Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

Squealing coming from belts?

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2008, 08:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Squealing coming from belts?

There''s been a squeal coming from my belts (at least i think its from my belts) thats a "squeal..squeal..squeal" cycle sound, not a long "squeeeeeeeeeaaaal." Right when I start my car it starts to squeal, but I found that when I step on the gas it tends to go away (or maybe I can''t hear it over the engine). But it''s constantly there whenever I idle or just coast. Not too sure which belt it is or if it''s the alternator.

The car is a 2000 Civic with 188k. The timing belt was changed at 103k so I don''t know if it''s time again. (I hope not)

Whats the problem and whats the fix?
Old 07-21-2008, 09:13 PM

Default Re: Squealing coming from belts? (charmin)

i am no ASE mechanic & am brand new to honda's but it sounds like a bellt is slightly loose which is a simple tighten belt to fix or
you could have a stretched belt that needs to be replaced
Old 07-21-2008, 09:29 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Default Re: Squealing coming from belts? (cmgibby)

Yeah its a simple fix. Should take you no more than 10 minutes tops. Sounds like your alternator belt is loose, I hate the sound of loose belts, its embarrassing and makes your car look like a pos to other people haha.
Old 07-24-2008, 09:27 PM

Default Re: Squealing coming from belts? (redman223)

ya my car is doing the same thing, when i start it squeals really bad for about 30 secs when you rev the car it stops and goes away. i replaced all the belts, i went back and tightened the ac and ps belts since there easy to get to. Havent touched the alt. belt but i dont know how to keep the tension on it since there s no tensioner atleast from what i can see
Old 07-25-2008, 06:48 PM

belts can be dry need to spray wd40???
Old 07-25-2008, 06:54 PM

mine only squeals in neutral.
Old 07-25-2008, 07:06 PM
Honda-Tech Member