Notices

Engine leak - Honda Civic Si 1990

Search this Thread

Old 05-17-2015, 03:26 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine leak - Honda Civic Si 1990

I am considering buying this Honda Civic 1990. I test drove it today. It actually drives very well but I did notice some issues. First, it looks like there is an engine leak. The leak can be seen on the right side of the engine (I circled it in the picture - Sorry it doesn't show very well here). The leak is there but not enough to accumulate to drip onto the driveway. Should I be concerned about this leak? I don't really hear anything strange when the engine is running but I'm very new to this. I would like to do a motor swap eventually but I need to keep this thing running for at least a year. Right now, it's got about 123k miles on it.

The second issue is there is quite a bit of rust on the rocker panel (see photos), both on the side and underneath. The owner told me that rocker panels are easy to replace and they are not actually part of the underside of the car body. Is this true? There is some rust on the driver's side door hinge as well. The car definitely needs a paint job but I'm not sure how much of a hassle it is to deal with the rust.

All these are part of my consideration whether to buy this car or not. The guy is asking $2k.

Engine leak

Engine leak

Door hinge

rocker panel looking from the side

rocker panel looking from underneath

Any thoughts, recommendations, and advice are greatly appreciated.
Old 05-17-2015, 04:49 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Default Re: Engine leak - Honda Civic Si 1990

Appears to be a distributor O ring leak. I have gone atleast 2 years without replacing it and mine has been leaking just like that, not dripping on the driveway but all over the transmission. And if you put a rag under the distributor and you get oil on it, then it's definitely bad.