Notices
Honda Prelude All Model Preludes

cant drive my new 5 speed

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2006, 08:07 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default cant drive my new 5 speed

Well after 4 years of wanting a honda I finally got one. I just bought a 97 prelude sh and I suck at driving it. I've been driving for about 4 years now, but I've only ever had automatics. My parents haven't had a 5 speed since I've been alive so they're no help, my friends are all shady and never let me drive theirs so I never got a chance to learn. So my dad drives the car back from where we bought it, about 100 miles away and gives me a shot at it. By this time it's dark out and he has to work in the am so I didn't get a lot of practice. I didn't stall it the first time I tried but I did many times after. I know the general idea of a standard but I just need practice I guess. But to the real question...will learning to drive a manual hurt my car very much? I understand that I am doing some damage, but how much am I actually doing and will this affect my car very much? Like I said I really have no experience with a 5 speed and any help or helpful links would be appreciated.
Old 08-09-2006, 08:22 PM
hu

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Just keep trying to practice. After you have it down, change the tranny fluid.
Old 08-09-2006, 08:22 PM

Default Re: cant drive my new 5 speed (copeman)

Don't be down on yourself man, we've all been through this at one point. If you WANT to know how to drive stick, you can learn pretty easily. Some tips:

- Learn the car's "engagement zone"(?). It's when you slowly let go of the clutch and when your car is close to stalling.
- Do everything slowly. You'll get better and faster with more practice.
- If you really doubt your skills, give a little gas before you let go of the clutch at starts. Kinda foolproof.
Old 08-09-2006, 08:23 PM
Honda-Tech Member