Browse all: Exterior Guides
Print Wikipost

Solutions for "Civic Rear Door Won't Open"

Search this Thread

Old 12-26-2009, 06:28 AM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Solutions for "Civic Rear Door Won't Open"

I wanted to post this in hopes I can help someone who has a similar problem.
The left rear door of my 1998 Honda Civic would not open from the outside or inside. The power door lock functioned properly. The outside handle felt disengaged as did the inside.

My 1st suspicion was the child safety lock inside the door jamb was engaged not allowing the inside door handle to function. I studied the location of the safety lock on the other rear door and then took a length of 12 gauge single conductor wire and made a hook on the end. I fished the wire down
from the rear top of the door so it rode along the body and the jamb. With a little bit of patients and same finagling I managed to hook the safety lock and pulled it up. The inside door handle now functioned and I got the door open.

Next I removed the inside door panel, 3 screws, 1 at the the door handle and 2 buried in the arm rest. The arm rest cover can be removed by pressing in on a small clip in the front and then prying off the cover. Once the 3 screws are removed the door panel clips can be carefully pulled away from the door. Underneath the panel is a plastic barrier that is held by clips and caulk, this can be pealed back.

Looking inside I could see the linkage from the outside door handle to the door latch had fallen out of its connection at the door handle. The end of the linkage had a plastic cap the press fit into a hole on the outside door latch. The plastic cap had cracked and this allowed it to slip out of the hole.