Notices
Honda Prelude All Model Preludes

Newbie--problem

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2011, 02:49 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Icon2 Newbie--problem

I have searched the posts and cant find an answer for this.

I bought a 93 Prelude real cheap(< than 200) but the PO threw a rod, so I bought a new engine from JDM Engine Depot. Old engine was a H23A1 and the new Engine is a H23A3. I dropped it in, swapped the Dist., fuel rail, and intake manifold. I have hooked everything up(I think) and no start. It cranks but the fuel pump doesn't turn on, and no spark(i think). I by-passed the fuel pump(hooked it to power to make sure it works--it does), still nothing. Another thing I noticed is the fuel gauge and temp gauge are real dim. seems to me they should work correctly. I am new to import engines(well computer controlled engine actually) as I have rebuilt a few Ford 302's and such. So where do I start? would a missing knock sensor cause this as I wasn't going to spend $100 bucks on a new one if I can help it.

Thanks for your help.
Dan in Jupiter--AKA Sprout
Old 08-20-2011, 06:39 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Newbie--problem

knock sensor can be bought for about 20 buck on ebay..
u should also dl the helms manual.. it would help trouble shoot..
Old 08-20-2011, 08:49 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Check main relay, not sure where it is on yours but most are under the dash
Old 08-21-2011, 10:58 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Ok I will check the relay.
Old 08-25-2011, 02:22 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Checked the relay-- is good, am thinking its the ECU, as the relay doesnt get a ground from the ECU to turn on the relay coil for the fuel pump. when I ground that wire on the relay the pump turns on. more troubleshooting ahead.
Old 08-25-2011, 03:16 PM
Honda-Tech Member