Notices

Timing different than factory setting?

Search this Thread

Old 01-29-2010, 10:17 PM
New User

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Timing different than factory setting?

Hi everyone I am pretty new to hondas, I just picked this one up about a month ago, its a '90 DX 1.5L 16valve. I just got done replacing a head gasket on it and seeing as I forgot to mark the belt line up on the cam, I decided to just go ahead and reset it at #1TDC setting on cam, crankshaft, and piston position. Anyways I know how to do this fairly well as I have done it a bit on my old 4runner. Not too hard to figure out. Anyways I know I got it set up PERFECT but it just will not start. It will crank, it almost starts on the first attempt but not go. The timing sounds slow like its not firing fast enough to get it goin.

Anyways what I wanted to ask you guys is this. Is it possible that the position of the cam is incorrect? I noticed 2 marks in white paint from whoever replaced the cam gear previously, there is a mark on the vertical line to the left of the word "up" on the gear, and there is a vertical line marking on the valve cover which seems to run in line with the timing cover marks for setting the crankshaft pulley at TDC.

Would it seem reasonable to assume that I need to set the cam with the word "up" facing toward the driver seat and the crankshaft at TDC mark? Also with this crankshaft pulley, the TDC mark is the single notch before the 3 notches that are grouped together correct?

Would it make more sense to set the Cam with "up" facing up, then set the crank pulley at the first notch in the series of 3 notches? Please inform me as to the setting of this as I like my new little car a lot and would love to drive it and fix it up good. Thank you guys for all your help
Old 01-30-2010, 10:04 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Timing different than factory setting?