Notices
Honda Civic / Del Sol (1992 - 2000) EG/EH/EJ/EK/EM1 Discussion

My new 99 Civic Dx Coupe Build and advice thread

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2017, 08:40 PM
Honda-Tech Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default My new 99 Civic Dx Coupe Build and advice thread

So starting off I'm new to the Civic world and this is my first Honda. Aswell I've not had a ton of experience doing anything on cars, and am planning to learn as I go to keep this civic running as long as I can

The Car: after weeks of searching for the perfect car, I stumbled upon a post of an almost 100% stock 99 Dx Coupe that had only one previous owner, and she had just retired so no longer needed a commute vehicle for work. It has 185k miles, and I got it for $1780. I'm not sure my goals with the car, it's going to be my daily, but I want it to look cool and learn about cars and engine work.

Before:

The interior was extremely clean and the engine bay was pretty gunked up, so I decided to have a go at cleaning it up and making it look nicer.

After cleaning, painting the valve cover.
First time every actually taking off a valve cover, was actually really fun!

Took forever to sand this thing down

To do list:

Timing belt and water pump replacement
Resurface/replace Rotors(I have a pulsing feeling when breaking above 30mph, but not in the steering wheel. Not really sure if this is the rotors or not.)
repaint steelies since they're very rusted looking.

any other suggestions are welcome, I want to make this car look nice, don't care as much about performance since it's my daily, but it's definitely fun to drive.

also any advice on what all maintaining work I should do and how often, obviously oil and coolant flush but other stuff, since i didn't do a good job at it on my last vehicle, I may keep a log or some sort of notebook, detailing when and at how many miles I did certain repairs and I things.
Old 02-28-2017, 01:16 AM
Honda-Tech Member