Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

95 Honda Civic Main Relay/ECU Fuel Pump issue

Search this Thread

Old 03-20-2022, 11:33 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 95 Honda Civic Main Relay/ECU Fuel Pump issue

Hi all, noob here.
Long story short, my buddy gave me a 1995 Honda Civic EX manual transmission because his mechanic could not figure out his no start issue. Cranks but does not fire. Upon looking at it the first time, wouldn't even crank. Checked the starter, banged on it and it turned very slowly. My guess is they ruined the starter by cranking so much, probably continuously too. Anyhow, get a rebuilt starter, put it in and makes a horrible grinding noise. Find out the set screw from the distributor rotor came loose and screw was bouncing around hitting the contact points on the cap. Put a new cap and rotor, check spark, good to go.
Also, the PGM FI main relay is hanging on the drivers side and ECU is on the floor of the passenger floor. CEL stays on in the ignition on position.
I notice the fuel pump is not priming when turning the key on. I run power directly to the fuel pump, car finally fires after multiple cranks, take it for a spin, runs great and no CEL.
I check the main relay by the instructions in the manual by bench testing the relay with 12v and ground. Relay doesnt click, no continuity, etc etc. Get a new relay and bench test it the same way and everything works as it is suppose to. Relay clicks and continuity between the prongs that are suppose to have continuity. I install the relay and have good power (Yel/WHT) and ground (BLK and BLK/YEL) going into the relay. I turn the key on and have power (BLU/WHT)as well. I measure about 12.2 volts.