Notices
Honda Motorcycles Honda Powersports: riding, maintenance, gear, and safety.

Help!: bike won't start

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2006, 08:44 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Help!: bike won't start

Hey guys,

I bought a '03 600 RR in May. It had 4900 miles on it and now its at 5400. When I bought it, it had the wrong battery in it, yes..the wrong battery. It died on me the first day and I took the battery in to have it charged and ended up buying a brand new (correct) battery that day.

This friday I went on a 30-40 minute ride, when I was about a mile from my apt. I ran into a buddy and let him 'walk the clutch' in a parking lot. He stalled the bike like twice and the 2nd time I was not able to start the bike. When I turned the key the lights went on, gauges went on, but when I flipped the 'kill switch' the fans and whatever else would not turn on like usual (I am a bike newb.) So..when I pressed the on button the bike would not turn over. Now, it wasn't making the rapid clicking noise. It would try to turn over once and the bike would seemingly reset itself (the gauges would reset and the lights would turn off and on again). I ended up walking the damn bike back a mile (partially uphill) to my apt. garage.

I am thinking maybe the alternator is bad or the connection is bad and I just ran the battery completely dead. I've ridden the bike about 500 miles since I purchased it and have only recently begun to ride more aggressively since this is my first bike and I am only now comfortable with my skills to go on real pleasure rides.