Notices
Honda Prelude All Model Preludes

Coilover Install

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2004, 07:57 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coilover Install

I'm a day or so away from ordering some Tein basics for my S and was wondering if a spring compressor is required for the install; and also, when looking through my honda manual, it says that a ball joint remover is needed for the rear (upper A-arm i believe?). Is this also necessary to undo the joint? From the looks of it just from jacking the car up it seems that the spring/strut should slide out, but I can't tell just from looking. If it is necessary to remove the ball joint, does anything need to be replaced before reinstalling and is reinstalling very difficult? One more thing - any tricks to pulling the trunk carpet away so I can get to the strut mounts or does it just take some working? I've never done a suspension before and realize these questions might be kinda juvenile but I appreciate any info before I dig in on this. Also if there's anything surprising about the install that isnt shown in the manual, I'd appreciate a heads up - thanks for any info.
Old 10-18-2004, 09:27 AM
* B A N N E D *

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Re: Coilover Install (Mantis)

No, you don't need a spring compressor to install coilovers. Unless you plan on taking your old springs/shocks apart.

Yes, you'll need to undo the ball joint, it'll get in your way if you don't.

You'll probably need to replace the bushing if they're in bad shape.

If you know what you're doing and have the right tools, it shouldn't be difficult. I would ask a friend to help out.

The trunk carpet can be pulled/peeled back, but be-careful not to bend them out of shape or rip them. There should be little clips that holds them down, just pop them out with a flat-head. Also, be cautious with them, they break easily.

IMO, Tein Basic sucks.
Old 10-18-2004, 01:11 PM

Default Re: Coilover Install (Sticky Tires)