However, I believe you will need more primer I would just get a gallon if you can. If you're going to be doing any serious body work, you're going to want to primer it up with a couple layers to get a good surface going then seal it up right before you paint.
Yea, the kit doesnt come with primer for some reason. My car is already primed white, but with rattle can primer done by the previous owner.

What about clear tho? Im assuming there is 1 gallon of clear in the kit but it doesnt specify.