Notices

A couple noob questions about my EF

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2008, 02:32 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default A couple noob questions about my EF

Hello, i've been browsing the forums for a couple years but never posted due to the fact I didn't have a Honda. Well, I finally got a solid 1991 Civic DX the other day, and couldn't be happier with it. If it wasn't for the ice storm that turned into a snow storm over the past few hours, i'd go get some pics to show you guys. Seeing I just went from being a DSM owner, some of my questions may be pretty retarded and noobish, but please try to cope because I still have to get all the diamond star demons out of my system. Before anyone says anything, I have searched and tryed to understand everything the best I can, but can't find exact answers.

First question-What motor does my '91 DX have? I know this is a pretty basic question, but I haven't been able to find an exact answer for the life of me. I've come to the conclusion that it's either the D15b2 or D15b7, but I need some input to be sure exactly which one it is.

Second question-Can I turbo a D15 motor without first performing the DPFI-->MPFI conversion and not have any problems getting the motor to run right? I realize there's various D16 motors that are easy to swap in and make much more power with forced induction, and I realize that MPFI is the way to go for power, but its more of a curiosity thing. To top it off i'm still new to Honda motors and the D15 is suppose to be a good motor to learn on. I seen someone on Homemadeturbo.com did a turbo set-up on a D15 with DPFI, but it didn't have a lot of detail.

Third question-Does my car have the chipable ECU? I heard that some Honda EF ECU's can be chipped and some can't. This might not even be remotley true, please correct me if im wrong.